We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Gardens” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brisbane Botanic Gardens Mt. Coot-tha

Brisbane Botanic Gardens Mt. Coot-tha
Mt. Coot-tha Road | Toowong, Brisbane, Queensland 4066, Australia
07 3403 2532
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$84*
and up
Brisbane Afternoon City Tour including Lone Pine...
Ranked #9 of 131 Attractions in Brisbane
Type: Gardens, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Lookouts, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An oasis for wildlife, the Gardens feature 52 hectares of plants from Australia and all around the world. Horticultural and art and craft shows are displayed in the Auditorium most weekends and free volunteer guided walks leave the Information Centre, Monday to Saturday (except public holidays) at 11 am and 1 pm. Alternatively you may like to explore the Gardens via one, or all, of the three self-guided trails available.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice Gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Liked the layout of the Gardens, very easy to drive around. The memorial was excellent. We visited the Mt Coot-tha summit on the same day, as well as the Picnic area.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    265
    42
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Look but do not eat !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A great walk but do not bother to stop at the cafe. Stopped for coffee and every thing seemed so hard for those who were serving us or rather did not want to. The time before they were closing and our request just inspired them to do so quicker.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We came as a starving group of 10 on a very busy Sunday. It was clear that the cafe/ restaurant was operating at full capacity, it was a beautiful day and the gardens were hosting a Japanese Festival. It was crowded and lines were long. I wanted to give one of the waiters in particular ..I think his name was Dan?, he maintained a pleasant, positive attitude and created extra seating for our group...and was helping other diners too. The food was very nice although expensive...and perhaps the milkshakes could have been more generous. I enjoyed my greek salad with chicken very much. the counter staff were also pleasant and although the kitchen did lose two of our meals momentarily... The experience was a good one.Happy to recommend. Despite the price.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I took two children, 7 and 9, into the Botanics and they were given a leaflet of animals and plants to spot. This kept them entertained for an hour at least. We also saw a Japanese garden, a huge bamboo garden and something called the lizard bridge upon which we saw lizard after lizard! They were on the bridge, in the river, fighting on the rocks and up the trees! There was a musical chair and stone creatures to find. We also saw bush turkeys, all kinds of birds and little furries.
After the children's walk, we went up the mountain, an easy enough walk for older children as it was not far and found ourselves at the lake which had turtles swimming, more lizards and turkeys. They also saw waterfalls and butterflies.
There are excellent facilities at the gardens and up the mountain, toilets, drinking water etc. the lookout point shows a breathtaking view of Brisbane city.
As usual, the rangers were friendly and informative, the roads and paths well kept and clean. A good day of fresh air and interesting things to see.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Wonderful sculptured shrubs and huge trees. There was a bamboo forest and great flowers even in the down under winter.
Public toilets are not cleaned often and not cleaned well.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brisbane Botanic Gardens Mt. Coot-tha also viewed

 

Been to Brisbane Botanic Gardens Mt. Coot-tha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brisbane Botanic Gardens Mt. Coot-tha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.