We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great discovery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bishamon Japanese Restaurant

Bishamon Japanese Restaurant
500 Boundry Road | Spring Hill, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #165 of 3,101 Restaurants in Brisbane
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Fabulous little restaurnat with authentic Japanese food and service, the freshness of the food, flavour and overall experience was sensational. Well Done !
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great discovery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Delicious food, teppanyaki grill, friendly staff, extensive menu, open for lunch 11.30-2.30 Mon to Fri Dinner 6-9.30 Mon-Sat. Popular, bustling, efficient. Possibly need to book.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A great little find and one of the best meals I have had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

A gorgeous little restaurant that my friend and I visited when up in Brisbane. We had a 5 year old and a baby and were easily accommodated. Plastic dinnerware was given to the small people and also there are plenty of toys, pens and books for them to keep occupied (more so for the 5 year old!!).

The food was also as fabulous as the service. We had gyozas which were to die for, teriyaki beef - huge serve of meat and easily shared between two and also scallops also easily shared. These also come with miso soup, rice and salad. Therefore well worth the $30 a serve.

Will definitely visit here again and have not had such a beautiful tasting meal in a long time.

Thank you

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Deceptive quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Had dinner here and on arrival was a little skeptical on what the food would be like as the restaurant is not that impressive to look at. Wasn't i happily surprised when the food started arriving at our table. We had some gyozas which were delicious followed by some chicken karage which was lovely and crispy on the outside and melt in your mouth tender on the inside. Very good value and great food.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Authentic, generous, exciting menu and excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I eat regularly( 1 to 3 times a week) at Bishamon and am a sucker for routine been a sashimi addict. Of all the Japanese places I've tried in Brisbane, Bishamon to date offers the most plump, fresh and generous sashimi servings. I enjoy this with warm house sake. A token gesture of a morsel of something upon arrival is sweet. Yes can be a bit noisy, and try to avoid the door...but I'm a regular so in and out for me. Parking is easy and it is well priced..eg the sashimi which i would consider a meal is only $22. Female guests are treated to the sweetest little mouse carved from radish on their sashimi plate. It would be great to see them do something with the outdoor area! Always populated by visiting Japanese business people here and a haunt for medicos. Service isn't too bad but I get great service because as a regular they get to know your likes. Suitable for solo, couples and groups, often see what looks like business groups there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We have dined at Bishamon since it opened in late 2004, visiting several times a week regularly. The staff are friendly and reliable, and the food quality and variety is superb. If you are looking for an authentic yet relaxed Japanese dinner this is the place. You can't go past the tepinyaki bar or the all you can eat sukiyaki. Q

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bishamon Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Brisbane, Queensland
Brisbane, Queensland
 
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to Bishamon Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bishamon Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.