We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not disappoint!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bitter Suite

Bitter Suite
75 Welsby Street, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
+61 732544426
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #176 of 3,101 Restaurants in Brisbane
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Bargara, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Did not disappoint!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

After noting several glowing references to this gastro-craft beer bar, both online and in the press, paid the place a visit after spending the day at the GABBA. A very popular spot, with a pleasant street corner location at the southern end of trendy New Farm, the venue did not disappoint. Interesting selection of craft beer from Australia and further afield, although sadly at time of visit, the glycol cooling system for all the seven taps was munted, so only bottled varieties were available. No real issues there, as over 60 to choose from. Range of seating options available both inside and out and although the staff were flat out on a busy Saturday night, service was extremely pleasant. Enticing range of modern cuisine menu options and my peking duck pancakes with maleny salad were yum. Probably worth reserving a table if visiting at a peak time and will definitely be back when next in town.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    26
    11
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

While the drinks are a bit cheaper than elsewhere don't be fooled the food is any good. I ordered fish of the day and it was served in very small pieces with a cold sauce totally inappropriate to the fish. For a few drinks its great but that is all. Although its very convenient, I'd rather walk or drive somewhere else to get a descent meal. The service was good, the atmosphere terrible and so was the food!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Saturday wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stopped in for a glass of red - Braden took it upon himself to open a bottle of Paulette 2008 Shiraz - amazing - awesome company, great service !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Staff not so great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

The waitress with blonde hair and tattoos brought me the wrong wine, when I told her I had ordered the Pinot Gris she replied "oh well it's the same thing anyway"! Our mains then arrived before our entree, and we were basically told we didn't order it correctly? We also ordered a dozen oysters, only 6 came out.. I wouldn't recommend :(

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A good spot to stop by”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled across this place and really glad that we did. Sat outside on the couches ordered a couple of beers and chewed on some snacks ( the food & beer choices were plentiful, not to mention yummy!)
If we lived in Brisbane we would definitely be regulars!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bitter Suite also viewed

Brisbane, Queensland
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to Bitter Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bitter Suite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.