We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Base Brisbane Embassy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Base Brisbane Embassy to your Saves list
Base Brisbane Embassy
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   214 Elizabeth Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 114 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dirty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I have stayed in many hostels before but none as dirty as this one.
The rooms are cleanish, floors need a good Hoover.
The ladies bathroom on the 2nd floor are filthy. I had to wear flip flops on the shower cause it felt slimey. The sink and toilet haven't been cleaned in at,east 3 days as there is hair in and around the sink and has been there from when I arrived to when I left.
Fridges are a mess not clean. Every man for himself in the kitchen fridges. No where near enough space for the amount of travellers in the hostel.
Won't be coming back. Other base hostels are very good. Melbourne/Sydney .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Manager at Base Brisbane Embassy, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Jane S,

I appreciate that you have reviewed our property it's always good to hear feedback from our guests.

With regards to your issues about the hostel being unclean I’m very disappointed to hear this. I have shown your comments to our housekeeping team who like myself have taken them very seriously. We really pride ourselves on having a clean hostel and have a strict system in place to ensure this standard is kept. Our whole hostel has had a complete deep clean and is looking good :)

With the fridges we haven't had a complaint about this before but are actually looking into another double door fridge which we are just waiting on!

We really hope you enjoy the rest of your trip and thanks again for your feedback.

The Base Embassy Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    31
    22
    10
    11
See reviews for
1
26
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

If you're looking for a quiet hostel and away from the screaming people at night, embassy is a great place to stay. Unlike base central, embassy doesn't have a bar attached to it so you can be sure it'll be quiet.

The location is literally 10 minutes ( walking distance) from Central station.

The staff there are friendly, and with the private rooms, you get towels, toilettres, etc. ( just like a hotel).

There's a patio if you want to go outside, and the kitchen was decent ( it can get hot when the weather is hot though)

There's a movie room where you can just chill out and relax before heading off to your next location.

You get storage space for any room, and if you have a lock, you're set, otherwise, it's $5 and you get to keep the lock.

Overall, the best two points about this hostel: location and quiet atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Manager at Base Brisbane Embassy, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Slughippie,

Thank you very much for the lovely review you have given us! It sounds like you enjoyed your stay and that is always our main aim!

It's great to hear you had a peaceful stay at Base Embassy. We are a quieter hostel but still with a great little personality we think :) Also happy to see you enjoyed our movie room and the balcony off your private room too.

We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and come back to visit Base embassy and the crew soon:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Well I was here for 2 nights but ended up staying 8. I wanted to leave but had other commits in Brisbane so had to stay. Overall it was great. I stayed in a 4 dorm and ever though abit more expensive it was worth it. For 2 nights it was only me in the room so was perfect. The staff were nice enough apart from one girl who I asked where something was and she looked me blank and then said 'I don't know' other than that can't fault them. The toilets could of been cleaner but its a hostel and you can't expect everything to be perfect. Cinema room smelt abit damp but again it is a hostel. I didn't use the kitchen so I cannot comment on that. 4 things I didn't like was 1 people waking me up with slamming doors and not having respect for people, I know this is no hostel's fault. 2 there where no lockers to lock my things away so had to carry stuff on me all the time as I didn't feel safe just leaving it, 3 there were only 2 plugs in each room so when people are un plugging your things its not good (maybe extension leads are needed) and number 4 the house keeping- I was in my room twice when they came in and did this, they change the bottom sheet, pillow case and give you another sheet but the duvet cover the just swap from bed to bed or just take them off and put them back on without changing the sheet so god knows how many people have used them before you. My overall stay was good and would stay again though without using the duvet!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Manager at Base Brisbane Embassy, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Les810,

Thank you very much for reviewing our hostel. It looks like to us overall you enjoyed your stay which makes us very happy!

Our staffs were happy to hear you found them friendly! With regards to the movie room we do conduct deep cleans monthly and the movie room is currently looking spick and span and damp free:)

We are also looking into more extension leads in rooms too. I have shown your comments on the duvet cover with our housekeeping manager who is speaking with all the team about it. That is certainely not our procedure for changing sheets and we haven’t heard of this issue before so we are both taking it very seriously.

