We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Adelaide Street to your Saves list
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Adelaide Street
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   485 Adelaide Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wi-Fi
Ranked #2 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Auckland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Sweet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Meriton Brisbane Adelaide St
We stayed for 3 nights in Sep, booked on the Meriton site online.
This is a large new complex of 274 serviced apartments in East Brisbane, close to Fortitude Valley and the Story Bridge. Called the Soleil Building it's the tallest hotel in Brisbane at 234 metres. You can certainly see the Meriton sign at the top easily from most of Brisbane.
Check in was easy, you need to provide photo ID and credit card. They require a $100 bond which is refunded provided there is no damage to the room.
There are 74 floors, reception on floor 1. Private apartments are on floors 40to 64. The pool, sauna and gym complex is on the 5th floor.
There are different levels of apartments. Small studios (42m2) and "Cube" apartments (49m2) are on floors 2 to 4. The Cube has a sliding glass screen around the bedroom.
We stayed in a one bedroom on floor 36. One bedrooms are 52m2 and are on floors 2to 39. It was an odd shape due to the shape of the building. A galley like kitchen with a full sized fridge, oven, gas hob, dishwasher, double sink and microwave. Large flat screen Samsung TV with Foxtel channels. The bedroom has a king zipper bed which can be split into 2 singles. Bathroom was nothing special but functional. Shower over bath. Washing machine and drier is very useful in Brisbane's heat. Very comfy. Heat pumps in living area and the bedroom. Also you can open all the windows ( no balconies). Nice partial view of the Story Bridge and Brisbane River. There was a high rise apartment building blocking the rest of the view but still pretty nice.
The 2 bedroom apartments are 76m2 and sleep 4 are on floors 6 to 39. They have 2 bathrooms as well - keep the kids away from your expensive cosmetics.
If you want uninterrupted views the sky view 2 bedroom apartments are on floors 65 to 74, 3 bedroom (101m2, sleeps 6) on 65 to 71 and the penthouses on 72 to 74.
Good sized pool and the gym had 2 treadmills, 1 stepper and weight machines.
Decor was modern off white and white cabinetry.
Full housekeeping only twice a week and a daily refresh other days (change of towels and bed making). Bed linen is only changed during the full service.
Car parking available at $30 a day.
The key card system was different. When you want to take the lift you punch in the floor number and then zap it in front of the sensor and you are directed to a specific lift. The panel in the lift tells you which floor the lift is going to. No buttons to push in the lift anymore which is pretty strange. This is obviously more secure and efficient but I note the room no is printed on the key card, so if it's stolen the thief knows exactly which room you are in. Make sure you don't lose that key card !!
Food- you can go to the cheap and cheerful ethnic eateries in Fortitude Valley, a short walk. There's a good cafe called i-Zoo nearby for your morning caffeine fix (don't go there if you think Starbucks' coffee is the bees knees). A family pizza and pasta restaurant called Ciccio's is close by on Adelaide St. Across the street is Ecco Bistro for fine dining, apparently it has 1 hat. For great pastries and breads as well as good early morning coffee, go to Le Bon Choix at the corner of Queen St and Eagle St. Opens at 7am seven days a week for early risers.
There is a Woolworths nearby next to the Mantra and a convenience store in the Starline building in Macrossan St. Go left when you exit the Meriton and it's the 1st street on the left. It's also the quickest way to the River Walk, a very pleasant boardwalk and cycle way along the river. Leads to the ferries and Eagle St Pier.
We also used a Go Card, which allows you can use on bus, train, or ferry. You can use this to catch the Air Train to Fortitude Valley station but it's a bit of a walk to the hotel.
Overall a very good apartment hotel, helped by being newish. Friendly helpful reception staff. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriton Adelaid... M, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Adelaide Street, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear mirroden ,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Adelaide Street. I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your experience with us.

We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back, next time you are visiting Brisbane.

Kind regards,
Meriton Serviced Apartments Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,027
    359
    67
    29
    8
See reviews for
270
483
105
270
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Fell in love with this apartment! Everything was great from the kitchen, bedroom, view, cleanliness and service. Kudos to their house keeping! We weren't expecting that there will be a house keeping service in Meriton, since the one we stayed in Surfer's Paradise will require additional cost, if you request for cleaning services.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriton Adelaid... M, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Adelaide Street, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear ShyYC,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Adelaide Street. I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your experience with us.

We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back, next time you are visiting Brisbane.

Kind regards,
Meriton Serviced Apartments Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My Husband and I stayed in a cube apartment in early September 2012. There were a number of problems we experienced while staying at the Meriton Brisbane.

