We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why don't I just live here?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bavarian Bier Cafe

Bavarian Bier Cafe
Level 1, 45 Eagle Street, Eagle Street Pier, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
(07) 3339 0900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #159 of 3,102 Restaurants in Brisbane
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Sydney
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Why don't I just live here?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I love bavarian cuisine. Took a group of 5 for tea. Just had mains but one had a burger (she couldn't finish it as it was too big - double pattie), one had and loved the pork belly, one had the sausage platter (but would have liked some instruction as to what was what sausage), one had the pork schnitzel (ok) and I had the mixed tasting platter with a bit of everything. Food was all good but two of them were still talking about the beer that they had had the night before so it was memorable for the right reasons. Service was good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    92
    40
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Too busy and inconsistent service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Forget it if you want a quiet pre-dinner drink on a Friday night. Packed with city workers. Inconsistent service, some are friendly and helpful but others are snobbish.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“We were wowed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We arrived at the restaurant at 9:45pm, but was treated like the first guests of the night. Absolutely wonderful service. Had a pretzel and home-made butter (wow, wanted to eat the butter on its own!) and pork belly and sausages as two mains. Would love to go there again on my next Brisbane visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I don't know what this place is like other times but on the night we dined here was so welcoming! There was 5 of us and 3 were family visitors from France. Our waiter went out of his way to make us comfortable and ensured us on many occasions that our meals coming as he noticed that it was taking quite a while. He also gave us some free shots for being so patient! I noticed that he was like this to other patrons as well so thumbs up for him! He definitely made our dining experience one to remember and boast about, pity we couldn't remember his name.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Prost!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Great range of beers, good for after work drinks, packed on Fridays & most expensive round of drinks I have ever bought

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bavarian Bier Cafe also viewed

Brisbane, Queensland
 
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to Bavarian Bier Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bavarian Bier Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.