We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ambience and Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Arlette

Bistro Arlette
154 Merthyr Road | Shop 4, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
3254 0788
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 2,976 restaurants in Brisbane
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Ambience and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The ambience of Bistro Arlette is wonderful and the service terrific. The staff are attentive, professional and welcoming. The food is good but not great. I have been several times, I always get the duck and mushroom pie 9 out of 10 every time. Make it bigger and offer as a main with mash and Dutch carrots and they would have a winner! I chose badly 2 times when I have ordered mains with red wine sauces as the reduction is over sweet. The desserts ok. Would I recommend this lovely bistro to my best friend absolutely! Overall it is a winner and the prices are terrific! I've been in a group terrific fun, and just with my husband for a romantic dinner - lovely.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    25
    10
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“A rare Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We arrived and were welcomed with a genuine warm smile! Believe it or not, a rare thing these days? Having a little understanding of French food, and a good look at the menu beforehand my mind was made, and despite the young waiters colourful explanation of the daily specials i stayed true to course. My partner had the soup A+, my in-laws shared the escargot (which they loved) and My pate was superb!

For mains, we had 2 beef bourguignon, the pork belly and i had the Cassoulet. Beautifully French!! Simple honest food, cooked they way it should be.

Thank you for a wonderful eve!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“A wonderful French Bistro in New Farm, Brisbane”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

My husband and I dined at Bistro Arlette last Saturday evening. We didn't have a reservation however we were warmly received by the vibrant female maître d' . Our charming waiter of Indian origin explained each dish slowly including the ‘specials” of the day. I skipped entree and had the homemade slow cooked duck and mushroom pie served on onion puree ($17.90)and a side of French beans with almond butter sauce ($8.00). My husband chose an entree of pan seared quail on du puy lentils ($17.90) and for main the traditional style cassoulet $32.00). We shared the French favourite Creme Brulee ($10.90). The total cost - $131.70.
The dining experience was somewhat spoilt by the female waitress who plonked our plates on the table without a word.
The food is very good, the wine selection acceptable but the standout favourite is the exceptional maître. We look forward to dining again at Bistro Arlette in the near future.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Amazing food and exceptional service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

I shouldnt be reviewing this place because I want to keep it all for myself!!
I went here for a friends birthday dinner last night and I was completely blown away by the atmosphere, customer service and food.
I had the prawns for my entree which were cooked to perfection and divine. My next course was the duck pie (another entree). This was a little disappointing as I was expecting melt in your mouth slow cooked pieces of duck but was a little surprised to bite into mince... Nevertheless, it was still nice.
Dessert was the showstopper with the most amazing creme brûlée I have ever eaten. Everyone in our group raved about their meals too. Throughout the evening our glasses were never empty and the wait staff were both friendly and professional.
In would highly recommend this place for a romantic dinner or just a great sampler of quality French cuisine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Special dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

What can I say? Our experience certainly was consistent with what I'd heard about this place. The escargot were divine. As was the cassoulet and creme brûlée. Our waiter even decanted the red wine we brought. It's a lovely addition to the French dining scene. Will definitely be back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Arlette also viewed

Brisbane, Queensland
 
Brisbane, Queensland
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to Bistro Arlette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Arlette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.