We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but nothing to rave about!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Herston Place Motel

Herston Place Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Herston Place Motel to your Saves list
Herston Place Motel
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Cnr Wyndham & Weightman Sts | Herston, Brisbane, Queensland 4006, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 63 Brisbane B&B and Inns
Sydney Olympic Park, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ok but nothing to rave about!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We recently stayed here for a wedding function at the Golf Course not far away and for this the location was great. Only a very short walk. However I paid $150 per night and I would have expected a bit more for that money. Very basic and interior quite old. The bathroom really needed an update and while it had air con it wasn't really suitable to leave on during the night due to the noise it made. The unit itself only had the basic things in the kitchen and even lacked some wine glasses.

The place is comfortable to stay at but in my opinion overpriced for what you get!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    3
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
7
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was visiting family in hospital and i found this motel to be in a great location, convenient, safe and extrememly clean. The staff where amazing nothing was any trouble. I had to find my way to the hospital, I'm elderly and on foot, and there written directions were truly wonderful, the location was only an 8 minute walk. The rooms are impecably clean, and the cleaning staff are so lovely that nothing was a problem.

Room Tip: Upstairs room, overlooking the hinterland a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

stopped in Brisbane for two nights on our way to Hervey Bay, rooms were large and clean, really comfy beds, air con and kitchen facilities. Bathroom was tiny but did the job it was there for!!

Staff were friendly and we adopted jan as our nan, super friendly, helpful and funny she made us feel at home and we were sad to say goodbye to her.

Was close by to city and easy to find, free wifi in foyer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Loved it. Managers are lovely and very helpful. Rooms very clean. Close to the hospital. Off street parking a real bonus. Being able to cook in the rooms was fantastic, and laundry facilities were a great asset for longer stays

Room Tip: Bring your own food. No shops close by
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had a queen room plus a single - it was clean, neat and tidy and all we could expect for the $160 or so we paid. It's in a really central location and we were easily able to jump on one of the highways to get where we wanted. The bathroom reminded us more like a tiny cosy cabin bathroom, but it was clean and provided the necessary conveniences! The beds were comfy, sheets were crisp and clean, all we wanted really. I would definitely recommend for the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I have been booking here every week since having to visit my sick father often. Find it clean,comfortable and efficient with booking etc and they will refer if full.
Towels linen coffee making facilities free wifi in foyer ...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at Herston Place Motel as we wanted to be close to where a wedding reception was being held at the Golf club. Turned out the motel was just across the road from the venue entrance which was perfect for us. The motel provides the basic requirements and is clean and tidy which is what we wanted. The bed was very comfortable and the room was plenty big enough with a small balcony. We found the rates to be very good and much cheaper than the expensive hotels in the city (A$115 per night). The motel was only 10 min drive from the center of town or you could walk to the train station.... all very close. I noticed that they did not provide a hair dryer or coffee plunger, however that was not a problem as I had my own hair dryer with me. Would have liked a coffee plunger though if we had been staying longer. The golf club made lovely coffee so again not a problem. Great place to stay if you need a bed for a few nights in Brisbane. It is situated off the main road so is very quiet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Herston Place Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herston Place Motel

Address: Cnr Wyndham & Weightman Sts | Herston, Brisbane, Queensland 4006, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Herston Place Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Herston Place Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herston Place Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.