Firstly, when checking in we were greeted by the manager on duty (I can't remember his name). The booking was under my name and I was asked to produce ID. This was no problem, so I pulled out my evidence of age card and passed it over. The manager laughed and said "sorry, we need either a drivers license or a passport" while snickering. Given that I was a domestic traveler, and don't have a drivers license this would have been impossible. The evidence of age card is a legal form of identification. When asked if we could use my husbands ID (license) we were told 'i don't know, I guess we could'... I thought this was appalling - all the snickering was unhelpful.

Once we parked our car and went up to the room we were pretty happy... until we had to sleep in the most uncomfortable bed I have ever experience. It was clearly twin beds which were moved together. I know a lot of hotels do this, but never before have I been able to feel the join, let alone woken with severe back pain. My husband and I both couldn't wait to leave.

On reflection, we aren't sure why there are two beds joined together in that apartment - there is no other way you could configure the room as a twin...

Overall, we left feeling unsatisfied with both the bed and the service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriton Adelaid... M, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Adelaide Street, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear CinoLatte,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We appreciate all feedback, positive and negative, and use these reviews as a way to improve our operation.

If you would like to discuss your experience further please contact us privately at tripadvisor@meriton.net.au.

Kind regards,
Meriton Serviced Apartments Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We arrived at the Meriton Brisbane from a four night stay on the island of Keswick. We were thrilled to see such a clean and modern space, and it was a welcome bit of luxury after living in somewhat filthy conditions on the island. Our check-in experience was wonderful thanks to front desk agent Phia. She was delightful, and her recommendations were spot on. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Brisbane. The location was excellent and the facilities superb.

Room Tip: We stayed in a two bedroom apartment on the 9th floor. It was ideal for us - a group of 3 family me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriton Adelaid... M, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Adelaide Street, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear parischic,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Adelaide Street. I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your experience with us.

We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back, next time you are visiting Brisbane.

Kind regards,
Meriton Serviced Apartments Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

While the decor, location and price are quite good I would not recommend staying here if you have young kids!!!
We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. I have a 2 and 4 year old and we needed so many windows open to cook so as not to set the smoke alarms off. Most nights it was at least 5 windows (2 or 3 would still set the alarms off). The windows opened quite alot (a foot and a half at least!!) in an outward direction with no screens or protection or balcony and had the kids got to them they would have fallen to their death as we were 34 floors up. The fact that the children could fall out these windows while they are open is scary. Not to mention that the windows are easy to unlock and right next to the kids beds!!! I was terrified the whole time that my kids would fall out the windows.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriton Adelaid... M, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Adelaide Street, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear VickiP,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We appreciate all feedback, positive and negative, and use these reviews as a way to improve our operation.
If you would like to discuss your experience further please contact us privately at tripadvisor@meriton.net.au.

Kind regards,
Meriton Serviced Apartments Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The Meriton Serviced Apartments are conveniently located, an easy walk from the Eagle Street Wharf business area. My accommodation was spacious and modern with European-style kitchen featuring new appliances. Bed had a high quality matresses for a comfortable sleep, although the doona cover was too warm and just a sheet was not warm enough. (A lighter alternative blanket would be a good idea.) Front office staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriton Adelaid... M, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Adelaide Street, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Chesspoint,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Adelaide Street. I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your experience with us.

We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back, next time you are visiting Brisbane.

Kind regards,
Meriton Serviced Apartments Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Brand new Apartments, clean and spacious with all the facilities you will need including fox tel. Would recommend staying here as its also close to the riverside where you can catch the river cat to other destinations along the river and the central shopping area is within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriton Adelaid... M, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Adelaide Street, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear gillyf15,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Adelaide Street. I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your experience with us.

We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back, next time you are visiting Brisbane.

Kind regards,
Meriton Serviced Apartments Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Adelaide Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Adelaide Street

Address: 485 Adelaide Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Adelaide Street 5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Adelaide Street is Brisbane's 2nd tallest building with 74 levels of luxuriously spacious apartments. The unique property offers 227 cleverly designed apartments in CUBE, 1, 2 and 3-bedroom configurations. The oversized fully equipped apartments boasting floor to ceiling glass windows is the most comfortable apartment accommodation in Brisbane. Each fully air-conditioned apartment has king sized bedding, full kitchen and private laundry and living areas with flat screen TV with DVD player - all to ensure the highest level of comfort and style. Guests also have access to our level 5 recreation level featuring indoor heated swimming pool, spa, sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Meriton, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Adelaide Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Adelaide Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.