We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esquire

Esquire
145 Eagle St, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #171 of 3,122 Restaurants in Brisbane
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My partner and I frequently go to Esquire. Although it is expensive, if you are into food and don't mind paying a premium, Esquire is a must and will not disappoint. The degustation menu is unexpected and defies the norm of what does and does not go together. Raw Scampi with butternut milk and cookies crumbled over it - Sounded very unappetising, but is one of the best things I have ever tasted.

Go here and you will never be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    28
    10
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“50/50”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The first four courses of the degustation meal were delicious, however the following courses (including dessert) we're disappointing to the point that most of each course was sent back to the kitchen. Matching wines were generally ok, however the sparkling Riesling and moscato were most disappointing. The reds were the saving grace.
Degustation menu with matching wines was definitely not worth the expense.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Paul Carlie the Sommelier made the night. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Wife and I flew to Brisbane for the Queens birthday long weekend. We had a wonderful meal in excellent surroundings. Degustation, yes please to the offer of matching wines. With Paul the conversation got to go for it, experiment, we trust you. For one plate each course came with the pre arranged wine accompaniments. Unexpectedly one plate came with what might have been the matching wine. A close second place. We were not told which wine was which. Each course became try, taste, compare and conversation with Paul. It was fun like we have never had. Thank you so much Paul, your skills shone through. B&V

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What can I say........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Amazing, the view, the setting, the drinks, the staff, the food were all fantastic.LOVED how the chef was stood just behind us in an open kitchen. Every dish that came out brought a smile to face. We loved it and will be going again soon.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food, small proportions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Dined at esq and was over whelmed by the staff who bent over backwards to help me with meal choices having coeliac disease. The meals were beautiful but a little small for someone who loves there food. $30 for the lamb for 3 little cutlets and then you buy the sides for $10+ each did seem a little steep especially when the cheapest bottle of wine is $60 but the food was great!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Esquire also viewed

Brisbane, Queensland
Brisbane, Queensland
 
Brisbane, Queensland
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to Esquire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esquire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.