We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, quality experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fix Restaurant

Fix Restaurant
40 Edward Street | Port Office Hotel, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
+61 7 3210 6016
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 3,101 Restaurants in Brisbane
Price range: $0 - $34
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Gastropub, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent service, quality experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

A fairly quick business lunch in the busy pre-Christmas period can stretch a restaurant's abilities. Not this one.
This kitchen delivered good quality meals, built around good fresh produce in a limited time. Best of all was the skill of the table staff, who had excellent knowledge of foods and wines, and a friendly unobtrusive manner. They had been well trained on the menu, had tasted the daily specials and really knew their wines.
When a high quality venue is wanted, without the need for a real "top shelf" price and experience, this is a great and stylish city diner!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    33
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

The steak here never disappoints. I've been here twice now and it's always an enjoyable meal. With friendly staff and a central location its a great night out.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Yummy food and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Food was great, atmosphere was superb and most importantly great beer on tap!

Prices for dinner were affordable and generally had a good night out.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Top Contributor
460 reviews 460 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
306 helpful votes 306 helpful votes
“Great food and house shiraz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This place serves a nice lunch and has a great house shiraz. The staff are very friendly and the group that we were with thoroughly enjoyed themselves and the meal provided. The sourdough bread was delicious, the steak was tender and just cooked for my liking and the desert was delicious as well. Overall the restaurant is worth a visit as it is close to the historical Port Office, the riverside walks and the Brisbane Botanical Gardens.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Wine, Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Dined here with an old school friend for the first time, it was my last night in Brisbane before heading off to Phuket. Wasn't sure what to expect but the experience was excellent. Arrived at 7.30pm and sat at a busy, smart bar drinking and perusing the menu and wine list. Place was buzzing with atmosphere and staff were excellent, very courteous and obliging. Ordered rib eye fillet steak as a main with pate to start, my friend had Wagyu (his first time) and an unusual but delicious Bruschetta starter. Wine: we ordered a good Petaluma sauvignon blanc to start and an old vines Grenache from Pirramima, one I'd had in the UK previously but is now unavailable. Both wines were excellent, great temperature and perfect accompaniments. The food was cooked to perfection and my friends wagyu was sublime. My grass fed fillet was almost as good but still excellent. I think we finally left the restaurant around 11pm having had a fabulous night. I would say the service, given how packed the restaurant was, quite outstanding. Great effort.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fix Restaurant also viewed

 
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to Fix Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fix Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.