We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic night to celebrate our anniversay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brisbane Marriott Hotel

Save Saved
You added Brisbane Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   515 Queen Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #15 of 165 hotels in Brisbane
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Romantic night to celebrate our anniversay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The Marriot is a very comfortable, well located hotel near the river - a short stroll from Eagle Street Pier and the Queen Street Mall. We had a lovely night together to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

The restaurant was a nice place for breakfasting and the king bed was very comfortable. The rooms are fairly standard for this class of hotel, but there were some nice touches (champagne and chocolates delivered for our anniversay).

Room Tip: Did not use the Spa - so please ignore the rating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    315
    205
    74
    28
    15
See reviews for
89
213
56
207
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Alabama
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed at this property for 2 nights recently and would say that it met my expectations. Hotel staff upgraded my room to a great view of the Brisbane river. Would definitely stay at this property again. Exec lounge was very nice!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Beautiful hotel, lots of art deco design and the furnishing are old and traditional. Rooms are spacious without being large, good enough views from the rooms.

I find the location good, albeit a little far from the city at times and it's quite a walk (and hilly on the way back), especially in the heat.

Staff are attentive without being personable. Room service and breakfast are nice without being great. Gym is well equipped but not perfect. TV's are always blaring with no remote to be found or signs as to how to change it. I hate gyms that encourage people to potter about/distract people working out unnecessarily so, the terrace is nice and all but people just loiter.

I had no issues with the stay at all besides getting a taxi on the way out. Was told to walk just out on to the street and get one there. I'd prefer to stand in the shade and have them do it, thanks.

It's an expensive hotel, expensive hotels need to be pretty much flawless. Better service, food, facilities and amenities can regularly be found elsewhere; it's not going to be a repeat as it's just not worth it's price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Brisbane Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear ladyfitch – I am very disappointed to learn that you experienced lapses in our service standards during your stay. Our aim is to ensure our guests’ entire experience is memorable for all the right reasons and I do sincerely apologise that this was not the case for you. I was particularly concerned to learn of the unsatisfactory response you received when requesting a taxi on departure. Our Concierge team receive many compliments on their courteous and efficient service and I am terribly sorry that they had let you down in this instance. With regards the sound level of the TV in the gymnasium, while we do not provide a remote, we do endeavour to strike a happy medium for all of our guests. And, as a result of your feedback, we have adjusted the volume slightly. Thankyou for your review and insights. I do hope you may reconsider and choose to stay with us again as we would appreciate the opportunity to regain your confidence in all areas of our service and standards.

Kind regards
James Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed 1 night on Business. The hotel is a typical big-chain full-service hotel and has all the facilities you'd expect for a 5* hotel. Location is perhaps not quite as central as other hotels such as the Hilton but everything is within a 10 min easy walk. Staff were extremely helpful and efficient.

Rooms are very spacious and spotlessly clean. Beds are comfortable. The work desk is well setup and WiFi is free for the basic service (5 MB/s). If you want super-fast broadband you can pay $20 /day but the free service was plenty adequate for email and Skype.

The hotel has a nice bar/restaurant but I didn't eat there.

Overall and excellent choice in Brisbane.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Brisbane Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Manly-sider – Thankyou for taking the time to share your experience. We’re thrilled you found our Hotel to be an excellent choice and our staff so helpful and efficient. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
James Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed here over the weekend with my son. As the hotel was very busy, we were upgraded to the executive level. Check-in was fast and the room was very comfortable. We both commented that the beds were the best we've ever slept in!
The location is good - walking distance from Central Station and very close to all the restaurants at Eagle St pier.
The breakfast buffet was fantastic with a huge variety of hot & cold food and drinks.
This was definitely the best hotel we've stayed in in Brisbane (and we've stayed in quite a few). The main thing that really sets it apart is the friendliness of the staff. Nothing was a problem and they all seemed dedicated to ensuring the comfort of the guests. We'll definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Brisbane Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear SSRabbitohs – It’s fantastic to hear that you and your son had such an enjoyable stay with us. Thankyou for highlighting our comfortable beds, the variety of offerings on our buffet breakfast in Motion Bar & Grill and, most importantly, our friendly and efficient staff. We have an outstanding Hotel team and they will be chuffed to read your most complimentary comments, particularly from such a seasoned traveller. Thankyou again and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel.

Kind regards
James Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Top drawer. We stayed five nights with access to the executive lounge. The staff were friendly and we felt relaxed. We are used to Asian hotels and , whilst it doesn't compare to the best of them, this is an ideal place to explore a wonderful city like Brissy

Room Tip: Pay the extra for executive loungue access
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Brisbane Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Johnsnelgrove – It’s wonderful to hear that your extended stay with us was so enjoyable and relaxing. Thankyou for your rating and review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you on a future visit to our city.

Kind regards
James Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Best big group hotel stay ever. Hotel great locaiton for central Brisbane, staff fantastic, bed comfiest ever! Food really good, the bar man mixes the best Pimms ever. Staff lovely and helpful too.

Looking forward to revisit in March 2013

Room Tip: Get a river view room so worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Brisbane Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Yvonne043 – Thankyou so much for your rating and review. It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in March – a refreshing Pimms awaits!

Kind regards
James Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brisbane Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane Marriott Hotel

Address: 515 Queen Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#6 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#8 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#13 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#13 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Brisbane Marriott Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stylish architecture, elegant spaces and attentive staff, Brisbane Marriott Hotel is one of the premier Brisbane, Australia hotels. Discover impressive guest rooms, suites and Executive Level rooms capturing stunning views of the city skyline or the Brisbane River during your stay with us. From the elegant guest room decor to marble bathrooms and luxury bedding to wireless Internet connectivity, our hotel accommodation in Brisbane offers cutting-edge comfort. Relax in the pool or at the award-winning Dome Spa Retreat, which provides hours of blissful distraction. Motion Bar & Grill, the hotel's stylish restaurant, offers casual dining with an open-kitchen and outside seating is available on M Deck with Brisbane River views and the upmarket ambience of M Bar. The Brisbane Marriott hotel specializes in weddings, social events and business meetings, with 720 square metres of flexible meeting and event space accented by natural light and river views, imaginative catering, and a full-service business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Brisbane Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Brisbane
Brisbane Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brisbane Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.