We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mutton dressed as lamb” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Diana Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Diana Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Diana Plaza Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Annerley Rd | Woolloongabba, Brisbane, Queensland 4102, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #120 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“mutton dressed as lamb”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

The few hours i spent in the place were unforgettable. Firstly as i arrived just 8pm to be told the restraint was shutting and couldn't order food. One of the reasons i booked there was because they said they had had 24 .hr room service meals. I booked one of their spa rooms and walked in to find a disgusting bathroom that looked old and not properly cleaned. The toiletris were of cheap quality as well.the lounge and bedroom were well presented thou. But the worst thing of all was the old conditioning vent that run through the place.there was a large man hole tat anybody at ny time could climb into and i think had been because the noises that were coming from it sounded like someone was crawling around in there and i had a terrible uneasy feeling like somebody was watching me. I even video taped the noises to show my friends and they agreed that there was defiantly someone or something up there. I left immediately because i was too scared to hut my eyes.all round a horrible experience and i don't recommend it at all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    61
    72
    34
    42
See reviews for
26
76
28
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I stayed here recently when I had a two day stopover in Brisbane. I chose this hotel because of it's location and of course the price. The hotel is situated within walking distance to Southbank and is a short drive from the city centre of Brisbane. Easy freeway accessibility also to the Gold & Sunshine Coasts.
Yes the rooms are looking a bit tired, but my room was spotlessly clean and the bed was super comfy and had great pillows, a must for any weary traveller.The staff were very accommodating allowing me an early check in which was greatly appreciated after a long haul flight. There are numerous restaurants and take away eateries located right outside the entrance to the hotel, which means you don't have to travel far. Free parking was an added bonus considering that Brisbane is notorious for it's exorbitant parking charges.
I would most definitely stay here again .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen Y, Director of Sales at Diana Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Hi - we understand it has been a while however just wanted to let you know that we appreciate your review after recent stay with us at Diana Plaza Hotel, Brisbane.

We agree - our location is convenient as you have kindly let people know on our behalf. We also appreciate any recommendations you may be able to make so that we can continue to provide a great experience for our guests.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury , Western Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Similarly, we had read some of the bad reviews after we had booked here for one night before leaving Brisbane. It is looking a little tired, but our room was quite big, clean and the bed was super comfy. It was an easy walk to South Bank and the free parking out the back was a bonus. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we walked to the Brewhouse only a few metres away for a great meal. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen Y, Director of Sales at Diana Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Hi - we understand it has been a while but we are working on catching up with a response on some of our reviews.

Thank you for your kind review - we were aware that some of our rooms were due a refurbishment late last Year and are pleased to advise this has been our focus for the first weeks of 2014. We are pleased to confirm that completion of the refurbishment on all of our rooms is not far away.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Diana Plaza Hotel, Brisbane in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is the third time I've stayed here, over a period of some 12 years. The main difference this time was that the hotel was definitely starting to show it needed an update. We had a spa suite but the bathroom and spa had paint chipped off and rust round the edges - for $189 a night I expected more. Dinner is no longer served in the dining area in the foyer, you have to go to the cafe next door (highish prices there for a cafe). Breakfast is served in the foyer - why not dinner?? At least the car parking (round the back) is free - a must for Brisbane inner city. We probably won't be back until they've had a refurb. Position is good for shows at QPAC etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen Y, Director of Sales at Diana Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
We understand that it has been a while since your stay with us and subsequent review - however wanted to touch base and thank you anyway.

We were aware that it was time for some refurbishment late last Year and are very pleased to advise that this is currently underway on our guest rooms and public areas.

Please check us out next time you need accommodation in Brisbane!

Our staff and customer service are still going strong - so we are sure you will be impressed by the new and improved Diana Plaza Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I use this hotel for my long term stays in Brisbane, because it close to my mothers house and the South Bank. The price is great and the staff are very friendly. also it's not in the middle of down town where you have to pay to park, parking is free at Diana which is a bonus.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen Y, Director of Sales at Diana Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
We understand it has been a while since you reviewed us, however just wanted to take some time to thank you very much for your kind words.

We are always pleased to hear that we you have received good customer service and interaction from our staff - which has ensured you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our location - great - our parking free; but more importantly a happy guest that has taken the time to pass this information onto future potential guests - thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

After reading some bad reviews on this site I was very concerned as to how our stay would go. But as we were attending a workshop just down the road it was just too convenient to pass up. Upon arriving we were pleasantly surprised. The foyer was clean and we loved the giant chandelier!! Staff were friendly and efficient. Warning about the lift though- it drops slightly when you walk in - scared me half to death the first time!! My room was quite spacious, clean and nice smelling. The bathroom was a good size and clean. My bed was soooo comfy as was also my colleague's beds. Had a wonderful nights sleep. I was disappointed that I was only staying for the one night! I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. :)

Room Tip: Stayed in a Queen bed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen Y, Director of Sales at Diana Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Hi - we know it has been a while since you reviewed us, however didn't want to let the opportunity to touch base and say thank you to pass by.

We think it is great that your experience with us was all that you wanted and you have taken the time to pass this information onto other potential guests on our behalf.

This information goes a long way in our efforts to continually improve our guest's experience - so thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Diana Plaza Hotel when you are next in Brisbane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel is not in a bad location to reach the exhibition and conference centre. The service was friendly enough. The breakfast was fine, fairly generous though not that tasty. The room (and common areas) are dated, and need a refresh. But even with the busy road outside, I slept well and found it comfortable (except for the crappy clock which kept resetting and I had to finally just unplug). The gym in the shopping mall, with an entrance of $10, is sufficient, and I thought the Korean Baths were interesting. You shouldn't have high expectations for it, but it is in the style of Korean Baths, I had a quite good massage with Andreas with a reasonable price. Still, the overall feel to the hotel is just average. For the $170 rate that I got a night, compared to other cities and hotels, it's really bad value... but I don't know what other hotels are like in Brisbane to compare.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diana Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diana Plaza Hotel

Address: 12 Annerley Rd | Woolloongabba, Brisbane, Queensland 4102, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Diana Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Important Note for our valued guests: We are very pleased to advise that despite the recent Brisbane major Storm event, and with some water damage to our Top Floor, we are still open for business and operating to near full capacity! Whilst actual water has been evacuated from the top floor, the most heavily affected area, understandably the carpet (corridor only) is still in a drying process. Primarily now our efforts are being targeted to reduce any lingering damp smell as a result of this water damage, with the aid of specialist equipment and treatments. This carpet will be replaced with new, however understandably with this major event there could be a bit of a back log in pushing this through, whilst other more severe cases of damage throughout Brisbane are addressed. Our goal is to continue to ensure minimal or no inconvenience to our valued guests (while we silently go crazy behind the scenes) ... Brisbane storms - an event to respect and behold! Please be assured that all efforts have been put into this over the past days to reduce as much as possible while repairs continue and we sincerely thank you for your ongoing support during this difficult time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Diana Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diana Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.