We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap for a reason.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace to your Saves list
Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   239 Wickham Terrace, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Sydney
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cheap for a reason.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed here one night and the rate was cheap for a reason. Rooms were old and worn and did not feel very clean. There is a pub downstairs and vending machines. Room service steak was not very good so should go out for dinner. I would probably stay again because of the price but would not take the wife and family.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
towermill, General Manager at Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
In essence 'Cheap for a Reason' isnt an unfair summation but I realise its not meant entirely approvingly. We are an older style property, with plans afoot for a soft refurb of interiors, but cleanliness, affordability and customer service are a definite focus for us in order to balance any negatvie perceptions adn delvier a comfortable, friendly experience to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    71
    65
    18
    10
See reviews for
25
54
32
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Staff were relatively friendly, room decent size but felt unclean. Wore shoes into bathroom as floor looked a bit gross. Noise from stairs and hallway is audible in rooms and the doors bang very loudly but cant avoid this as otherwise they don't close. On the plus side the bed was comfortable, it was extremely close to the CBD and was cheap. You get what you paid for. Cheap no frills. Probably wouldn't stay again unless desperate and wanted cheap accommodation

Room Tip: Try and ask for one as far away from the stairs as possible - very loud as you hear people going up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Have stayed here many times and always seem to get a good priced deal. Close to the Brisbane Private Hospital. Rooms are clean and staff are very helpful. Maybe a bit tired now but very pleasant. Restaurant downstairs is reasonably priced and varied menu. Food cooked to order and wholesome. There is also a bar and both are open to the public.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
towermill, General Manager at Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hi Lellydw
The best guest is a return guest and I am very pleased that Tower Mill has continued to meet your needs for some time now. I very much appreciate you taking the time to share your stay experience.
Regards Earl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I stayed here one night, tge price I paid for the room was ok. The room on the other hand could be better, mainly the bathroom, the shower and toilet look out dated and warn. The hot and cold taps are on the outside of the shower, the excuse from the girl at the desk was that this is an old building. It maybe old but thats just a bit odd. The shower door didn't close properly. The bedroom itself could do with a bit of an up date, the furniture on the balconly was a bit old and could do with some repair.

The black woman at the counter was nasty, rude. I told her that she might want to put a sign out to say entrance through pub as the main entrance was blocked due to repair. She was like well your the only person who has a problem with it, her voice was cold to be.

Great view from my room.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
towermill, General Manager at Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
HI milanovictraveller
'Simple Hotel but could be better' is in no way an unreasonable assesment. We do both try to keep things simple and always strive to improve, so i entirely take your point. The shower taps are a constant feature in our feedbacks and do feature clearly in our photos and ads, it is what it is to a certain extent and definitely a conversation starter. I do have to say that I'm not entirely comfortable with your identification of individual staff members based on their racial background. Nor is it as helpful as you perhaps supposed, as we have a mix of staff that reflects the reailty of a modern cosmopolitan city like brisbane. For this reason name badges are always helpful in identifying people as people.
Earl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

For anyone visiting a friend or relation in the Brisbane Private Hospital on Wickham Terrace, the Tower Mill Hotel is your second best friend – it’s right next door.

So named for its proximity to the old landmark, the historic Tower Mill, the hotel provides simple accommodation and a car park which is perfect for visiting patients in the adjacent hospital either overnight or longer. They do provide a special “medical rate” which is a thoughtful touch.

That’s not it’s only benefit though; the hotel is close enough for a walk to Brisbane city if you’re fit enough – uphill on return – or leave the car and use public transport, so it is also suitable for a short stay in Brisbane. Lovely gardens opposite provide an opportunity for a relaxing stroll away from traffic. The hotel has a bar and restaurant on the premises at the ground floor, which provides huge meals at fair prices.

On the down side, parking is limited and needs to be booked ahead at extra cost, and is very tight for even small cars. If you have a 60’s or 70’s Buick, don’t even think about it.

Being a circular building with a central lift and rooms fanned outwards, the rooms are a strange shape, however it’s all there including a terrace. The bathroom was long overdue for renovation from the plumbing to the tiles, and this combined with the parking in our opinion limited the hotel to barely 3 stars.

Convenience however was it’s saving grace for the reasons mentioned above.

Room Tip: Don't forget to book for the car when you book for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
towermill, General Manager at Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hi Biggles210
Thanks for your thougths on your stay with us, i aprpeciated the depth and tone of your comments, very travelogue-ish. Convenience not luxury us a very ample summation of our intent in positioning the property in a very competitive market, and as I always say there is no point in pretending to be what we aren't. Car parking is ever an issue in CBD locations and we do offer limited parking at a relatively nominal fee ($10 per day) for good reason! Your advice to book ahead in that regard is very sound!
Regards Earl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Booked this hotel last minute but what a winner. It's just a five minute walk from Central or Roma St train stations from/to airport by train, though uphill so best not bring too much luggage.

Comfy room facing the gardens opposite and out to the river AND with a usable balcony with chairs! how lovely to get fresh air and sit on a balcony. Room was spacious with comfortable bed, television and desk. Downside was that there was only one easy chair if you wanted to watch tv - why would you when there's so much to do in Brisbane.

Reception is a bit of a let down with the bar/TAB and racing screens opposite, but the food was fresh, filling and reasonably inexpensive. Reception staff were very helpful and courteous and great to leave luggage when room not ready to occupy in order to get out exploring.

Would definitely make a return and recommend for location and price.

Room Tip: While the view was lovely, it could be noisy in early mornings with the balcony door open. But I und...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
towermill, General Manager at Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hi Pat-Allie
Thank you for taking the time to offer your balanced and constructive thoughts on your stay with us. Overall I'm pleased you enjoyed the experience and largely took positives from it and I appreciate that you have given us some things to focus and work on for future improvement. We would never claim to be perfect and have taken your comments on board. Thanks again.
Earl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gympie
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This is an old motel in a great, convenient location. Staff were very friendly and helpful - especially when we requested a room change as we had been given a room with two single beds. Had a great quiet night's sleep in a very comfy bed.

What let the experience down was the little things - no light bulb in one of the bedside lamps, an empty shot glass by the bed, clogged filters in the aircon, 'fluff' on the bathroom floor and a hairdryer that only worked on full speed...the lady on reception was very pleased we let her know about the hairdryer!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Roma St Parklands side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace

Address: 239 Wickham Terrace, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metro Hotel Tower Mill offers guests a selection of 3 ½ star guestrooms, most with their own private walkout balconies to enjoy the panoramic views of Brisbane city and surrounding suburbs.This Brisbane icon is a popular choice for people travelling to this beautiful city looking for comfortable, well appointed and affordable accommodation. Located on the edge of the city centre, the hotels facilities and services make it ideal for business travelers and those attending many of the conferences and trade shows that Brisbane is known for. Metro Hotel Tower Mill provides the perfect location for families and holiday makers along with those looking for value for money accommodation.Take and easy ten minute stroll through the parklands to Brisbane Town Hall, Queen Street Mall, Southbank parklands or the history Treasury Casino. Also located in the heart of Brisbane's medical precinct, adjacent to Brisbane Private Hospital (Holy Spirit) and numerous medical centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.