We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well priced,Friendly service, Very clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sudima Suites

Save Saved
You added Sudima Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sudima Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Water St, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 163 hotels in Brisbane
Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Well priced,Friendly service, Very clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Location and price excellent. Very spacious & clean room. Comfortable bed. Close to Southbank, Brisbane City centre & West End. Good cafes & restaurants were a close walk away. We were impressed by the very helpful receptionist,who attended to our requests promptly. Good old fashioned service!
We had to catch an early morning flight(7am), and found the trip to the airport was quick & hassle free, which was another plus.
Will definitely stay again & have already recommended Sudima to friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    63
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
21
45
14
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

For some reason it must have been a busy Wednesday night in Brisbane as all the hotels were very expensive.I booked Sudima with some confidence having read the reviews here.Room 504 is quite large a one bedroom suite with a nice big wrap around balcony and great views out over the city.The Sudima is quite close to South Bank - maybe 5 minutes or so walk.There is a lap pool which unfortunately was not heated and a tiny fitness room - not sure why they would bother as it was as useless as a sunroof on a submarine ! I really like the fact that this place is well priced,close to the city and large in size.

Room Tip: suite 504 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

If you don't mind walking, the Sudima Suites are great value. I stayed for business, for a conference at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre (BCEC). It was only a short walk, and on the way there are cafes and restaurants for breakfast and dinner. The walk is scenic, through the Southbank parklands. It was great, and much cheaper than the hotels closer to the BCEC. The suites are also only a short walk from the Southbank train station.

The room itself was everything I was looking for. I liked the little thoughtful touches, like laundry powder for the washing machine. The staff at the front desk were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

LOCATION: Very good. South Brisbane adjacent to Mater Hospital. About 10min walk to Southbank precinct (and assuming about another 10mins walk across a bridge to downtown Brisbane CBD). This helps avoid the expensive CBD parking costs too!
SERVICE: Very polite, helpful, unobtrusive and friendly. Nothing a problem. Booked direct and all details were ready for a swift check in and check out was a breeze.
ROOM: Booked a Studio, not realizing the Studio has no balcony. It wasn't a problem to pay a little extra for a 1 Bedroom Apartment, which had a very spacious balcony. View looking to the 'Gabba' stadium. 1BR has separate bed/living area. Very spacious and very clean. Comfortable King size bed. Some noise from adjacent works and motorway but they have some serious double glazing of doors and windows which block out 99% of noise. Loved the cleanliness of utensils, iron, washing, kitchenette. The TV/DVD was the easiest to operate in any hotel we've found !. :-)
FACILITIES: The Sudima has a rooftop you can visit (chairs and some ok views - city mostly blocked by other buildings) Level 3 lap pool and gym very good + internet available in the Hotel. Parking was $10 per night extra and easy to navigate - beating the $25+ for downtown CBD Hotels. No Food and Beverage facilities, but plenty options around and an external room service delivery from numerous restaurants was available.
FOR: Convenient location, very friendly and efficient staff. Good value for Brisbane.
AGAINST: Some external noise, but the double glazing helped enormously while inside.
OVERALL: A very good, clean, friendly and convenient place to stay. (If visiting people at the Mater Hospital - it's a definite for convenience).

Room Tip: Perhaps the West side rooms at the moment (Aug13) due to construction work adjacent to the Hotel on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairns
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our room was unusually spacious, and included full kitchen laundry facilities with fridge; microwave; stove-top; extractor fan; dish washer and even a washing machine/dryer combination. Everything including the double stainless steel sink and immaculate bathroom seemed brand new. There was even a sound system for i-phone/i-pod and a bedside clock with i-phone/i-pod charger. Although the area is fairly hilly the hotel is in close walking distance to the Mater hospital complex, assorted restaurants, coffee shops, an IGA grocery, the Mater Hill bus terminal, and Southbank. We didn't use the lap pool or gym. I haven't had such good value accommodation in an Australian city before. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtSudimaSuitesWeCare, Guest Relations Manager at Sudima Suites, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Ozgrannysally

Thank-you indeed for choosing to stay with us & for your very kind words. We really appreciate that you recognise the fact, “I haven't had such good value accommodation in an Australian city before. The staff were friendly and helpful. “ - This makes all our efforts of providing good old fashioned “Value for money “ warm hospitality, in a modern, luxurious setting as - ‘Your home away from home’, all the more worthwhile.
With the advent of technology, the consumer of today, in general has increased expectations + in some cases are super eager to post on-line criticism/s without even giving us an opportunity to rectify an issue - unfortunately, sometimes not being mindful of the fact of the amount of hard work/ human effort, that goes on behind the scenes to keep the wheels of economy moving, particularly in small businesses. Most of us, in some form or other serve customers/guest’s for a living ... hence your sincere comments, have truly, just made our day - Thank You, Thank You, Thank you!
All of us eagerly await to serve you soon in the future.
Wishing You Many Happy & Safe Travels
Best Warm Regards
Team Sudima Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed 3 nights. . Well appointed spacious suite which provided both cooking and washing facilities. . Very clean and quiet although we did hear the helicopter landing on the Mater Hospital next door.
Convenient location to access city, Southbank and the hospital. Would happily stay at Sudima Suites again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Barrier Island, New Zealand
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed here for one night in July only because of its location. I arrived late and reception was closed however you simply called and after hours number and were given a code to access your room keys, easy enough. The room was very spacious, clean and well appointed. However the constant motorway noise made it very difficult to sleep, I felt like I had just done a 14 hr. long haul flight ! I would suggest that the hotel needs to invest in triple glazed windows on that side of the property. I would not stay here again, simply due to the noise.

Room Tip: if you do stay here a south side room might have less motorway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtSudimaSuitesWeCare, Guest Relations Manager at Sudima Suites, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear JArchibald
Thank-you for choosing to stay with us at Sudima Suites - in our well-appointed, Queen Studio room. We are however are disappointed to read here and apologise that your one night stay did not leave up to your expectations.
We have investigated the matter. Our contracted Housekeeping staff does leave a window open after departure clean, to air the room, for a while. Since opening in October 2011 and as this is the first instance these comment has been made from a guest staying in this room, we feel that it is highly probable that accidentally a wind –up window might not have been completely closed.
Respectfully, our building is designed & constructed for resident/guest comfort as per Building Standards Australia for Residential Apartments Building. In addition we have extensively used double glazing, as we are in a inner-city location of a State Capital City.
We sincerely do humbly request you to give us another opportunity to allay your concern.
Thanking You
Best Regards

Team Sudima Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sudima Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Suites

Address: 50 Water St, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 163 hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Suites 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus - Sudima Suites provides 4.5 star (SR), fully self-contained luxury suites in South Brisbane - a disarming suburb characterised by its quaint old buildings, chic wine bars, and cosmopolitan cafes. Its convenient location makes it ideal for business travellers and holiday makers, enabling you to revel in the best of what Brisbane has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo and Otel so you can book your Sudima Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sudima Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.