We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ibis Brisbane

Save Saved
You added ibis Brisbane to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
ibis Brisbane
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27-35 Turbot Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 161 hotels in Brisbane
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Handy Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

A hotel withing walking distance to both city and railway was we were looking for and were therefore very impressed with the Ibis in Turbot Street Brisbane..
The staff were welcoming and helpful with directions.
It is extremely quiet inside the rooms and we had everything we needed for a one night stay and an early start..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    190
    498
    209
    46
    18
See reviews for
146
346
155
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luganville, Vanuatu
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We needed a place to stay the night after arriving at Brisbane airport in the evening. After some research (and previous experience), we concluded that it was better to take the Airtrain to the CBD than to stay in an overpriced hotel near the airport. We got a really good internet deal for the Ibis Brisbane. It is only three streets down from Roma Street Station. I was amazed when we got to our room. It was on the 15th floor with a great view of the Brisbane River. Everything in the room was top notch. I paid more money for a very plain private room at a nearby backpackers’ hostel last year, and it was not nearly as nice. This was a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We found the Ibis in Turbot St Brisbane to be very comfortable and affordable. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The location in the middle of the city is perfect for all the activities Brisbane has to offer and in walking distance too. I will definitely be staying at the Ibis next time I am in town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This place we only intended to stay 3 day but due to the fact my wife missed her flight in manila we had to stay longer, and yes I had two younger children with me. Located in the heart of the city, near the river, busy area but upon arrival we were welcomed by staff and that was the start of the best stay ever...the children love it and never complained and the staff were always helpful, cleaning staff were amazing, the beds were to die for, the room was awesome I will stay again.

Room Tip: There is no free internet, so chosing ibusiness room gives u free internet, cost the same when I lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maorichikita
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We booked four rooms here late August 2013, this was a last minute booking as we had wanted to spend an extra day in Brisbane and could not extend our stay in our apartments. Due to the type of trip that we were on, a large family holiday it was a bit disappointing that when we booked adjoining rooms to have adjoining rooms and the adjoining door was not unlocked and we could not unlock it seemed a bit pointless booking an adjoining room.

Staff are friendly and accommodating which was the main positive experience during our stay. The waitress in the restaurant seemed rushed off her feet (Although not dropping her service of us at all) The elevator renovations in the restaurant looked weird and dangerous. The rooms are nicely decorated but very basic but the location is perfect for a late evening shopping trip which is what half of our party did.

Overall OK stay but probably more suited to a couple or single as the rooms became pretty cramped with my 5 and 4 year old.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D'orne F, Manager at ibis Brisbane, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you were impressed with the friendliness of our staff and our central location to the heart of the Brisbane CBD. With regards to the lift renovations, I can assure you that whilst the exposed structure may be an eye sore, the necessary occupational health and safety standards are being adhered too to ensure the safety of all persons. I do apologize for the misunderstanding in relation to your adjoining rooms and hope that this does not deter you from trying us again.

Kind regards,
Monika Kolakowski
Assistant Night Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Very disappointed with food service offered. Meal had to be picked up on level 1 and was beyond dreadful. I will not be eating form the Ibis Brisbane again as the food looks to be per-purchased from the Coles freezer section.

In-room air conditioning unit turned on and off every 45 minutes waking me during the night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D'orne F, Manager at ibis Brisbane, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
I was disappointed to read that aspects of your recent stay at the Hotel Ibis did not meet your expectations. We do sincerely apologize that the quality of the meals provided were below satisfaction. Please be advised that your feedback has been passed on to our Executive Chef for review. I have also passed on to our Chief Engineer your feedback regarding the air-conditioning unit in your room.
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I do hope you may try us again as we would appreciate the opportunity to regain your confidence in our brand by showing you the exceptional service that we are able to provide.

Kind regards,
Monika Kolakowski
Assistant Night Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I had a business room 1126, it had free wifi. very quiet room and very comfortable with 2 queen sized beds.
breakfast was good.
this is a budget hotel but very comfortable, clean and modern. extremely convenient in location.
close proximity to South bank via walk bridge, CBD, and Roma St transit centre.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ibis Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Brisbane

Address: 27-35 Turbot Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#32 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Brisbane 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Brisbane is conveniently located in the city centre. The hotelfeatures 218 spacious and modern rooms, conference facilities, anda newly refurbished restaurant and bar. Ibis Brisbane has all the keyfeatures for a comfortable business or leisure stay and its convenientlocation means guests are only a short stroll from all that the city has to offer. You will experience exceptional value for money, convenience and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your ibis Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ibis Brisbane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.