We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top marks for service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Terrace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
Mantra Terrace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   52 Astor Terrace | Spring Hill, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Diamant Hotel Brisbane)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
York, UK
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Top marks for service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed twice at either end of a holiday and it was nice to be recognised on our return. Two outstanding features were the comfort of the bed and bedding and the helpfulness of the staff. We had been warned that the room would be small but this was not a problem. Location was good, though a bit of a pull up the hill from the quayside after a good meal. Minor maintenance matters dealt with quickly.

Would certainly use again and try other hotels in the group.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotel, Front Office Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear flipper2,

Thank you for your lovely review of Diamant Hotel Brisbane from your recent stay.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the team so helpful. I agree that the beds are wonderful, and this is due to the extra comfortable mattress toppers on all our beds. Please feel free to contact us if you would like to purchase it for your home.

I was particularly pleased that you found the team to be so helpful and welcoming. Guest service is at the heart of everything we do at Diamant Brisbane, so the team are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. You will find the same dedication to service in all our 8Hotels around Australia, Bali, Paris and Fiji.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Diamant Hotel when you next visit Brisbane.

Warmest Regards
Tamara Carter
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    97
    51
    13
    18
See reviews for
8
91
23
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Diamant Hotel is in Astor Terrace, a few streets behind Central Station. The location is quiet with not much happening in this part of Spring Hill. The first two nights we stayed in a small standard room, and then opted to upgrade to the "suite" which had two arm chairs for a lounge area, a king size bed and a small kitchen. There is no microwave or oven, just a couple of hotplates and not a lot of crockery and cutlery The bed was good, but being king sized there wasn't enough room to open the cupboard! The hotel is funky looking with interesting wall papers on each floor. There is a restaurant/bar on the ground floor - the O Bar which is open 7 days with breakfast and coffee til 11 most days and dinner 6 nights. The food is quite good, good variety of dishes. The hotel advertises room service which is provided by the ground floor restaurant - however when we called one night to order a meal we were advised, unbeknown to the hotel which advised us to call them, there was a private function in the bar and they were not serving room service. This meant a trek out to find a restaurant late at night. Seems good for solo business travellers, and the location is ok - there are not a lot of eateries etc in close vicinity. Reception staff were generally helpful and friendly. Probably wouldn't stay again - was a tad expensive for the size of the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotel, Front Office Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Julia2600,

Thank you for choosing Diamant Hotel for your recent Brisbane visit and taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate this feedback as we use it to improve the facilities and the services we offer our guests.

We are delighted that you found the team to be helpful and friendly, and that you liked the decor of the hotel.

I have shared your feedback regarding OBar & Restaurant with the Manager. I can assure you that this has been addressed with priority. We are also conveniently located short walking distance from Eagle Street Pier with its wonderful riverside restaurants. Our Reception team also has a listing of nearby restaurants that offer delivery to the hotel.

Again, we greatly appreciate your time and hope to welcome you back to Diamant Hotel when you next visit Brisbane.

Warm Regards
Tamara Carter
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Diamant Hotels (and other 8 Hotels) are my stay of choice when traveling - this was my first time in the Brisbane Hotel and it was a little disappointing in comparison to the likes of Canberra and Melbourne. The location isn't great - parking is a little muddled and as I was on the 3rd floor, noise is a real issue: both from outside and other guests. There is no real room service and the restaurant attached wasn't open when I arrived on a Sunday evening.

The staff were brilliant (as always) but if you like to be within easy walking distance of cafes, restaurants and other amenities, I'd recommend the Hilton Brisbane - it's where I'll be going back to on my next trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotel, Front Office Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Serenity M,

Thank you for choosing Diamant Hotel Brisbane and taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate that 8Hotels are your hotel of choice, however I am disappointed that your expectations were not met on this occasion. Room Service is available for dinner from Monday to Saturday, and our Reception team have a list of alternative dining options available, including some options at Eagle Street Pier which is easy walking distance from the hotel.

Ultimately, exceeding our guests expectations is our primary focus and we are very sorry that your experience with us did not reach our goal. I have followed up your comments as a priority, as we always endeavor to learn from each guest experience.

If we are given the opportunity to serve you again we ensure as always our utmost effort and genuine intention.