Thanks again we really enjoyed reading your review! Happy Travels :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noumea, New Caledonia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed a few nights last March in a 4-bed dormitory.
Location is awesome! Right in Brisbane city centre.
Embassy Base is a very secure place with key card system to access the backpacker entrance door, each floor and each room (and female bathroom for girls). You can choose to take a shower in the common bathrooms or in large single ones.
It is a large building with a lift and clean common areas (kitchen, TV room). Carpet floors in each rooms (careful if you are allergic).

Large kitchen with all you need. You can either eat in the kitchen or on the balcony which is great.
Unfortunately, there are only two fridges for the entire backpacker : that is too small. Also, we didn’t like the staff cleaning the floor in the morning while having our breakfast. That’s dirty. Please do the cleaning early morning not while people are eating.

Rooms are spacious and clean but pretty basic. Unfortunately, there is no closet in the room nor hooks to hang your clothes. Not very practical.
Large lockers under beds to ensure secure storage (don’t forget to bring your own padlock).
We asked the front office staff to cool down our room but it was still very hot. Too bad, we cannot control our own room temperature, and have to ask the reception to do so. Plus, no window in the room!

Good value for money. Definitely a place that I recommend while staying in Brisbane!

Room Tip: For a more convenient stay, ask a room on the second floor. Same level as the main kitchen, plus it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Manager at Base Brisbane Embassy, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hi Guys!,
Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. As far as the cleaning of the kitchen goes, it's a little difficult to find a time to clean when no one is in there, so we try and get it out of the way as quick as possible from 8am.
That's a good point about nowhere to hang clothes in the dorms, I will definitely be looking into a solution for that.
There are windows in all of the rooms, just that some of them cannot be opened. This is due to the fact that we have central air cdonditioning, and the reason we had a problem cooling down your room is precisely because someone had a window open on your floor. This causes the airconditioning to take an incorrect reading of the air temperature.
I really appreciate you giving us this feedback, after all, its you guys that we want to be comfortable and happy while you're here with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hostel was alright - we weren't expecting too much. It's all a bit dark and dingy but the dorm room wasn't too bad. The lockers were under the bunk beds and only 2 out of the 4 in the room worked.

The kitchen is pretty good, but a little bit smelly and we strugged to find plates and cutlery. Bathrooms were ok, quite clean - there was a female bathroom as well as some seperate showers and toilets. In general it's fairly quiet.

The good thing about the hostel is it's location - it's close to the main areas of the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We paid $80 for a double room through hotels.com, their actual website was quoting a much higher price! We got upgraded to a en suite room as they didn't have a double room available which was nice. The carpets in the reception, hallways and bedroom could do with being changed and smelled a bit odd. The lady at reception was lovely and spent lots of time checking us in (nothing worse than being rushed to give u a bad impression!). The kitchen was also disgusting but I don't think this was the fault of the hostel more so the guests, there was dirty dishes and tables, food lying around and food dripping out of the fridge, it wasn't a very inviting environment. Fine for one night, functional and nice staff but the hostel could do with a bi of work.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We booked a double room with a shared bathroom, after reading some reviews on here before my arrival, I was dreading my stay, but have really been pleasantly surprised. Rooms are very small but very clean with good bed linen which is the main thing. Aircons really good and the staff have been super friendly, chatty and helpful.

My husband said the lads toilets and showers were pretty grubby but I can vouch for the girls and they were nice and clean.

Bit annoying that if ur checking out before 7am u have to go to the sister hostel to check out & obtain ur key deposit, its not too far but far enough when u have heavy backpacks.

The location is perfect not too far from the greyhound bus station and right near all the shops bars restaurants etc etc.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Base Brisbane Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Brisbane Embassy

Address: 214 Elizabeth Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 114 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Brisbane Embassy 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Base Brisbane Embassy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Base Brisbane Embassy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.