We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a holiday home.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Minto Colonial Hostel

Save Saved
You added Minto Colonial Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Minto Colonial Hostel
61 Gladstone Rd | Highgate Hill, Brisbane, Queensland 4051, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Like a holiday home.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

After going between different hostels of varying grades of cleanliness, what a pleasant and refreshing break to be here! My friend and I were so happy to have our own room after being in dorms for a number of weeks, and staying here is just like renting a lovely cottage or house. Very homely, it was so nice to relax out on a couch and watch TV if you wanted. Kitchen is fine, has everything you need. Rooms are pleasant, bed very comfortable and ample parking outside the property which is free. There is also a lovely verandah outside, where you can sit and see the skyline of Brisbane.

It is confusing when you arrive as the front door is just open and it's pretty much a self check in process- your names and room number are listed on a piece of paper pinned to the notice board, and the room key is inside the room. (Door already open). There is free WiFi- rare in Australia we discovered!

I don't recall seeing much 'staff' or an owner really, which was a little annoying, as our plans had changed, and we could only stay 3 nights when we had booked 4, so there was no way I could get my 1 night's money back or request a credit note.

We didn't really run into many other people staying there, but that didn't bother us so much. If you were alone, you may have been a bit lonely. I would definitely stay here again when in Brisbane though.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    12
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
11
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Have been staying at Minto regularly over the last 12 months. Great place to stay, rooms including kitchen and bathrooms clean and tidy. Staff always obliging and nothing is a problem.
Minto is situated close to public transport, ( bus outside the door) and train not far away.
Self check in system is very appealing to me, i know which room to go, name with room number is shown at entrance for initial book in.

Room Tip: I prefer rooms towards back of house
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Easy check in, went straight to my room, lovely queenslander. All guest were friendly and polite, felt like home. Staff were friendly and helpful, thank you for all little extra.
Thank you for home away from home.
Tim
Darek
Lisa

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Lovely place, tidy and quiet, well located, within walking distance from West End cafés and restaurants, and 10 mn bus from CBD. Very welcoming and helpful staff. Free WIFI available.
I will definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at Minto for 3 nights as a group of 9. The house is beautiful and has been converted in a very sympathetic manner. I would change the colour scheme though, as it makes every room feel very dark (you need the lights on during the day in some rooms). The facilities were good. The kitchen has everything you need though there were issues with cleanliness and safety: some of the pots had been burnt and not cleaned; the handles on both fry pans were so lose, they were too dangerous to use and the stove needs a massive clean to get rid of all the accumulated grease. The 3 bathrooms were simple but clean. Some of the tubs were a bit wobbly when you moved around having a shower. The common room had lots of books and DVDs one could peruse, a big dining table, comfy couches and a big screen TV. It is not ideal that staff have their “office” in the common room though. It was great to have free WIFI and the washing machine was cheaper than the laundromat down the road. Rooms had their own TV and fridge, which was good.

Some of us stayed in room 8, which had a double bed and 2 sets of bunks. The beds were high enough that we were able to slide our suitcases under them, which left us plenty of room to move about. Those of us who stayed in room 7 were woken each morning in the wee hours (4.30-5am) by someone having half-hour long showers and the plumbing’s clonking noise (the bed backs onto the wall shared with the bathroom). They were also woken one morning around 5am by someone opening the sliding windows of the enclosed balcony) and making an incredible racket in the process. Another lot stayed in room 3, which we had been told was a “double bunk room”. In NZ, one would assume this to mean there are 2 sets of bunks sleeping up to 4 (“bunk” implies there are at least 2 beds). However, when we arrived, we found there was only 1 set of bunks and we were short of one bed for our party. When we discussed this with Irina, she giggled and talked like we were dumb for expecting 4 beds. When we checked in, the key for room 8 was not in the room, so we were given the master key (which opens every single room – good thing we’re the honest type!) until it could be found. The sash windows in room 3 can be opened from the verandah, which means the room is never secure.

