We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice staff - pity about the accommodation....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane on George

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane on George to your Saves list
Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane on George
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   103 George Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4001, Australia (Formerly Marque Hotel Brisbane)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very nice staff - pity about the accommodation....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I was booked into this hotel for three nights by my office - unfortunately we had prepaid!
The reception staff were extremely helpful and the sheets were clean. That said the room and the hotel in general are well past the time for a good clean and some refurbishment.
I was actually in a "refurbished" room with a nice looking bathroom - it was the mould in the shower recess and the dried out soap on the shower floor that worried me. There were stains on the carpet which didn't add to the ambience of what could have been a nice room. Everything needed a good clean.
I tried a chicken caesar salad from room service as the dinning room on the ground floor just smelt like old and burnt fat. I thought the salad might be an option - should have gone out.
If some work was undertaken it could be a reasonable hotel in a central location - the young staff are already great ambassadors - pity the establishment let's them down.
In it's present condition I would not recommend staying there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousBris, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane on George, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We really appreciate your positive comments following your stay, and thank you for taking the time to go onto TripAdvisor. It is, however, disappointing to read your comments regarding the restaurant and room facilities and we will use these comments to improve all facilities.Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you here when you are next in Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    199
    120
    53
    29
See reviews for
41
176
42
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for four nights in June. Room was alright, the bed had no bed head which I believe was down too the very inconvieniently placed air con controller.. Old school wall mounted one at about waist hight dead in the centre of the only wall in the room that could have the bed against it.

Bathroom was nice, and the products are good quality. Old school door keys are interesting and the interior is looking a bit dated. Walls were scuffed and marked. Our room was an internal one on the 11th floor. Had a lovley view into the offices opposite us and a glimpse of the sky above.

The check-in staff were nice and courteous however the room service staff were different. The information book provided showed that in room dining for dinner was avail till 10pm however the menu showed it stopped at 9pm. When I rang to order some food at 9:05pm i asked why the information was conflicting and got told rather abruptly that it was 9pm and the late night options were only avail (aka toasties and chips). On this we decided to not eat at the hotel and ate elsewhere the entire stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousBris, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane on George, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and reference your comment about the in room dining menu - I sincerely apolgise for this and have addressed this at all levels of th operation.We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed one night mid week.
Room itself ok. Small but newly renovated bathroom. Bedroom was huge. LCD tv looked new.
Poor quality decorating though, looked like a 10 year old did the painting, and the furniture came from the Salvos. Hallways look awful, old and run down.
Uses the old fashioned door keys. No security in lift after hours - ie no keycard so no ability to limit access.
Car park here is horrendous. Upon my arrival they had a builders vehicle blocking the access, nowhere to pull up and park while checking in. Very narrow once in car park, made worse by car parking spots on the ramps between levels. I checked in a 5pm to find the carpark completely full (was full again when I left at 9am) ($20 charge for o/n parking)
Location was good - walking distance to shops/restaurants. Which you will need as very limited food options in hotel. They have tried to cram the restaurant into the already small lobby right at the front door.
I wont be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousBris, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane on George, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear msjesdsy
Thank you very much for staying at the Rendezvous Studio Hotel Brisbane.Please know that we appreciate all comments as it helps us focus on areas of improvement at all times.
Your comments highlight areas of need that need immediate action to ensure all guest exopectations are met.
Thank you again - we look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I got one night at this hotel for "free" by cashing in my Flybuys rewards points for a room. It was a queen room with an extra single bed for a "twin share".

We checked in late after a wedding. The service from the staff member on duty was very nice, he was friendly and cheerful for 11:45pm!

We had to park our vehicle in the carpark with a nightly charge of $20.

Once up to where our room was, we noticed the age of this hotel. The doors are old and chipped, and then inside the room it's all very dated. That's fine for a night though and the bed was relatively comfortable.

But it was the cleanliness that was a problem. We noticed nail clippings on the floor near the single bed! The lamp had so much dust gathered on it the design groves were full! There was a lot of mould in the grout of the shower area and around the basin.

The bathroom had been updated but little details were missed - the extractor fan didn't work, the door had damage from where something glued on was pulled off and the shower head didn't work properly - it sprayed in a very very wide V shape meaning you had to turn it right down to get water flow all in one spot.

All in all it was fine for a few hour stay as we left at 6:30am the next morning. The same staff member was on the reception desk and again he was very pleasant.

I wouldn't recommend for anyone who associates the name Rendezvous with 4-5 star but as a "free" night I guess you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousBris, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane on George, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Maritime_Historian,
Thank you very much for staying at the Rendezvous Studio Hotel Brisbane. Please know that we appreciate all comments as it helps us focus on areas of improvment at all times, and we have ensured our housekeeping department focuses more thoroughly on all aspects of the room.
Thank you again - we look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed overnight at the Rendezvous Studio Hotel and the location was fabulous. The hotel was a little bit "tricky" to find, located opposite the Treasury Casino accomodation, within walking distance to everything including Southbank. Our room had a very comfortable bed bwith lovely linen however the decor was a little bit "hotch potch". The paint on the walls behind the bedhead was all scuffed and scrubbed at, a little bit "tacky" and a picture or two in the room would brighten it up. The bathroom while clean and tidy was a little bit "pokey" and not a two person bathroom. I also feel its nice to stay in a room that supplies just a few little extra necessities like a plate and a knife so if you do want to have some cheese and bickies with a glass of wine for example you can - its about being treated a little bit "special". Overall it was a good location, with a great view of Southbank, the river and the distance hills.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousBris, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane on George, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Alansandie
Thank you very much for staying at the Rendezvous Studio Hotel Brisbane.We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay, particularly the southbank views.Please know that we appreciate all comments,
Thank you again - we look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Good spot for accessing the exhibition centre whilst being in the thick of things. Service was good, breakfast leaves a little to be desired but many good cafes in close proximity so not a problem. Apart from that a clean and comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousBris, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane on George, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Simon R
Thank you very much for staying at the Rendezvous Studio Hotel Brisbane.We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the convenience the hotel enjoys.Please know that we appreciate all comments as it helps us focus on areas of improvment at all times.
Thank you again - we look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I booked this hotel for one night on the hotels website. After booking the room we saw we could get a package for the same price. When enquiring on the phone about this package we were asked several times if we were looking at the right site. We followed the prompts of the package and made the booking. When we arrived we spoke to staff at front desk and also manager, they both said room had only been booked and after literally showing them how I booked it they refused to honour their deal. Blaming this booking on my phone - in which I had booked it off. Room - lovely and spacious, customer service - appalling.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousBris, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane on George, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear RenaeElizabeth, thankyou for your comments following your recent stay at the Rendezvous Studio Hotel Brisbane.Your comments high light the need to improve our customer service significantly and I thankyou for this.Feedback of all types is an exceptional way for improving the needs of our business and focusing on our guest service.
I am sure you will note a marked improvement on your next stay at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane on George

Address: 103 George Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4001, Australia (Formerly Marque Hotel Brisbane)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane on George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Toga Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisbane Marque Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane on George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.