We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twice a week for Pho” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trang Restaurant

Trang Restaurant
2/59 Hardgrave Road | West End, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
(07) 3255 1610
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 2,980 restaurants in Brisbane
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Twice a week for Pho”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

I've been eating here heaps lately. It's always consistent and good.
$10 for a pho is a great price and a tasty tasty soup.
It's so refreshing to know its there for a quick cheap tasty informal meal.
Great stuff!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    38
    15
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“You could do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

As Quan Thanh devotees, we decided to try out Trang's one night when QT was fully booked. The menu was full of variety and everything looked really good, but in the end the food was a bit disappointing. The deep-fried wontons were all right, but just had a little parcel of meat in a lot of dry, crispy wonton pastry.

For mains, I had the BBQ pork slices in plum sauce. On the plus side, they didn't skimp on the meat, but on the minus side, it was so rich and fatty that I could only finish half. (I was then charged 50 cents to put the rest in a takeaway container, which is not much, but it did seem a bit tight-fisted of them.) My boyfriend had the Viet fish hot pot, and the waitress warned us that there were bones. However, there is 'bones' and then there is 'chewing each tiny mouthful extremely slowly and cautiously because you will likely have to pull out at least three long, sharp bones'. The fish was nice enough - although very salty - but the excessive number of bones sort of ruined his enjoyment of the dish.

Service was nice and fast, but a bit abrupt. Good value for money, but overall I would probably go somewhere else next time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A little disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I were craving Vietnamese food so googled good Vietnamese restaurants in brisbane and this restaurant popped up. After reading the reviews we decided to go as it looked great, unfortunately we we very disappointed with the quality of the food and it was certainly not as good as all the previous reviews had said.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Had over 100 meals here over a few years. Easy. Local. good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

They changed owners in 2012. Dived for a bit but have come back strong. With more seating upstairs now.
Grilled pork rice paper wraps never been beaten. We get th every time. This place inspired a trip to Vietnam. The food there wasn't as good!' Trust me.
Go the soups. Short soup and wraps is all you need in your day. :-) $15.
Large beef noodle soup. Yum.
$20 you will eat more than you need. And it's byo with great bottle shop adjacent.
Lots of average stuff on huge menu. I just go the staples.
Be prepared for a line up at dinner. Limited bookings. Great for takeaway.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great Vietnamese, quick service, always leave with a great feeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

There's heaps of Vietnamese restaurants in West End but I reckon Trang has got to be the one recommend. The combination broken rice is to die for. Been coming to Trang for over a decade now and I've never had a disappointing meal. Just this week I took a friend there who was a chef in a previous career and he said Trang was top class! He had the sugar cane prawns with vermicelli while I couldn't pass up the broken rice even though I wanted to try the special beef soup noodles (it was calling me from the next table!) Keep it up, Trang... keep to your proven formula.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trang Restaurant also viewed

 
Brisbane, Queensland
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to Trang Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trang Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.