We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it for a Splurge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brisbane Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Brisbane Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   515 Queen Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Stay & Save Sale
Ranked #20 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth it for a Splurge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

My husband and I first stayed at the Marriott in Brisbane after getting married in February 2009 and this year we went back for our 3 year anniversary. For 2 usually very budget-conscious travellers it is a splurge and my only regret this year is that we couldn't bring ourselves to splash out for a second night.

The staff at the Marriott are always very welcoming, helpful, and quick to respond to requests, if a little formal. The rooms are probably the same as Marriotts all around the world (this is the only one we've ever stayed at) and are very comfortable. My husband always wants to go back there for the breakfast buffet which has a huge range of food, is very fresh, and was his first taste of eggs benedict. Nowhere else compares, apparently.

The pool looks over the river on one side and a rather busy road on the other. The Marriott is on a big intersection in Brisbane but the traffic noise has never bothered us. The night view of the city from the rooms is lovely and it is a short walk along the river to the Eagle St Pier with lots of restaurants. Gym has lots of the latest equipment (you can surf the internet or watch TV on the screens on the treadmill for those of you dexterous enough to do that while jogging/walking) and the sauna is clean and usually empty.

My couple of gripes have to be about the hair dryer - the first time we stayed at the Marriott the hair dryer really didn't do much to dry my hair and I left a comment about it. The next time we stayed it was much better. Also, make sure you bring a toothbrush because there are none provided. You can purchase at a cost and although I am a supporter of this practise as far as the environment is concerned, some people may expect more from a luxury hotel.

Across a couple of roads on the far side of the intersection in front of the Marriott is the Springhill Woolworths which is a local supermarket chain that stocks anything you may have forgotten - toothbrushes for example! There is also a bottle shop and a bakery in the complex.

All in all we have been very happy with our couple of stays at the Marriott and, finances permitting, would like to make it a regular anniversary outing.

Room Tip: Riverside rooms are more expensive but have a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Brisbane Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Dear AusMatsuda – We’re delighted to be a part of your Wedding Anniversary celebrations each year and very pleased that you enjoy so many aspects of your stays with us, including our great location, the fantastic new high-tech equipment in our gym, our comfortable rooms (with double glazed windows blocking out all noise from the street) and our sensational breakfast buffet in Motion Bar & Grill. We also love that your husband discovered his first Eggs Benedict here and considers them beyond compare. High praise indeed! Thankyou for your comprehensive review. We look forward to welcoming you again next year on your 4th Anniversary, if not before.

Kind regards
James Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    239
    88
    33
    17
See reviews for
109
237
61
241
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We got this on a Wotif.com "mystery hotel" deal, half price which was great. The hotel is very easy to get to, with valet parking which was handy. We got a room with no view of the river which was disappointing, but the block of units next door gave us a lot of "people-watching" experiences ! The bed was beautifully big and comfortable, but the European pillows were so soft, they were like bags of marshmallow with no support.

Bathroom was big and well appointed, though I do wish they had a big shelf in the shower for all the toiletries.. One lonely soap dish was not enough for someone who wants to use shower gel, shampoo and conditioner.

We had two lots of room service - late night hot chocolate and toast, and breakfast. Both were delivered in great time, and were hot and fresh. My only complaint was the breakfast toast, which was really just warm bread, it had no colour in it at all. Whoever got it out of the toaster and carefully wrapped it in a napkin, must have been half asleep !

The staff were all uniformly friendly, efficient and polite. I'd gladly go back again, this hotel was a very good experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Brisbane Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear stella9940 – Congratulations on snapping up the mystery hotel deal – well done! I’m so pleased you enjoyed our big, comfortable beds and please do mention your preference for firmer pillows next time you book so that we can get that right for you. Apologies are in order for your undercooked toast at breakfast – I can appreciate your disappointment and we will be addressing that. Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. Look out for more great offers and I hope you get to enjoy one of our fantastic river views next time.

Kind regards
James Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for 3 nights (2 boys aged 7 and 4). I was slightly concerned when we were allocated an executive room and invited to use the executive lounge. However the kids could not have been more welcome, down to food for them plus Nic on tv! However that's not to say the place was flooded with kids, just ours felt very comfortable there. Overall we had a wonderful stay. Great location right by the river from which we could walk to Southbank. We all loved the spa and pool - pool is small but that wasn't a problem for us. Our room was a bit tight with 2 doubles but perfect for us as we were out and about a lot. The highlight however was the executive lounge - always made welcome. Free snacks, drinks, desserts and canapés. The breakfast was superb, so much so we didn't bother joining the main restaurant downstairs. We all loved our break here. Felt totally spoiled and can't wait to return. Staff were wonderful throughout. This hotel rivalled the more expensive 5 stars in Singapore for us. Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Brisbane Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear ecost – Our number one aim is for our guests to feel spoiled and special and I am so thrilled that you and your young sons had such a wonderful time and felt so welcomed in our Executive Lounge. We also receive many comments about our great location and it seems, with your excursion to Southbank, you have certainly taken full advantage of the river boardwalk being right at our doorstep. Thankyou for taking the time to comment and do visit us again soon!

