We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean room, nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sudima Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sudima Suites to your Saves list
Sudima Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Water St, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
Coolum Beach, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good location, clean room, nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We found this to be a clean, modern room with everything we needed. The pricing was very reasonable and security is good. The only issue was the heli-pad across from our room - I was dreaming that I was a helicopter pilot! It's hard to complain about sick people being flown into a hospital though, so overall we thought it was a good choice for a place to stay. Location was excellent, just a short walk to Stanley Street for a night out and Southbank for breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    77
    18
    7
    4
See reviews for
22
56
17
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
The Summit, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I arrived and as a bit nervous when I saw the proximity to major roads but that was soon put aside as my visit proved to be one I will repeat every trip to Brisbane.

The rooms are double glazed on the bedrooms to keep things quiet and it was amazingly quiet for a city hotel. The pricing is excellent, staff fantastic and very helpful, modern new rooms and very good location in south Brisbane with IGA and food and drink options around the corner, walking distance to cbd and short cab fair to valley.

Air conditioning works very well, property felt very secure and has good amenities.

It is a great launching pad for self drive holidays as well.

I do not hesitate to recommend this property to any traveler.

Room Tip: Eastern outlook across the Gabba was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Great apartments, very spacious and with large balconies. My husband was at the Mater hospital so this was the perfect location for me. The staff are friendly and accommodating.

I believe you would be hard pressed to find better value. We have booked here a number of times.
Thank you for looking after us and our family.

Room Tip: Rooms with the balconies are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying here from tues to thurs for the Springsteen concert . The suite - deluxe queen 1 bedroom was Great. Clean well presented with a larger balcony then I expected.

It's pricing was better than the other equitable units in the area and simple walking distance to south bank - which was where we spent all our time.

I will happily stay here again when I get to Brissie again

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

All in all this was a good hotel. Not the best location, but good all the same. The bed was comfortable, room was large and clean. My only real complaint was that they wanted to put a preauthorisation charge of $150 on my card. For a hotel without a minibar or restaurant to charge anything back, i find that ridiculous.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bermagui
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I stayed here one night on business - it wasn't my preferred location because everything in Brisbane was heavily booked - but the service was just fantastic - nothing was too much trouble (bringing a phone charger up to my room because I had forgotten one, printing out my boarding pass, walking me to the taxi....) It was really good value for money as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron bay
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Sudima suites are modern, yet relatively inexpensive accommodation conveniently situated to both Southbank and the Brisbane CBD. We stayed in the smaller studio accommodation which, although the bathroom was tiny, was well equipped with modern facilities including a kitchen and laundry space. As good convenient accommodation it ticks all the boxes, but for the seasoned traveller the main thing to understand is that this is not a hotel, nor a serviced apartment in the classical sense. The services provided for the short term traveller are basic, but are good enough when considering value for dollar spent. The staff when they are around, are very helpful and cheerful but there the desk is only manned for half a day and even then by only one person. That does lead to some challenges when, by necessity, the individual has to leave the desk. When we arrived we found ourselves locked out of reception as the staff member had been elsewhere and forgot to open the doors again while she was attending to other guests. May we suggest to management that the interim parking is more clearly indicated by a sign in the reception area rather than off to one side where it is not at all obvious. That might stop new guests parking in the driveway while they sorted things out. We arrived early and the room was understandably not ready. That is not a criticism as one has the same issue even in 5 star, fully serviced hotels, but when we checked in later in the evening we were surprised to find no towels had been supplied. It seems that when the room was serviced this was overlooked. In addition hairs on the floor of the bathroom does indicate a lower standard of servicing than one might ideally have hoped for. The very helpful person on the desk promptly attended to the matter of the missing towels so all was well in the end but does seem to indicate some sort of problem that management probably need to address. All in all, despite the small criticism, for what we were looking for ie good, modern, well situated, relatively inexpensive accommodation in Brisbane one might be hard pressed to find something better than Sudima suites.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtSudimaSuitesWeCare, Guest Relations Manager at Sudima Suites, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Byronian
Thank-you for choosing to stay with us & for your valued feedback. We are a service awards winning, relatively small & new, boutique all suites property. Our reception is open from early morning to late evening like most serviced apartment properties in Brisbane. In addition, we have a very efficient after hours Guest Assistance Call service with a night manager on site & regular night security patrols. Guest Comfort & Security are our most paramount operational considerations. Our Housekeeping Services provider company has been notified of your comments & has assured us, that concerns raised here, by your good self, won’t occur again. We however do apologise for any inconvenience caused. We look forward to Welcoming you soon again on your next trip to Brisbane from one of the world’s most beautiful places, Byron Bay.
Thanking you
With Warm, Best Regards
Team Sudima Suites, Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sudima Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Suites

Address: 50 Water St, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus - Sudima Suites provides 4.5 star (SR), fully self-contained luxury suites in South Brisbane - a disarming suburb characterised by its quaint old buildings, chic wine bars, and cosmopolitan cafes. Its convenient location makes it ideal for business travellers and holiday makers, enabling you to revel in the best of what Brisbane has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sudima Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sudima Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.