We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hot Air Balloon Brisbane & Canungra Vineyards

Hot Air Balloon Brisbane & Canungra Vineyards
Brisbane, Queensland 4001, Australia
1300 766 887
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 94 activities in Brisbane
Type: Wineries, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: From just $250 Self Drive, or $299 with transfers, See the spires of Brisbane city highrise in a panorama from Brisbane's Scenic Rim like you've never seen before, floating in a hot air balloon and afterwards enjoy a delicious hot breakfast with champagne at O'Reilly's Canungra Grand Homestead and Vineyard with free wine tasting too. We operate everyday, and offer transfers from all hotels in Brisbane CBD door to door return or self drive to meet us too. Gift vouchers available and feature the most flexible terms and conditions around, just one of the benefits of dealing direct with actual operator of the flights. Phone are open 8am to 8pm.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

this morning balloon ride was everything we hoped for, seeing the views of the australian mountains was so interesting. the pilot ben seemed a typical aussie, very funny and the breakfast at the vineyard made our day as we saw a platypus in the garden stream afterwards. suggestion for others, another couple on told us there were lots of other vineyards near the balloons so we wished we had not booked to drive straight back to the hotel.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stainless202, Owner at Hot Air Balloon Brisbane & Canungra Vineyards, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thanks for your great review Dee - and good point to take time and explore Tamborine Mountain and the various Wineries, Cheese factories and great experiences there are in the Brisbane Scenic Rim after you have finished breakfast with us at O'Reillys Canungra Valley Vineyards - it complements a great start to the day - Thanks for reviewing Andrew, on behalf of the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“its fantastic momment never forget it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

its a great momment, never forget our first experience, many stories can tell to everyone in this world, almost 2 hour fantastic journey, to see farm,sunshine, and many thing we can see from up here. you must to try it, for you pleasure momment with someone you love.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stainless202, Owner at Hot Air Balloon Brisbane & Canungra Vineyards, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Great Photos Joe - looks like you had a very romantic morning ! Thanks for reviewing us and posting the pictures to help other travelers, best regards Andrew on behalf of the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great views and a fun experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Hot air balloon flights was a great morning out. A very early start (3.45am) was needed as the bus picked up throughout Surfers. We drove to Canungra for a short stop and then on to Beaudesert. All up it was a very long 2 hour trip to get to the take off site.

Once we were there the sight of the balloons being inflated was fantastic. We were loaded into the first balloon to go up and took off smoothly. Just as we reached a good height and were floating across the paddocks the wind picked up and the pilot lowered the balloon. We continued floating across the paddocks for about 20 minutes until the pilot picked the landing site. We clipped the top of a tree on the way down and had a bumpy landing but that all added to the flight.

We then all helped to pack up the balloon and went to breakfast before heading back to the coast and arriving back around 10.30.

Overall I thought the distance that we travelled in the bus was a long way for such a short flight. The flight was interesting but not really much to look at as it was over Beaudesert and it was very smokey.

Perhaps if you are from overseas you may find the farm views interesting but there really wasn't a lot too look at and we didn't seem to get very high.

I felt totally safe throughout the flight and enjoyed helping pack away at the end. The pilot and staff were helpful and friendly.

Overall I would recommend a balloon flight as a unique experience but I was a little disappointed in the actual flight.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stainless202, Owner at Hot Air Balloon Brisbane & Canungra Vineyards, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi Fiona - sorry that the flight wasnt everything that you'd hoped for. We appreciate the review and have taken your comments on board.
One of the advantages of flying on the Gold Coast Hinterland is the very stable weather conditions mean very reliable departures and less cancellations. Our drive normally takes about and hour and 20 to 30 minutes plus a toilet stop along the way, being one of the reasons we offer a comfortable return coach transfer so you can snooze along the way and let us do the driving. Additionally we have now added free wifi devices to all our buses in case you want to use the time to catchup on some Facebooking
Again thanks for the review. Andrew on behalf of the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Must Do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We did this in early August. Even though minus 4 degrees and ice on the ground - when in the air it was absolutely beautiful. Photos won't do it justice. The team were fantastic with safety their priority. Brekkie at the O'Reilley's vineyard just fuelled everyone's excitement.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One more off the bucket list”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Despite the early start this was a great experience and great fun. We were up to 3,000 feet and the early morning views were brilliant. We had about 20+ people in the basket but it wasn't too crowded. Felt safe throughout and the Hot Air team were excellent. Breakfast was great and overall a wonderful morning

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Air Balloon Brisbane & Canungra Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Hot Air Balloon Brisbane & Canungra Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hot Air Balloon Brisbane & Canungra Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hot Air Balloon Brisbane & Canungra Vineyards to your Saves list