We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Average" is not a compliment, yet not an insult... This was "average"...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pig & Whistle

Pig & Whistle
Riverside Centre, 123 Eagle Street, | Qld, 4001, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
(07)3832 9099
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #925 of 2,980 Restaurants in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Brisbane
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Average" is not a compliment, yet not an insult... This was "average"...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Everything was "fine", which is similarly bland as "average"... We weren't wowed by anything. The coffee was good, the service was obligatory and went through the motions, the meals were acceptable and the experience was satisfactory to the point where the venue could be used again, sure. If it wasn't in such a central location you wouldn't go there for what they produce and deliver, but it is, and it is not offensive, so we could go back, sure.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    52
    19
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Yorkshire Puddings in Australasia.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

It was an unusually chilly damp day in Brisbane. We'd been on the river and were needing some wholesome food. We were seeking a good Steak House and it was Sunday lunchtime. We were directed to the Pig and Whistle by a young Irish lad in another restaurant (which didn't do steaks!). We were given a warm greeting and settled in a warm booth inside. Service was good. Drinks within 5 mins beautifully cooked succulent steaks etc within 15 mins
Visited again 2 weeks later. Live music in courtyard. Sun shining superb Real Sunday Roast Beef Yorkshire Pudding +all the veg and trimmings mother used to make. Lovely atmosphere and pleasant waitresses and waiters.
Definitely on our 'return visit' list.
Beware they are large portions!
Excellent value compared to other restaurants/bistros we visited in Brisbane.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not a breakfast joint”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We joined a family group breakfast on a Sunday, with a large party that had pre-booked, so they were aware of the extra demand on the day.
Our coffees were returned as far too cold. Second ones were slightly warmer but not up to standard.
Staffing was quite inadequate, and the poor kids were overworked and under pressure. Queuing for meals
Meals were okay, but bernaise sauce seemed like it was out of a packet.
It may be a popular beer joint at night, but I have found the service arrogant and slow.
Location is great, but the proprietors trade on the position, and neglect the need for quality or service.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere but abit overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We always stop here for a schooner after the movies. Its more expensive than other pubs but the atmosphere is nice and its handy to the cinemas

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore City, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We highly enjoyed our meal there. Good service, food came out really quickly, tasted great, don't think the husband took a breath while he ate his burger.... Great atmosphere with an acoustic guitar player/singer in the corner... Was great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pig & Whistle also viewed

 

Been to Pig & Whistle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pig & Whistle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.