We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky we booked” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bavarian Bier Cafe

Bavarian Bier Cafe
Level 1, 45 Eagle Street, Eagle Street Pier, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
(07) 3339 0900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #153 of 3,101 Restaurants in Brisbane
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Cairns
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lucky we booked”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The cafe/bar was almost overflowing when we arrived. Luckily the waitress showed us to what looked like the only empty table left. The wait staff were quite quick with the drinks and the food arrived not long after. The staff didn't try and chase you away when you had finished your meal. They were still very attentive and had great drinks service. I would definitely go back to this cafe next time I am back in Brisbane next

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    92
    40
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Location great but food average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Great atmosphere for Friday night but not a good venue for catching up with friends you don't get to see often. Especially during the start of the xmas functions season. The crowd was pleasantly behaved but way to noisy for chatting and booth tables to large for our small group. Aside from the starters , pretzels and pizza, the food was really average. Place was jam packed so the up and down service may not be the norm as the staff had trouble getting through the crowd to our table. View was sensational and the drinks great tho.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The food is to die for, the steins of beer do not give hangovers and I had such a fun time. It has a great view of the river being situated on the Eagle Street Pier. We arrived quite late after 8pm and the food came out quickly and service was excellent. Lively place as well.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Astonishing service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Went here for a few beers and dinner. Was blown away by the helpful and friendly service. As many as six staff were constantly popping over to check everything was going well.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Oktoberfest without the beer hall feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We decided to go for a small, intimate yet lively atmosphere for Oktoberfest. Beers are well priced, the food is delicious and also affordable.Even though all the tables were booked we were seated at the bar and treated really well by the friendly staff. It's in a great location with views of the river, so glad we spent our afternoon here and not in a beer hall.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bavarian Bier Cafe also viewed

Brisbane, Queensland
 
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to Bavarian Bier Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bavarian Bier Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.