We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic, cheap way to see Brisbane if you only have a couple of hours” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CityCat Ferry

CityCat Ferry
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 280 things to do in Brisbane
Attraction details
australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A fantastic, cheap way to see Brisbane if you only have a couple of hours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

From a recommendation we took the ferry along the river from Toowong to South Bank. The person selling tickets on the ferry was really helpful. She recommended switching to the Red, free ferry to go under the Story Bridge to Sydney Point. There we swapped back to the City Cat for a beautiful trip back to Toowong. A few hours of fantastic sight-seeing for a few dollars. What more could you ask?

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    945
    443
    32
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice and inexpensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

As newcomers to Brisbane, the river cat ferry was a pleasant surprise. We took a late afternoon ride to the furthest stop and back, the sunset on the river and the city lights made this trip quite memorable

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“2.5 hour river cruise around Brisbane”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

For just 5 Aus$ you can have a 2 and a half hour river cruise of Brisbane on the City Cat Ferry. Jump on at any of the stops in town and head up towards the harbour and return past the city centre and then head down towards the University. Some great views from the river. Sit right upfront for good camera shots.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A Great Way to See Brisbane”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had a few hours to spend in Brisbane upon arriving from Gold Coast before catching our late late night flight back home. Based on advice from fellow forumers, I chose the CityCat to get a quick overview of Brisbane and I am glad I did so. It was so enjoyable to pass through some of the nicest areas of the city cruising the river. We passed under the Story Bridge and got to see a group of people walking over the steel structure! I also envy those who have houses along the river with their own private water front. We took a took a round trip right until the University of Brisbane, stopping at the Southbank Park enroute, before returning back to Brett's wharf where I had parked my car. We prefered to spend most of the time on the open deck rather than inside and look around. A very enjoyable ride indeed!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jervis Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Again most enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We visited Brisbane with friends for a weekend to spend time with our daughters. We arranged for our trip to coincide with the PowerHouse New Farm Markets. We caught the CityCat Ferry from Hawthorne over to New Farm. After the markets we went for a longer City Cat ride further along the Brisbane River. We went past Towong to the Brisbane University then returned to Hawthorne. Beautiful sunny day, most enjoyable.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CityCat Ferry also viewed

 

Been to CityCat Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CityCat Ferry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.