We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasic (for Italian)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tartufo

Tartufo
1000 Ann St | Fortitude Valley, Emporium, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
38521500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 3,101 Restaurants in Brisbane
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Sunshine coast
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Fantasic (for Italian)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I'm not big in Italian but this place was good. 6 of us, with a mixed bag of orders and all very happy. The mains are huge and need a side coz its just too much meat. the service was professional and knew the product.
They lost 1 start because they charged us an extra bottle- $140.00!!! This is too big a mistake.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    37
    15
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I felt like a Princess!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

After a very tough few weeks, I decided to treat myself to lunch at Tartufo! What a splendid idea.
The restaurant is gorgeous. I felt that I was transported to Europe. The moment I made the reservation on the phone I was in love with Jeffrey. When I arrived, he remembered my call. I arrived 10 minutes before the restaurant opened but he led me to a lovely table, took my drink order and gave me the menu. The waiter (who was actually Italian) was extremely helpful when I asked him which dish to choose as I was torn. He was spot on. Jeffrey stopped by the table and chatted. I never felt alone unless I wanted to be.

The food was amazing. I had the daily special, a take on a caprese salad which slightly cooked the tiny vine tomatoes and gave a completely different taste. I followed it with linguine ai funghi tartufati which was sensational. I couldn't leave without dessert and I chose panna cotta al miele & vaniglia which was delicious. Jeffrey brought me a dessert wine on the house which was the perfect compliment.

When I left I felt like a million dollars. It was the best service I can remember in a long time and it made my day!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanya, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“ Good service but food was not satisfactory”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I am a pizza fan so I stopped by there to have some delicious pizza for dinner. Service was fast but pizza tasted awful though the size was satisfactory. The ingredients seemed to be unfresh, I could hardly eat a slice. Was very very disappointed :(

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTRALIA
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Perfect Steak !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

we have been here for our anniversary and again recently for our friends 50th Birthday dinner. We had the Veal steak which is different and delicious and the Eye Fillet steak melts in your mouth. better than any steak house or tavern. also the house baked bread, entrees of calamari and Bruschetta and arancini balls are delicious. the favourite dessert is chocolate, rich, coffee flavoured melting pudding. The Italian wine are very expensive but worth every cent. they are just delicious. this is an expensive night out but if you held back on the entrees and wine you pay as much for steak in a steak house. wonderful service and staff, it happens all around with out you noticing the plates are taken, water filled, wine topped up. A favourite dining experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Tartufo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We went here for some lunch on a Friday. The staff member who served us took us to the pizza section instead of the restaurant, which was rude as we purchased restaurant food.

The food was ok. The food wasn't really served hot. I have Italian in my family so I know good Italian food. The whole restaurant looks like an older style venue. It's pretty cool. The waitress we had was nice and most of the staff seamed friendly. I am not sure if I would come back to this venue. We shared a few entrees and then tried the pizza and a main. The fish balls are not traditional italia style.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tartufo also viewed

 
Brisbane, Queensland
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to Tartufo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tartufo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.