Kind regards
Tamara Carter
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Faz, on your reception desk, is a credit to your hotel. She was so professional, had local knowledge, helpful and all round excellent customer service. As a shop window for your organisation you will go places. She is on the ball. Give Faz our best she deserves it. Jim & Bernadette Watson.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotel, Front Office Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Mr & Mrs Watson,

Thank you for taking the time to post a TripAdvisor review of your recent Diamant Hotel Brisbane stay.

I am delighted that Faz on our Front Desk, was able to assist you during your stay. I agree that she demonstrates genuine care and attention to all guests. She is an excellent example of the 8Hotels philosophy of providing excellent guest service.

We greatly appreciate your comments Mr & Mrs Watson, and look forward to welcoming you back to Diamant Hotel when you next visit Brisbane.

Warm regards
Tamara Carter
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Booked the Diamant Brisbane having stayed at another 8Hotels property in Sydney previously.
Checked in at 11 pm and received a friendly Aussie welcome. Staff were excellent throughout my stay, remembering my name and even moving me to a room with a balcony for the last two nights of my stay. Rooms were very clean and nicely decorated with a smart crisp finish. Location is excellent in Astor Tce just a short walk in either direction to Queen Street or Fortitude Valley. Free Wifi was a bonus. Would definitely recommend Diamant to friends visiting Brissy.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotel, Front Office Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear GB-QT,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Diamant Hotel Brisbane and have taken the time to write such a lovely review on TripAdvisor.

It is lovely to read that you found our location on quiet, leafy Astor Terrace so convenient for both the CBD and Fortitude Valley. I was particularly pleased that you found the team to be so friendly and helpful right from the friendly 'Aussie Welcome' on arrival and throughout your stay. I have passed your comments to the team who are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay.

The complimentary WiFi is a wonderful bonus, and don't forget we offer complimentary gym access to nearby Fitness First.

Thank you again for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back not only to Diamant Brisbane, but to our other 8Hotels properties throughout Australia, along with properties in Bali, Paris and Fiji!

Warm Regards
Tamara Carter
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed here with my fiancé and had a wonderful time.
The staff at reception were very friendly and I was pleased with the room and welcome bottle of organic wine!
The bed was by far the best I have ever slept in! And I woke up feeling really refreshed and great.
Definitely will be staying here again :)
Thank you diamant for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Trappedreams,

Thank you for choosing the Diamant Hotel Brisbane and for taking the time to post such a positive review of your recent stay at the hotel.

I am delighted to read that you found the staff to be very friendly and that you and your fiancé had such an enjoyable experience. Our guest service is extremely important to us and I am very pleased to know you received the standard of service that we strive for at the Diamant Hotel.

Our beds are indeed extremely comfortable and this is primarily due to the mattress toppers we have on all the beds. We would be delighted to assist in organising the purchase when and if you ever need it for your home.

Thank you kindly for your time. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Diamant Hotel when you next choose to visit Brisbane.

Kind Regards
Leah White
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloncurry, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Small room, huge bed - not complaining because that bed was excellent. Close to city and quite close to airport. Good shower, good TV, elegant style. Expensive dinner at the restaurant - but the food WAS impressive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotel, Front Office Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Geekgirl_8,

Thank you for choosing Diamant Hotel Brisbane and taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

I agree that the beds are lovely, and this is due to the extra comfortable mattress toppers we have on all the beds. Please feel free to contact us directly and we can assist with the purchase if you ever need it for your home.

I am delighted that you found the location convenient and enjoyed the facilities of the hotel including the rain water shower heads in all guest rooms. I have also shared your comments regarding your impressive dining experience in OBar & Restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Diamant Hotel when you next visit Brisbane.

Warmest Regards
Tamara Carter
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Terrace Hotel

Address: 52 Astor Terrace | Spring Hill, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Diamant Hotel Brisbane)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#42 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Terrace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience some excellent Spring Hill hospitality at O Bar and Restaurant. Next time youre looking for a Brisbane hotel, make a point of visiting Mantra Terrace Hotel. With its onsite bar and restaurant, you can enjoy a delicious cocktail if the mood takes you and dine in style without having to leave the hotel building. Room service is also available during O Bar and Restaurant hours. Visit the Valley to listen to great live music or a little fun and funky shopping. Fortitude Valley is just a pleasant stroll away and is home to some of Brisbanes coolest bars, al frescos and restaurants. With Central Station practically on your doorstep and the airport only 13 km away, you are never far from anything when you stay at Mantra Terrace Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Mantra Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamant Hotel Brisbane - By 8 Brisbane
Portal Hotel Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.