We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from HOme” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kirkland House Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Kirkland House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kirkland House Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   99 Kirkland Ave | Coorparoo, Brisbane, Queensland 4151, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
fm$99 2 or 5 nt packages
Ranked #5 of 58 Brisbane B&B and Inns
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    24
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
62
20
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Kirkland gets the 3Cs tick of approval– comfortable, cosy and clean.
The location was a little tricky as the stations are a bit of a walk. The room was perfect – with an extremely comfortable bed. The manager was attentive and helpful. I would have enjoyed some kind of communal living room, but it is a smallish house.
Overall, it was pretty good value !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Guest Relations Manager at Kirkland House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Many thanks for your review and comments for Kirkland House B&B.
Regards, from the Team at Kirkland House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed for three nights at Kirkland House B&B and I was delighted. Clean and very friendly. Stu and Rachel were great hosts and extremely kind and helpful. I really enjoyed it.

Free wifi, location fine with easy access to the city by bus. Coles supermarket 10 minutes walk. The property i set in a very pleasant garden with a splendid tree that I enjoyed looking at.

Thank you!

Richard form Tokyo.

Room Tip: Great value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Public Relations Manager at Kirkland House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Hi Richard,

Many thanks for your kind words and review for Kirkland House B&B and also for potential guests to read.

PS: Stu says hope your well and he posted you some more mail.
PSS: Have you travelled anywhere else add your reviews to trip advisor.
PSS: See you again sometime regards, Stu Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed at Kirkland House whilst travelling through Australia on a holiday of a lifetime. One of the best places we stayed at. Comfortable, clean, breakfast was superb, ideally situated for travelling into Brisbane CBD on public transport and the hospitality we received from Stu the owner was exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble and we left Brisbane feeling we had made a friend for life. Thanks Stu and I would recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Guest Relations Manager at Kirkland House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
On behalf of Stu and Kirkland House, we thank you for your review and comments as we really appreciate it. Where else did you stay after Kirkland House?
If you do another trip to Australia, we would love to see you again.
kind regards, Stu and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights, we miss this lovely place so much.
Its our first time at a B&B, we were very impressed!
Our first day late and didn't expect Stu ,a very nice and friendly gentlemen greeted us at the door. The house is clean and nicely decorated, It doesn't feel like a hotel, more like home away from home "HOME SWEET HOME"
這次是我們的蜜月行,途經Brisbane,選了這間可愛的B&B,也是我們第一次入住民宿,真是很難忘,這裡感覺很warm,裝修很精緻,周圍環境也很舒服.很寧靜,與我們長大的地方HK很大分別,另外屋主也是十分好人,跟我們聊了很多,亦介紹了附近的一間餐廳給我們,真是大讚,反正的就是這地方所有東西都很好~我們留在Brisbane時間很短,很想念這裡呵!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Guest Relations Manager at Kirkland House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
It is great to see your lovely review. On behalf of Stu and the team here we thank you for choosing Brisbane Kirkland House Australia. 這是一個很高興有位來自香港,中國,遇到最仁慈的有關KH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hessle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Really nice room, ease to come and go as you please. Stu who runs it is a super guy, very friendly and easy going. The rooms are super clean, spacious and tastefully decorated. Plenty of food left in the room and excellent facilities. Well located with easy access into Brisbane or out to other areas of Queensland.

Lovely Example of a traditional queenslander house so really homely. Selection of food for breakfast was really good to cater for all.

There is aircon in the room but there is also a ceiling fan which we found very pleasent to have going in the night rather than air con.

There is loads of info in the room about Brisbane and where to go, which along with chatting to Stu made our trip and made it really easy to find out about some amazing places...

Stu couldnt have done anymore for his guests, very attentive and friendly guy. Also, took the time to get to know everyone if they wanted to and really made us feel welcome.

We wouldnt stay anywhere else in Brisbane now.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Guest Relations Manager at Kirkland House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Brisbane Kirkland House sends our regards to you both and as a valued Tripadvisor Member we appreciate your comments and review for us and for other travelers to enjoy.
From Stu, Rachel and the Team here at our popular Brisbane Accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

If you have been to Australia before then you will know how very very expensive it is!! well stop right there!! We stayed at Kirkland House for 3 nights, yes, three nights....that should tell you something right there. The place was gorgeous extremely clean and the breakfast is second to none, sound to good to be true, well it's not. This place has it all and Im not joking, you will be very surprised - trust me on that score, I know we are from Manchester and you probably think living in a tent would be an upgrade, but I kid you not folks - try it - you'll love it - it does exactly what it says on the tin. Well done Stuart.....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Guest Relations Manager at Kirkland House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Many thanks for the Outstanding review and for the time you have taken to write this review.
Stu sends his regards and says thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kirkland House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkland House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 99 Kirkland Ave | Coorparoo, Brisbane, Queensland 4151, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kirkland House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Brisbane Kirkland House, the best valued Private Bed and Breakfast Accommodation in Brisbane, close to CBD and Southbank. Located only 5klms from Brisbane Central Business District, this 100 Year Old Grand Colonial, offers superbly renovated suites with a contemporary design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Kirkland House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kirkland House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.