We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Greek food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Greek Taverna

Little Greek Taverna
1 Browning Street | WEst End, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #115 of 3,102 Restaurants in Brisbane
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Greek food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This was our second visit to this restaurant this year and this time we enjoyed some mixed entrees and share plates for mains. The tzatziki, eggplant and feta dips were delicious along with the griiled haloumi and crispy fried zucchini discs . The prawns saganaki and garlic scallops were mouth watering. The lamb yiros and pork and chicken souvlaki were cooked perfectly and yummy. We rounded out the main with some keftedes (secret family recipe) and chargrilled stuffed mushrooms all washed down with a refreshing greek salad. Only a couple of us had room left for dessert and we opted for the galaktombouriko. This restaurant ticked all the boxes again and our guests from Melbourne were very impressed. The staff are friendly and the service is great. In our view, this is the best Greek restaurant in Brisbane.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    63
    18
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

By far one of my fav Greek restaurants in Brisbane. Great array of dishes to try or share and one of the few places to get a quality yiros in the city

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Little slice of Greece in West End”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband and I visited this gorgeous little taverna for an impromptu lunch yesterday. The staff were lovely, courteous, efficient and professional. We shared 3 entrees and 2 mains and every mouthful was delightful. Made us want to visit Rhodes Island it was so very authentic. Yummy!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant and Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We dropped in and have an impromptu dinner Tuesday night at Little Greek Taverna. Staff were very accommodating with seating for us even though they were mainly booked out; on a Tuesday!
Our seats were on the footpath outside the restaurant, which was fine because it was far enough away from the road so you didn't feel buses were going to run over you.
We shared a couples platter for around $35, bought a bottle of wine across the road and had a very pleasant experience. The waiter was really helpful with food choices. The food was served quickly and was fresh and very tasty. The platter was enough for me and my partner, although he found room for a dessert, Semolina cake; and it was lovely. All and all a very good restaurant and we would recommend for price, service and food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Just needs to get a few things better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Having just arrived home from Greece, we were longing for some of the cuisine. Trip Advisor led us to this busy little Taverna on a corner in West End.
We ordered pita with a dip, cheese bread, traditional Greek salad, lamb cutlets and the fish of the day which was John Dory.
The traditional Greek salad was served as we came to expect it in Greece, except that the tomatoes were a let-down. They weren't ripe!
I would also liked to have seen Greek break instead of French sticks.
The lamb was juicy, succulent and full of flavour. The fish was okay, but nothing special.
The restaurant itself was busy and noisy, but the staff were attentive and friendly.
The timings of the meals was wrong--I'd finished my main before my partner's had arrived.
Price-wise it was good value for money.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Greek Taverna also viewed

Brisbane, Queensland
Brisbane, Queensland
 
Brisbane, Queensland
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to Little Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Greek Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.