We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, unfussy steak” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Caxton Hotel

The Caxton Hotel
38 Caxton St, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #476 of 3,283 Restaurants in Brisbane
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Specifically, the Caxton Char Grill (& Terrace Bar), which is all part of the Caxton Hotel. Can't believe this place has thus far evaded your listings - it's a Brissie institution!
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Decent, unfussy steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

It's not flash, and, midweek, it's not crowded either. Decent meal at a decent price. There are special offers most nights midweek, which make the food very affordable, and quite good value. Will go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    55
    16
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Steak and a cut to the mouth from a shard of glass.. yum!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Went for dinner last night at The Caxton Hotel fantastic experience! A bit of glass came off the cup I was drinking and cut the inside of my mouth. They were obviously very worried and it was so nice of them at the end to take off the glass of coke (which I wasn't drinking) off the bill because in their words "it was all they could do".

What a great bunch of people that a cut from a glass of theirs they can take off a while $3 coke from the bill. Oh but did get offered a 1/2 price coffee as we were leaving which was very big of them.

I did get to enjoy the taste of blood (not from the steak I ate) but my mouth through the meal though, but luckily I got to save the $3 from the bill from the glass of coke. Oh and the 1/2 price coffee offer who could forget that one? Luckily I did not swallow the decent size piece of glass that came off the cup. But just got to experience a cut in my mouth and nice blood taste for a bit.

Overall was a fantastic experience, safe to say that a regular at your establishment will not be back. Thanks again for the amazing offer of the $3 coke as compensation guys, it really made up for the cut in the mouth. "All you can do"? Let's be honest their was a lot more you could. But obviously not. If only I had gone for the 1/2 price coffee on offer, would have definitely made up for it. Coffee would definitely over power blood taste wouldn't it?

Thanks again guys!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Iconic Qld Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Great place for a cold beer especially after the football. Does get very busy but is all part of the atmosphere. Best spot is outside in the carpark with jugs on tap for good prices

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perfect pre match venue.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Book in advance and arrive early for dinner as this place gets busy on game nights. Service is fast and friendly and there are a variety of blackboard deals to suit most. Sure to visit again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Attentive, friendly service, good food and surprisingly intimate atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

The Char Grill restaurant at The Caxton surprised me. Hidden at the back of the well known bar, the atmosphere was almost like that of a fine dining restaurant (except for the three big plasma TV's showing sports...but I think given its popularity on game days this is probably appropriate!). The food was good and my water glass constantly kept full by the friendly staff. The bar staff were very professional and courteous. A good experience.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Caxton Hotel also viewed

Brisbane, Queensland
Brisbane, Queensland
 
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to The Caxton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Caxton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.