We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Brisbane Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Brisbane Airport to your Saves list
Novotel Brisbane Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 - 8 The Circuit | Brisbane Airport, Brisbane, Queensland 4007, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We decided to stay here to avoid the worry of getting to the airport on time the next day. Check-in was cordial and the room was clean. The pool is of a lap kind but has windows which gives the feel of looking into a fish tank (the kids took advantage of this). We booked in for dinner at Catalina and the level service was hit and miss. The table was crowded and the restaurant supervisor was of no help. The bread came out with the entrees and if i didn't say something to him I'm sure he would have left the meals somewhere else. I found him rude and unhelpful. I had to get our drinks from the bar as the waitress spent most of her time looking up into the air. I had the OP Rib for main and it was grisly and tough but the wait staff didn't seem to concerned about it. Maybe it's a common occurrence. However, breakfast was good and the staff courteous in the morning.

I have now stayed at every Novotel in Queensland and while this wasn't the worst one and comes 2nd last. More than likely I won't bother returning for another round.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the fifth floor as the rooms have a higher ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBrisbane, General Manager at Novotel Brisbane Airport, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear LiveCairns,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

I’m pleased we were able to provide a convenient stay and ensure you made your flight on time. However I’m very disappointed to read of your restaurant experience. Please rest assured that your comments have been shared with our Food & Beverage Manager and addressed to prevent future occurrences.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you better on a future occasion.

Best Regards,

Alex Penklis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    538
    184
    45
    17
See reviews for
361
455
167
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Our stay at the Novotel was very enjoyable.
Booking in was a breeze and the reception staff were professional.
The room was quite large, nicely presented and very clean.
We wandered down to the Bar/Restaurant area which was well laid out the bar tender was cheerful and a bit cheeky ( as a bar tender should be) but not intrusive.
We slept well in the very comfortable bed.
The breakfast buffet was good with a reasonable selection but we didn't care for the manner of the lady that took our room number.
In summary this is a fairly expensive hotel but is worth what you pay for it.
We would stay again happily.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBrisbane, General Manager at Novotel Brisbane Airport, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear ThomKatz,

Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I’m delighted to see you had a very enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you for your feedback about our bar staff and reception team members; we have shared your comments for encouragement.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back in future.

Kind Regards,

Alex Penklis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Ideal location for overnight stay between flight. Got in after a long flight from London, great check in staff very helpful. Ordered room service dinner, great food burger was best in a long time. Well stocked mini bar, everything you need in the room - even used pillow menu . Breakfast buffet good, lots of choice, freshly cooked, really like pancake machine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBrisbane, General Manager at Novotel Brisbane Airport, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Sdhd,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Novotel Brisbane Airport.

I hope you had a great trip to Australia and am pleased we were able to provide a comfortable stopover after your long flight. I have shared your comment about our burgers and breakfast in Catalina Restaurant with our Executive Chef

We hope you have the opportunity to visit Australia again.

Kind Regards,

Alex Penklis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We only stayed one night at the Novotel, however, the hotel room was of a modern design, comfortable and quiet. We were pleased by the service from the friendly, helpful staff. The hotel is conveniently located close to (read: walkable distance) to restaurants (ie Coffee Club, etc), Woolworth’s (groceries), DFO (outlet) shopping centre and of course, it’s just a few minutes drive from the airport (about 5km). There were a few business meetings going on at the nearby restaurants. We appreciated the fact that there was a blow dryer, an ironing board and an iron available within the room. The bed was all right, but the pillows were too soft. A good thing is that the hotel is able to hold your baggage if you tell them at checkout that your flight is later during the day, which is super convenient if you want to do a bit of shopping at the DFO (which can take several hours), and is just a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Holding your luggage is free of charge. If you have a car, however, it will cost $15 to park. And beware of the super sharp corner just before entering the underground parking lot!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBrisbane, General Manager at Novotel Brisbane Airport, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor.com User,

Thanks for taking the time to write your comprehensive review of our hotel.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and I thoroughly enjoyed reading your comments. Great to see we were able to provide a convenient option for you before your flight.

We hope you have the chance to stay again.

Kind Regards,

Alex Penklis
General Manager

P.S. next time ask about our pillow menu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed overnight for convenience and was again very impressed with both courtesy and professional conduct displayed by staff.I did not realise this was my fifth stay and was pleasantly surprised with a complimentary drink delivered to my door with this acknowledgement. Food is also very good. I have always thought that room rates are a little expensive but the overall quality of the hotel, staff and services makes up for it.
Stayed December 2012 overnight travelling solo on business.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBrisbane, General Manager at Novotel Brisbane Airport, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear GregFD,

Many thanks for your review of Novotel Brisbane Airport.

I was delighted to read your wonderful comments of the professionalism of our team. We work hard to provide service that is second to none and it’s great to have this recognized by a regular guest such as yourself.

We look forward to your next stay at the hotel.

Best Regards,

Alex Penklis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Have stayed here on many occasions. DFO shopping within walking distance as well as supermarket, pharmacy, deli and takeaway food outlets throughout the day. Great rooftop pool and little to no outside noise although very close to the airport. They always get the bill right which is a great bonus on checkout. Restaurant is fine but a bit limited in options for a longer stay. Staff are always polite and obliging.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBrisbane, General Manager at Novotel Brisbane Airport, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Travellergirlies,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us many times!

Great to see you have taken advantage of our location adjacent to DFO and our rooftop swimming pool. I have shared your feedback amongst our team.

We look forward to seeing you again next time.

Kind Regards,

Alex Penklis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

If you are driving rather hard to find if you are unfamiliar with layout of roads around Brisbane airport. Otherwise would recommend. Clean, spacious room. Efficient service and friendly staff. Very close to Brisbane airport, quiet locality.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBrisbane, General Manager at Novotel Brisbane Airport, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor.com User,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel.

Your recommendation of our hotel is greatly appreciate and I’m delighted you found our staff efficient and friendly.

I'm sorry to hear you had difficulty finding the hotel. For the best directions we suggest calling our concierge team prior to your arrival on 07 3175 3100.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in future.

Kind Regards,

Alex Penklis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Brisbane Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Brisbane Airport

Address: 6 - 8 The Circuit | Brisbane Airport, Brisbane, Queensland 4007, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#15 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#18 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#27 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Brisbane Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally positioned as the only accommodation available within the Brisbane Airport precinct, the property is conveniently located in between the Gateway Arterial roads and adjacent to the DFO Shopping Centre. Featuring 157 modern rooms and suites, state of the art conference facilities, restaurant and bar, 24 hour reception and room service, and a large rooftop heated swimming pool. All rooms are stylish and tastefully decorated, offer air conditioning, work desk, mini bar, tea and coffee making facilities and LCD TV. Catalina Restaurant and Bar serves contemporary Australian cuisine and features a stylish bar with separate lounge area. For your relaxation the hotel offers a massage service, gymnasium overlooking the action of the airport, sauna and magnificent roof top relaxation terrace with glass sided lap pool. Explore the nearby attractions like the excitement of Eagle Farm and Doomben Race Courses, the city’s grandest extravaganzas at the Brisbane Entertainment Centre and the exclusive dining and shopping precinct at Portside Wharf and Cruise Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Booking.com so you can book your Novotel Brisbane Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Brisbane Airport Hotel Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Brisbane Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.