We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wine bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabiria Oyster Bar

Cabiria Oyster Bar
The Barracks 61 Petrie Terrace | Brisbane QLD 4000, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #426 of 3,120 Restaurants in Brisbane
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Australia
Top Contributor
521 reviews 521 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
537 helpful votes 537 helpful votes
“Great wine bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I really liked Cabiria as a wine bar. The wine list is extensive and very good. The waiter we had was very friendly and knew his menu well. The four cheese platter for $30 is very high quality but smaller in size than most other cheese boards that you will get. The food here is high quality and prepared with care but is very small in serving sizes for the price. Cabiria has an excellent ambiance as a wine bar and its close proximity to the Barracks Cinemas make it a great option. I consider it a high quality (pricey) snacking wine bar experience rather than a dining experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    12
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

great place, nice good, loved id, recommended for anyone who likes it... nice nice nice and nice again

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burpengary
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fresh is Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We let the waiter pick the dinner menu and match the wines for us and his recommendations were wonderful. The pick of the night for me was the tartare and for my wife the oysters but our entire meal was an enjoyable experience. The extensive range of wine by the glass complemented the food and the waiter obviously knew his wines very well. I wish I could remember them. The ambience was warm and the service was very attentive although it was a busy night. We will definitely be back to try some more of the great menu.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great little spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Had an enjoyable night catching up with a friend at Cabiria. The menu was a mix of lighter tapas and main meals. We selected a few smaller dishes and sides which was more than enough.
The staff were knowledgeable of their wine list and made a great recommendation.
To cap off a great night, the chef came out with chocolates he had made that day (well tempered too!) - dark chocolate with a caramel Cointreau filling. Delicious! Worth a look when visiting the Barracks

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Some thing different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Found this place recently on a visit to the barracks and decided to give it a go on a Friday night. The place was pretty full but we were attended to straight away to an outside table. Not much room here but with the old incadescent lighting was dimmed to a lovely tone of light so it felt really cosy and warm. Actually it had a nice romantic feel. Service was unrushed and waitress was very efficient. She did warm up when we started to talk and ask her help on the wine list but like I said she was efficient. There was a good choice of wines from different continents but we paid about $45 for our wine which was ok. Food though was very good. Choice was a little different from the norm. Portion size was fine and food quality very good. We had smoked mackeral pate and anchovie fingers for starters and I had the sardinian raviolli with 3 different side orders which I thought were all great accompaniments for the main, Did nt have enough room for dessert because the sides were so nice I sort of pigged out. Overall a very enjoyable experience.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabiria Oyster Bar also viewed

Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to Cabiria Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabiria Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.