We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ibis Brisbane

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added ibis Brisbane to your Saves list
ibis Brisbane
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27-35 Turbot Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Derbyshire, England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

I found this hotel to be totally unpretentious, the staff were efficient, the breakfast buffet plentyful, great location in the centre of town, clean rooms, very practical, but no frills.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    581
    245
    56
    26
See reviews for
177
400
178
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
central scotland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

Since we were not going to be spending much time there, not eating there either, our criteria for choosing a hotel for a couple of nights were location and cost. This scored on both counts. Maybe we were lucky, but our room was clean and comfortable and although there were large groups checking in and out each time we needed to speak to the reception desk, we did not have to wait and the staff were helpful and polite.. The room wasn't large and had no view, but it was perfectly adequate for our needs. If you're looking for a hotel with a bit of style, then you won't be happy with this one, but if you want a reasonably priced hotel in a central location. then it just might suit you.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBrisbaneGM, General Manager at ibis Brisbane, responded to this review, March 18, 2009
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Ibis Brisbane this year.

It is always great to receive feedback and hear how our guests enjoyed their stay.

Thank you for your recommendation and positive feedback regarding the cleanliness of our hotel and value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards
Karen Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2009

Although this is in a great location of the city, i would not reccomend to family's. The Staff were not very helpful and did not seem intrested in helping us with our questions.

The hotel is clean however the beds were not comfortable with a pillow that was very think and a matteress with the same problem.

The food is nice and the prices reasonable.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The hotel overall
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBrisbaneGM, General Manager at ibis Brisbane, responded to this review, March 18, 2009
Thank you for the review you posted from your stay last year.

It is always good to receive feedback. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and that you enjoyed the restaurant. I will pass these comments on to our Chef and Restaurant Manager.

I was however disappointed to note that you did not feel the hotel was suited to families. The Ibis brand generally offers a fun, casual and friendly environment which suits families well. I am sorry that on this occasion you did not get this impression. It is apparent that our staff did not portray their usual friendly approach during your stay.

We are currently reviewing the quality of all mattresses in our rooms to ensure they are all of the same high standard.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Karen Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

Nice Hotel, very recommended. The room was spacious, clean and modern. 5 minutes walk to City Center. Breakfast was OK, and provided a good parking rates for guests. Drawback, very very under staff, had to wait 10-15 minutes for check-in. The rest was superb.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

Yes the comfort-ability scale of Beds may be a subjective topic however the mattresses in room 1234 are horrible. One should not be able to feel the springs impeaching through their mattress.

The rooms are bigger than the Sofitel's and located only a 5 minute walk up turbo st so fellow advantage plus members can still enjoy the great thyme 2 buffet at the sofitel whilst paying half the price in accommodation at the ibis.

The Car park is annoying but is priced accordingly.

Stayed November 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

We've just stayed there 1 night. The location is very good, only 10 min walk to the central station. The room is well with the price we paid (about 120 AUD). The bathroom is large with a bath tub. The bed is comfortable.

However, the only one thing we are not satisfied is the "soundproof." We can easily hear the sound from the next room. That's quite annoying especially we need to fall asleep earlier for the morning flight next day.

The restaurant is under renovation when we stayed there, so we had our breakfast at the Mercure hotel just next to Ibis. The breakfast is the continental breakfast, and the restaurant is quite bright and cozy.

If you want to find a good location hotel with cheap price, Ibis may be a good choice. However, we may try other hotel at the next time to Brisbane since the tranquility is the very important for us.

  • Liked — location, absolutely.
  • Disliked — quietness
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2008

I am not a picky traveller nor do I always travel in 5-star accomodation. To be honest, the Ibis Brisbane is a nice hotel, well maintained and rooms are nice and convenient.

But my stay was really spoilt by a few minor things.

First thing I noticed when I entered the room was the disgusting "clogged drain" smell in the air. I quickly located it was coming from the bathtub drain. Room was nice, modern and very clean, but alas the first impression was very poor due to the smell. Also, forget about the view. Two skyscrapers are in construction just across the street, you'll most likely see concrete trucks and construction workers.

Then the attitude of one reception attendant was very poor. The same one, both at check-in (fast and efficient, but totally lacking warmth and welcome) and check-out (long wait, unhelpful and nasty comments). When I asked to have my luggage stored after check-out, I was advised to use the tiny lockers upstairs ($6 per unit). I said my luggage was too big, so with lots of sighs, huffs and puffs the reception attendant agreed to take my luggage in the reception desk area (where dozens of luggage were already stored...) saying "it is not a safe area". Well, if the reception is not a safe area, then these people should consider changing job.

Location is fine, although coming with a car can be a challenge. This is a one-way street that partly serves as expressway exit so finding your way around when you are new to Brisbane is not easy.

The restaurant is fine, although decor and atmosphere leave a lot to be desired. Pale white walls, dark rug, dim neon lights, roadside motel tables and chairs... with some imagination I am sure they could turn the place into a cosy, warm restaurant.

I am not picky and would overlook all these minor details if it had been a less upscale hotel chain or a countryside inn. But at a rate of AUD220 per night (the most expensive I've paid throughout Australia on a 2200+ km trip!! even a 4-star in Sydney was cheaper) I was very dissatisfied.

Should I return to Brisbane, I will certainly look for alternative accommodation options.

  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to ibis Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Brisbane

Address: 27-35 Turbot Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Brisbane 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Brisbane is conveniently located in the city centre. The hotelfeatures 218 spacious and modern rooms, conference facilities, anda newly refurbished restaurant and bar. Ibis Brisbane has all the keyfeatures for a comfortable business or leisure stay and its convenientlocation means guests are only a short stroll from all that the city has to offer. You will experience exceptional value for money, convenience and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your ibis Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ibis Brisbane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.