We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Owners?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Aroy

Thai Aroy
172 Clarence Road | Shop 4, Brisbane, Queensland 4068, Australia
+61 33713729
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #609 of 3,102 Restaurants in Brisbane
Price range: $11 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Family Fare, cuisine.name.191
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
North Mackay, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“New Owners?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I can only assume that Thai Aroy has new management. We used to come here for good authentic and reasonably priced Thai Food. How things can change. Our last visit was in September and the food-standard had deteriorated considerably. The meat in the Curries was of a very low quality and almost like leather. Pity to see this restaurant going the same trend as many to save on quality. Will not come back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knight K, Guest Relations Manager at Thai Aroy, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hi Hans,

We are still under the same management and this have been so for the last 7-8 years. I am very sorry to hear that you have recently had a bad experience at Thai Aroy Restaurant. We were made aware by a couple of customers about this issue and we can ensure you that as of November 2013, this issue has been fixed.

So if you would give us another chance in the future, we will be sure to not disappoint you again.

If there are any further concerns or potential improvements you'd like to let the Thai Aroy Restaurant management knows, then please feel free to contact us at knight.k@thaiaroy.com.au

Kind Regards,

Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Really awful food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

I'm sorry to say .. We had a meal here last Wednesday and it really was awful. The restaurant wasn't clean . Our ice teas weren't even chilled. Salt n pepper calamari was inedible. Fish cakes were like rubber. The chicken curry sauce was just awful. We were from interstate and love going to new restaurants and I've never felt the need to write a bad review. I'm easy to please and can always find something positive. This is the exception . The reason I'm writing this review is so that any families don't get caught making the trip and wasting their money . I've never had such bad food.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knight K, Guest Relations Manager at Thai Aroy, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hi Chewbaccu,

I am very sorry to hear that you have recently had a bad experience at Thai Aroy Restaurant. We have been made aware of the drop of our food quality. Since then we have identified the issues and improve the quality assurance. I can assure you that as of November 2013, this issue has been fixed and we are being praised again on our quality.

Should you be willing to give us another chance in the future, we will be sure to not disappoint you again.

If there are any further concerns or potential improvements you'd like to let the Thai Aroy Restaurant management knows, then please feel free to contact us at knight.k@thaiaroy.com.au

Kind Regards,

Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good food great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We eat at 'Thai Aroy' on a regular basis and enjoy good quality food served by great staff. The menu has enough options to please most palates and the food is served quickly with a smile. Prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knight K, Guest Relations Manager at Thai Aroy, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thanks very much for your kind words, deejay17.

We have recently redecorated the restaurant and added a few more items to the menu, so we should now have more than enough options to please :)

Thanks again for your kind words and we will try our best to ensure our restaurant quality is kept high for the years to come.

Kind Regards,

Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Simple, authentic and relaxed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

My family and I eat here a couple times a month when no one feels likes cooking. Simple and non-pretentious the friendly staff serve us quickly and the food is fresh and satisfying.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tasty Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

My partner and I ate here using one of the online vouchers.
The service was great, they showed us as much attention as the other customers, the food was great!!!

they have a delicious Massaman curry, it was so gooood. Best massaman i've had in a while!!!

Will definitely go back without a voucher, the menu prices were cheap too!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Aroy also viewed

 
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to Thai Aroy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Aroy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.