We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Little Cafe/Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of French Martini

French Martini
Little Stanley Street, Brisbane, Queensland QLD 4101, Australia
07 3844 5541
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #235 of 2,980 Restaurants in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nice Little Cafe/Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I work nearby and decided to pop in last night for a bite to eat.
We were seated immediately and given our menus. The service was great and we received a small tasting of snails as a treat! We shared a cold meat starter, and i had another starter as a main (Goats Cheese). My husband went for the steak.
All in all, the food was lovely, the atmoshpere was nice and the service was good.
An all round lovely pleasant place to eat! The prices are reasonable and they do not try to be more than they are. I will go back :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    38
    11
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice French fare close to convention centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We dined here two nights in a row, we able to get in early without a booking, and enjoyed sampling different dishes including steak tartare, duck, eye fillet with blue cheese, porc en croute and creme brulee. Good wine by the glass and finishing off with calvados. The staff are French which makes it more authentic right on Southbank. The fact that we came back for the second night gives it our approval as a good place to eat. We might return for lunch on our next trip to Brisbane.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queenland, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Bon soir!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Started the evening with a martini with a definite kick followed by a delicious starter, main and divine creme brûlée. The menu isn't expansive which is typical of a cafe in Paris, but every element is very good. A piece of Montmatre in Brisbane. Can't wait to have another visit soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Almost a great French Bistro”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great Location for a beautiful French Bistro but it just falls short of the mark.The location at South Bank is great and close to everything.I started with the Duck Liver pate which I thought was really nice with a smooth texture - followed by the Steak Tartare which honestly had no love ! these guys should go to PM24 and take note of how to make/serve this dish - it is not hard but get it wrong and it is just not the same.Warm glasses of Beaujolais don't go down well either.
I think these guys don't have to do much to get this right so I am hoping my next visit is an improvement.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, NSW
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service and very good food at reasonable prices for a city centre restaurant. This place has a French feel to it. The duck and the scallops were very good and the pork en croute was excellent. Creme brûlée is to be recommended though the lemon meringue was a little too sweet for any of us. Service is quick and friendly (with the possible exception of the waitress who let us know she was unhappy we didn't want to order wine. Are they on commission?)
Great atmosphere, worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Martini also viewed

Brisbane, Queensland
Brisbane, Queensland
 
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to French Martini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Martini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.