Apart from the cleaner who was very friendly, the staff at Minto are quite bizarre. When we arrived, we stood for a few minutes at the “check-in” board trying to figure out where our room was and where the key was. Irina, who was sitting at her desk a meter away, finally pointed to our room door but did not greet us or introduce herself. We found that really quite bizarre (customer service 101, anyone?!). Then we found the way she dealt with the whole double bunk issue downright rude. One day during our stay, Irina and another lady spent the whole day in the common room discussing Minto’s accounts and admin. We found it quite unprofessional to have such conversations in front of customers. When we popped in for a bite to eat at lunch time, they had their personal belonging sprawled all over the dining room table and didn’t move anything to make room for us. We thought it was very inconsiderate. At the end of the day, a folder full of guests’ invoices was left on the table. There was also an envelope with purchase orders from a corporate customer on the couch during our whole stay. Highly unprofessional; I hope they treated our credit card details with more care. Finally, the owner is very creepy. He seems to pop out of nowhere (usually shirtless) every now and again when you don’t expect him. We found it quite creepy and felt almost spied on. This isn’t helped by the fact that he appears to live in the attic.

Though the price and the facilities were good, we wouldn’t go back to Minto and that’s solely because of the staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The place has a ton of character but not much atmosphere. We did enjoy eating breakfast on the front porch but the bathrooms seemed to always be occupied as there is only 2 for all the guests.The location is ok, not really walking distance to much. No one is there to greet you or answer your questions, but a bulletin board with your name and room number on it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bathroom. Our room shared a wall with the bathroom and the pipes are o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, Manager at Minto Colonial Hostel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay at Minto, for future reference there is a third shared bathroom downstairs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfail, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We missed out on staying at a nearby hotel and to be honest Minto was not our first choice. We had to attend an evening function after flying down from Cairns so our stay was simply an overnighter. I sent an email asking if it was possible to leave our bags there prior to our room being available and received a very prompt response letting us know that this was not a problem at all. Furthermore we were invited to take a shower and relax while we waited for the room which we did not have to do but the invitation was greatly appreciated. Self check in was easy and a phone and contact numbers were available if you needed to contact the owner for any reason.
We caught the Air train from the airport and arrived at South Brisbane station in the early morning and decided to explore Southbank and have some lunch while we walked in the general direction of our accommodation. There were plenty of places to eat at Southbank and Grey street eateries were only a moderate walk from Minto. That evening and the next morning we walked to boundary road and enjoyed the shopping and food available there. Minto is well located (central) and walking in this suburb is enjoyable with many beautiful buildings to see.
I wish to point out that we only saw the owner once and instead of the fire breathing dragon described by the two terrible reviews for this accommodation we saw a man and his son who were busy maintaining this wonderful old building. I would hazard a guess that if the girls who bagged this place scored some stick from him it was probably well and truly earned!
We stayed in room 8 and were initially concerned that the walls may have been thin and noise from other people may have kept us awake. Our concerns were unfounded as everyone was respectful with regards to noise with no loud television etc etc. The road out the front of the building is busy during the day but at night time it calms down significantly and traffic noise was not an issue.
Our mattress was very good and we slept the sleep of the dead! There were lots of books to read and comfortable furniture to relax on. I had clothes to iron and was pleasantly surprised to find a quality iron and ironing board set up in the laundry area for guest use. The bathrooms, rooms etc were clean and in good repair and I could find no faults worthy of mention. We had absolutely no problems with the free wi-fi.
Overall for the price we paid for a 2 bedroom room Minto represented very good value. I would have no hesitation with regards to recommending this hostel to others. If we needed to stay in this area again we would be happy to stay at Minto.

Room Tip: Room 8 had a big fridge and comfortable bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Minto Colonial Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minto Colonial Hostel

Address: 61 Gladstone Rd | Highgate Hill, Brisbane, Queensland 4051, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 99 Specialty lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minto is a delight to the senses. live in the colonial charm, feel the breezes on the veranda or chill out by the fire in the common room. The property exudes a special ambiance. We at Minto are committed to providing clean, comfortable accommodation approaching guest house quality. Other features include a fully equipped huge Chefs kitchen & fast wireless Internet (at no extra cost). A stay at Minto will ensure a quiet, pleasant, harmonious place to stay and study in peace. 14 mins walk from the excitement of some of Brisbane's best nightlife, 6 mins walk to south bank rail station and you can walk to the convention centre and CBD also, 50 meters to the bus & 100 m to convenience stores. The on-site caretakers Don or Nathan Bass are available to facilitate pleasant day to day operations. FREE wireless Internet, unlimited use of our skype phone to call overseas at a small daily rental charge, everything you need in the kitchen, and bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and TripOnline SA so you can book your Minto Colonial Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minto Colonial Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.