We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what I Needed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sudima Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sudima Suites to your Saves list
Sudima Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Water St, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
Trentham, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just what I Needed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I recently had to go to Brisbane, on very short notice, as my sister had taken gravely ill. As is our custom, we don't book anywhere now, without first checking the reviews. Well my welcome by Alfred, & Tatiano, just couldn't have been better. They were courteous, & kind, & even though they were heavily booked, they still matched the best rate,for my six day stay.Then(& through-out my stay) they enquired if there is anything they could do to help me. They helped me with transport, taxi's, in fact anything at all. Tatiano was the main one I dealt with, as Alfred then went on his days off.
I/we took a one bedroom premier king apartment,(1106) & it was on the top floor(eleventh) & it was great, lovely big clean rooms, full cooking facilities, balcony all around, & best of all, opening windows, & sliding doors, so we hardly had to turn on the a/c. Plus all the amenities of a first class hotel.
Spotlessly clean, however it is brand new, so they will need to keep up on it, for it to stay that way. And there is a wonderful roof-top terrace, with all tables & chairs & the view is wonderful, however, it was very "soul-less" & needs some pot-plants, & it would be lovely to be able to take a glass of wine up, but the rules are: No glass & no Alcohol.
But that is just nit-picking, i/we so enjoyed our stay, & although we were with my sister most of the time, when-ever I came in, it truly seemed like coming home, to be greeted in such a caring/friendly way. We'd recommend this place, without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    77
    18
    7
    4
See reviews for
22
55
17
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

The staff were amicable and kindly allowed us to drop our bags before the official check in time. Although it was only 2 months old at the time already maintenance was an issue - the toilet roll holder was loose and fell off.

Unfortunately we found glass shards in the carpet after jagging our feet on a piece. We gathered all those up. That action also revealed a lot of fluff and dirt - obviously vaccuuming was not a priority. We dumped a pile in the corner of the kitchen and that's where it remained the entire week!

After notifying them that there had been a dangerous issue with the glass their response was to threaten us with legal action! The situation could so easily have been resolved in a manner that would make us want to stay there again (we frequently travel to Brisbane on business).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ex melbournian
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Very modern, new, clean, convenient apartments. Recently opened and centrally located. Once you enter the complex you are greeted by two very professional and friendly hosts, Mary and Albert. They both work at front reception and make you feel at home.
We stayed in a one bedroom apartment which is a good size for two people. We had our toddler with us and the bedroom, even the living area was able to accommodate for the portacot. Bathroom was a good size and very large balcony. Kitchenette was versatile and an easy to use washer dryer. The apartments are service daily by friendly cleaners and they go out of their way to assist you if further needed. Gym and pool easily accessible and brand new. The only negative comment l can make, the place needs to be more child friendly/SAFE!. Gates and locks need to be placed in areas that children can reach ie locks inside apartment doors, gates barriers placed outside on each floor where the staircase leads to the floor below. A very high nasty fall if a child wanders off for 5m.
Overall, l highly recommend this place and would certainly return here in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms are sound proof from outside noise. Once you open the windows, doors, the traffic noise travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodford, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Our January stay at Sudima Apartments was just as rewarding as the first - which was when they Officially Opened!!!
Definitely our choice when staying in Brisbane - close to everything without the traffic hassles of the CBD.
Lovely, well appointed new (groovy) serviced apartments with flat screen tv & ipod doc.
Comfortable beds with good quality linen.
Well equiped kitchen with dishwasher.
Bathroom/laundry with all your needs - again good quality linen.
Gym easy to use & lap pool great.
Easy in/out basement carpark - yes, you pay $10 per night.
Staff very accommodating and always happy to help.
Rooftop & balcony views fantastic.
Close to Southbank & GABBA grounds, easy access to CBD.
Easy to use public transport nearby.
Close to shopping centre.
Lots pubs & restaurants within easy walking access.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Lovely new spacious apartments. We found they where sadly not walking distance close to much, but super handy if you have a car (and pay the $10 per night fee). There was a washer dryer which always makes coming home nicer (no dirty laundry). Sadly the bathroom was super small, the shower a struggle to get into - major design flaw. There was no TV in the bedroom, despite there being points available and space for this. Very comfortable bed. Huge deck with interesting views of neighbours if thats your thing. All in all a well appointed room for a good price - we would come back.

Room Tip: Watch when driving in - the carpark is laid out with road markings on the OTHER side of the road!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qld, Oz
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I stayed here for one night as I was attending a function in Kangaroo Point. I got a new one bedroom apartment for at least $100 less than anything of a similar standard in the city, and was able to walk to the venue (around 15 - 20 mins), so I also saved on the taxi fare. The apartment was spacious and well equipped with a comfy bed, kitchenette, and good size flat screen TV. It's next door to the Mater Hospital, and is also in a great location if you want to visit Southbank. My room was spotless and the staff friendly and helpful, i'll definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed here while my wife had treatment at the Mater hospital. We stayed in a 1 bedroom which was a nice size and had a decent kitchen. I had our 2 year old with us and we both enjoyed the stay. The only issue I had was the $20 charge for Internet per day which was a bit pricey but the room rates were very reasonable. We had our parents stay as well and asked for adjoining rooms and were put on different floors but it that was the only real stuff up service wise.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sudima Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Suites

Address: 50 Water St, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus - Sudima Suites provides 4.5 star (SR), fully self-contained luxury suites in South Brisbane - a disarming suburb characterised by its quaint old buildings, chic wine bars, and cosmopolitan cafes. Its convenient location makes it ideal for business travellers and holiday makers, enabling you to revel in the best of what Brisbane has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sudima Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sudima Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.