Kind regards
James Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012 via mobile

Fanastic nights stay at the Brisbane Marriott; room was spacious, 6ft bed was the most comfortable I've ever slept in (would love to buy their pillows and quilt - feather and amazing!). Was a struggle to get up but thankfully check-out was only at 11am which left time for a trip to the well equipped gym and a plunge in the outdoor/indoor pool. Lovely. Breakfast didn't disappoint either with a fantastic selection of cereals, juices, fruit, pastries, smoked salmon and then all the hot dishes. Valet parking ($45) and really friendly staff; Would absolutely recommend this hotel for pleasure or business.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Brisbane Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear laairv – There’s nothing like a good night’s sleep! We receive so many wonderful comments about our Revive bedding package and I’m happy to advise that all of the collection is available for purchase via www.shopmarriott.com. You were obviously charged up for the day, taking the opportunity to enjoy our gym and pool and then top it all off with a visit to our bountiful breakfast buffet. Thankyou so much for sharing your experience. I hope you have the opportunity to come back and do it all again soon!

Kind regards
James Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for Easter weekend and paid $169 per night for a double room. The room was quite small and decor was slightly dated but the bathroom was very clean with an excellent shower and the bed was VERY comfortable. We had 6 pillows and there was a spare in the wardrobe!! The bath robes were nice and the towels were thick and not too small. We used the pool and jacuzzi twice which are open air and very nice. Staff were friendly and helpful. We were given free wifi but it wasnt working the second day. We didn't have breakfast there but the restaurant looked nice and was always busy. The hotel was in a good location for exploring the city. Overall it wasn't quite the plush luxurious 5* hotel I expected but we didnt pay that much and it was extremely comfortable, clean and I would go back just for the amazing bed!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Brisbane Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear mandeem00 – We never tire of hearing how wonderful our beds are! A great night’s sleep leaves you charged up to get the most out of your stay. I’m so glad you enjoyed your Easter break with us and hope you have the opportunity to visit us again - you must try out our breakfast buffet next time! Look out for more of our great weekend packages on our website.

Kind regards
James Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Great hotel bit out of te CBD but well located on the riverside
Staff fantastic best service I have had for years from a range of departments
Rooms clean big air con works beds very comfortable
Lovely soft towels
Only comment is pool is not indoors therefore bit cool and not advertised correctly so they need to change this on their website
Def recommend as great place to relax chill out and have a good time

Room Tip: High and river view away from lifts non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Brisbane Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear DeniseLock – Absolutely delighted that you have discovered us and were so impressed with our service. We have a great team here and it’s fantastic for them to see that their efforts are so appreciated. I’m sorry you found our pool a little cool. We do advertise it as indoor/outdoor on our website. However, we’ll have a look at how we might expand on that. Thankyou for taking the time to review our Hotel – we look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards
James Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I won a stay in one of the executive suites, and to say that it was good is an understatement. The room was absolutely perfect, the bed was huge and comfy, a nice big comfy chair, a beautiful stone bathroom... It goes on. Plus champagne on arrival, with little strawberry chocolates waiting on the table. Not to mention the awesome views of the Story Bridge outside our window.

Breakfast was hassle free, being offered on the floor below us, simply walk in and out as you please, plenty to choose from and all very tasty. Making my own pancakes with the little machine was fun! The views from here were breathtaking, looking out through the city and skyline. We never had a chance to have a look at the restaurant or bar downstairs, but they looked really nice and well done. We did have a light read in the library though, there were so many different (and unusual) things to find in there.

Room Tip: Get a room on the Story Bridge side for amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Brisbane Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Dear Tyson B - Congratulations on winning a stay in one of our beautifully appointed Executive Suites! I’m delighted that you enjoyed the whole Executive Level experience, including the amazing views and inclusions in our Executive Lounge. I must say, the views of the Story Bridge from our Hotel are spectacular, particularly at night, and I’m glad you got to experience it. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future when you may have the opportunity to also visit our fantastic new Restaurant, Motion Bar & Grill. Thankyou for taking the time to comment.

Kind regards
James Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brisbane Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane Marriott Hotel

Address: 515 Queen Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#10 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#15 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#16 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#17 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Brisbane Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stylish architecture, elegant spaces and attentive staff, Brisbane Marriott Hotel is one of the premier Brisbane, Australia hotels. Discover impressive guest rooms, suites and Executive Level rooms capturing stunning views of the city skyline or the Brisbane River during your stay with us. From the elegant guest room decor to marble bathrooms and luxury bedding to wireless Internet connectivity, our hotel accommodation in Brisbane offers cutting-edge comfort. Relax in the pool or at the award-winning Dome Spa Retreat, which provides hours of blissful distraction. Motion Bar & Grill, the hotel's stylish restaurant, offers casual dining with an open-kitchen and outside seating is available on M Deck with Brisbane River views and the upmarket ambience of M Bar. The Brisbane Marriott hotel specializes in weddings, social events and business meetings, with 720 square metres of flexible meeting and event space accented by natural light and river views, imaginative catering, and a full-service business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Brisbane Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Brisbane
Brisbane Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brisbane Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.