We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tibetan Kitchen - West End

Tibetan Kitchen - West End
1/59 Hardgrave Road, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
(07) 3844 7355
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #232 of 2,980 Restaurants in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Tibetan
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

wow! wow! wow! what a great food to enjoy your evening with your loved ones.. the momos was absulately beautiful and the chicken wings was awesome which we ordered for our entrees..as for mains we ordered jhinge macha, lamb vindaloo,paneer saag and meatballs...loved the flavour in each different.. meal very tasty ...i am gonna bring my work collegeaue here for my birthday party..and i would say the custumer service was awesome..very friendly and welcomming..definately going back..

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    16
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“TOP NOTCH TIBETAN”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I bought 2 vouchers for a 3 course meal for 4 people and we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner! Being a Monday night it was quiet at first but soon filled up. We were even lucky enough to park underneath the restaurant! The staff were very friendly and helpful and brought more water and rice when it ran out ( also an ice bucket for our wine - $2.50 corkage per person ). The Sherpa bread was a delicious appetiser and the mixed entree was very tasty. The main meals could be ordered mild, medium or hot and were accompanied by a large bowl of rice. This was followed by some Chai tea and dessert. I especially would recommend the creme brûlée... All in all it was a very enjoyable night and we will look forward to going there again : )

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Consistently good food, reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is a great restaurant in a busy strip of eateries in West End. We love their interesting dishes - momos and tofu curries are favourites, as well as some of the platters, which are a complete and very filling meal. There is a wide range of interesting vegetarian (and a number of vegan) options. Staff are happy to point out which meals are vegan. Well worth a visit.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hit & Miss...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Walked in on a quiet night with a couple of tables occupied. We got seated immediately. The decor was blue and yellow theme with bench table seats covered with carpets. Had suburbia feel to it.

We had a good look at the menu and were ready to order but the waitress didn't even come back with some water. We were getting thirsty. We got her attention & ordered mixed entrees for 3 people, Sherpa and Tibetan breads and Sherpa chicken and pokalu chicken for mains.

The entrees had a good mix of food. The momo was filled with ground beef, was nice. Tandoor wings had good flavours. Spring rolls were filled with veggies and some spices, quite different from the Chinese version. The potato patties were the less impressive. They were bland, feels like they've forgotten to put salt. Pakora were crispy, tasted yummy. Then our breads came but not the curries. Sherpa bread was like pizza - chutney & cheese on top. Tasted really good. Tibetan bread had similar filling but the bread was like Turkish bread & it came out like sandwiches. We didn't realised that these breads weren't for dipping for the curry sauce. The Sherpa chicken were good but not very spicy at all even though we asked for medium. I like how the marry Indian and Chinese food together - they use Chinese black fungus in their dishes. The pokalu chicken which was tandoori chicken with creamy mushroom sauce was disappointing. The chicken tasted like yesterday's chicken which had been reheated, they were dry & tasteless. The sauce was bland & couldn't really see the mushroom.

We ended up paying ~ $30 each which was expensive considering what we got - quality as well as the type of restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The food was unique and delicious, the staff were friendly and the atmosphere very nice. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tibetan Kitchen - West End also viewed

Brisbane, Queensland
Brisbane, Queensland
 
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to Tibetan Kitchen - West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tibetan Kitchen - West End, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.