We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, comfortable older style hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Treasury Hotel & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Treasury Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Treasury Hotel & Casino
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 William Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4001, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Quiet, comfortable older style hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

Close to the galleries which were the reason we visited Brisbane. High ceilings and large room with good bathroom. Bed softer than is our preference and rooms need the refurbishment about to take place. Our room only had interior view to courtyard and was adjacent to somewhat creaky old lift. Fortunately it was not greatly utilised as two modern lifts are nearby.

Excellent a la carte breakfast was welcome change from the ubiquitous buffet. We rarely breakfast at hotels but did so twice on this occasion on recommendation from family who had recently stayed and we very pleased we did.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    113
    37
    23
    12
See reviews for
38
179
25
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

We have stayed here on a few occasions & has been lovely every time. This immaculate hotel is perfectly located near the river & Brisbane Queens Street Mall shopping. Staff are friendly & the rooms are amazing. Some rooms can be a little small but others are enormous with incredibly high ceilings & beautiful views of the river. We have dined at Cafe 21 which is part of the Casino next door which is also very nice, good food & service & reasonably priced.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

I've stayed at the Conrad Treasury Brisbane 4 times now after trying numerous other hotels in Brisbane City Centre. I love the size of the rooms they are huge, the spacious marble bathroom and the sound proof walls. Not once have I heard anything from the corridors or traffic below.

If you are after old worldly and like great service with the convenience of location, walking distance to everything in the City then I highly recommend a stay at this hotel. It's an easy drop off point for all the shopping bags.

Book online and you can often get really good rates half the price of that advertised through their website. Overnight parking comes with the price of the room which is a bonus as it usually cost $20 upwards in the city.

Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

I love this hotel and have stayed there twice now. As soon as you walk into the Lobby you feel like you're in another time. The piped music and the plush furnishings make you feel relaxed and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

I booked this "5-stars" hotel through Lonely Planet (which used Expedia.com) at a competitive rate, stating its a Adv Pch with Buffet Breakfast and a Welcome Gift. At that time, there was a cheaper option (difference was AUD$20 per night) if its without Buffet Breakfast option. Chose the option with breakfast as price difference was AUD20 only. Was quite happy that the booking was a breeze and so was the payment.

Nightmare began before the trip began when I emailed the hotel at the email address stated on its web to request a room with a good view, preferably with a balcony (as suggested by Lonely Planet) and to inform them of our earlier arrival then the official check-in time of 2pm as our flight arrived at 7am and would like to freshen up ourselves. The short and quick reply from the hotel was they were unable to accommodate early check-in and have no place for guests to freshen up other than the toilets. And if so desired, they stated we should book for an extra night! This is the 1st time I get such a reply! From all my traveling and that of my clients, associates, family over the years, all the hotels would be happy to accommodate such requests (we'd that in most major brands of hotels including Conrad Singapore) but first taste of "snottiness" from Conrad Treasury.

Upon arrival, as expected, Front Desk informed us our room is not "available". They said they would call us immediately once its ready. That was 8.45am. We left our luggage and went for a tour of the city and visited some attractions (all these while, we did hope that the Hotel would call us as in spite of flying in via business class, we weren't able to sleep well as there was a toddler crying thru the flight). Until about 1.15pm, when we were too tired and can't walk anymore, we went back to the hotel and yes, Front Desk told us our room was available. Going to our room, the Concierge/Bellboy brought up our luggage. Chatted with him, we found out that the hotel was probably 50% occupancy or thereabout, definitely not packed and he didnt think our room was unavailable. This was when we felt pissed!

Next, as we were tired, we showered and slept. Upon waking, we realised there weren't any Welcome Gift as stated. So we called Front Desk and checked. A guy said he'll check and get back! No one did.

Next day, we asked again and Front Desk said nothing stated and she would check. A while later, she called and said yes the Welcome Gift was and should have been given on arrival. The Welcome Gift was supposed to be a bottle of champagne or red wine...we felt they seemed pretty reluctant to give the Welcome Gift!

Next, we got the Front Desk telling us that our rate does not include Breakfast. We called Expedia.com (as Lonely Planet does not provide any Customer Service), which quickly said this booking is not theirs (based on the itinery code) and gave us another tel no. to call (which apparently belong to another partner Hotels.com). A lady by name of Swee answered and checked. From booking sheet and email which they sent to Conrad Treasury, she said not stated and not clear about the code (this is despite they owned, managed and made money out of the web). But after some clicking on her computer, she said that yes, she confirmed seeing my booking was Adv Purchase with Buffet Breakfast.

Then hotel staff Christina called saying they had called Expedia.com and stated categorically that the rate we got are not entitled to Breakfast and its a problem I have to sort with Expedia.com and Hotels.com. I called back Swee who said she has not managed to speak with Conrad Treasury.

Half hour later, she called back and said that as the promotion changes frequently and the Hotel's Marketing Manager has accessed to amend directly, they can't know what was actually I booked, etc... (pls noticed the stance she took changed from what she said earlier)...and she stated like "by the way, Christina mentioned that the hotel don't serve Buffet Breakfast, so they couldnt serve to u even if you want to." So its sorry, there's nothing she could do except to alert her supervisor..

From all these, I figured out that all these Lonely Planet, Hotels.com, Expedia.com...are just "online sharks & crooks" who are eager to take money out of your pocket! When they's non-performance of contract on their part, they jus shrugged their responsibilities and pointed their fingers at each other!

ALL TRAVELLERS, DON'T BOOK YOUR THINGS THROUGH THEM. They just want your money and not interest in serving you or advancing your interest.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

The hotel is in an old treasury building that retains it's municipal yet elegant charm. The rooms are very nice (you won't be disappointed). I didn't spend much of my time in the hotel but the courtyards looked nice, the staff is friendly, the service was great, and the place was clean.

The casino is 100 yards away (across a front courtyard and street). It's not much of a casino (compared to Las Vegas) but you can play some cards, craps, or pull the levers. EVERYTHING is in walking distance (Queen St. Mall, Eagle St. Pier, universities, botanical park, bars, restaurants, library, bridges, river walkway and beach, show venues, etc).

It's a great hotel that I will stay at again.

Also, Brisbane was a GREAT city to visit!!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

This is a truly outstanding property and so different to the expected modernity found in other Conrad properties. The hotel exudes style, grandeur and lavish hospitality. My room was huge, exceptionally appointed and wonderfully decorated. The breakfast was possibly the best I have ever eaten anywhere worldwide. Must be the best hotel in Brisbane, perhaps the best city hotel in Australia. I can't wait to return here on my next visit to Queensland in 2010

  • Liked — The opulent hotel ambience, furnishings and splendid style throughout
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Treasury Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treasury Hotel & Casino

Address: 130 William Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4001, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#25 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#25 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#35 Family Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Treasury Hotel & Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the majestic grandeur of Treasury Casino & Hotel. Housed in two of Australia’s grandest heritage buildings, this space has been transformed to create a hotel experience of world class standard which is unlike any other. Situated in the city’s commercial and retail heart the Hotel is a mere 25 minutes drive from Brisbane’s domestic and international airports. Treasury Casino & Hotel offers 128 lavishly appointed rooms including king, twin and suites, most of which boast magnificent 18 foot high ceilings. Rich in history and first class hospitality, experience the perfect blend of contemporary comfort and old world charm at Treasury Casino & Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Treasury Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treasury Hotel Brisbane
Treasury Hotel And Casino
Conrad Brisbane
Brisbane Conrad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treasury Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.