We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, okay but not great room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ibis Brisbane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added ibis Brisbane to your Saves list
ibis Brisbane
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27-35 Turbot Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #55 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
DeWitt, New York
Top Contributor
310 reviews 310 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
“Good location, okay but not great room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This hotel is a short walk from the Treasury and the pedestrian mall. Our room was comfortable but nothing special. There weren't many places to store items.

One significant issue I had is that the room lacked an ordinary bedside clock. The only clock in the room was built into the phone, on the desk well away from the bed--and in our room, even that clock was broken. This was the eleventh hotel we stayed at on our lengthy trip, and the first and only one that lacked a bedside clock. I resorted to setting up my iPad and using its clock and alarm next to the bed. This should not have been necessary.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D'orne F, Manager at ibis Brisbane, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Joe

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the Ibis Hotel. It was nice to read that you were happy with the location of the Hotel. I was not happy that we did not fullfill your expectations about the room though. I want to let you know that we will take your issue regarding the lack of a bedside clock into consideration.

Kind regards
Laurence Nathan
HOD Ibis Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    532
    229
    54
    22
See reviews for
163
369
161
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Went here in November for the ashes
Centrally positioned for the shops and bars and although major work going on in the hotel this was a great hotel for the price... Rooms good wifi £40 a week should be free but using skype helped keep the costs down
Staff were excellent would recommend a good standard without all the luxuries but a typical 3 star back home !! Needs a swimming pool ;)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

From Brisbane airport you can take the Airtrain ( leaves every 15 mins) then get off at Roma Street Station. It is then approx. 5 mins walk from the station to the hotel. The hotel is very near ( 10 mins walk) to the Queen Street Mall shopping center with lots of restaurants & convenience shops near by. It is also within walking distance over the River bridge to all other attractions such as Gallery of Modern Art, Museum & South Bank area. The room is very clean, spacious & quiet. Bed is very comfortable. It has everything you require. They even have room service 24/7. Staff are helpful & friendly. However the extras are expensive. Buffet breakfast $24/person, continental breakfast $16/person. $27/day for parking & also you have to pay extra for Wi-Fi. But you can use their computer in the lobby for half an hour for free. I am happy to come back & stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floor is better & away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackenzie River,QLD
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I have stayed here a few times before and know that some of the rooms are much larger and have better windows than others. The rooms are starting to look dated but the bed is VERY comfortable and the sheets are very good quality. The rooms are clean and the location of this hotel to the CBD make it worthwhile staying here. The staff are very efficient and friendly. Check in and out was done in record time. The bathroom is large but my only gripe would be the lack of towel racks.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeira, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

it was a couple stay for just one night before we took the plane back to europe.
even though in such a sort period of time we had not the best experience.
staff not well trained, keycard did not work, small and outdated room.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D'orne F, Manager at ibis Brisbane, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Roberin1977

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Ibis Hotel Brisbane. I would like to apologise that we did not meet your needs when you stayed with us. I also want to let you know that I have spoken to our Management team to ensure that all our staff are well trained form now on.

Kind regards
Laurence Nathan
HOD Ibis Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

The price is over high in terms of it's quality. Room was too small for a couple. it isn't a really good location compare other CBD hotel. Haven't mentioned that the light from hall way came through the door to inside, which was very annoyed when I tried to sleep. Plus the wifi was total not working, the whole stay I can't even get to use the in room wifi at all.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D'orne F, Manager at ibis Brisbane, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear ReneST2010

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. I was disapointed to read that your stay with us was not a good one but greatfull for your honesty. I would like to offer my sincere apologies that we did not meet your expectations in so many areas.

Once again I apologise and thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards
Laurence Nathan
HOD Ibis Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ibis Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Brisbane

Address: 27-35 Turbot Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Brisbane 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Brisbane is conveniently located in the city centre. The hotelfeatures 218 spacious and modern rooms, conference facilities, anda newly refurbished restaurant and bar. Ibis Brisbane has all the keyfeatures for a comfortable business or leisure stay and its convenientlocation means guests are only a short stroll from all that the city has to offer. You will experience exceptional value for money, convenience and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your ibis Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ibis Brisbane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.