We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location just outside Brisbane city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kirribilli Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kirribilli Apartments to your Saves list
Kirribilli Apartments
150 Oxlade Drive, Brisbane, Queensland 4005, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Alameda, CA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Location just outside Brisbane city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This apartment had great views, and was super convenient to get to the downtown area. Only a few hundred meters from the CityCat, the city transportation ferry system, and you were at South Bank in less than 20 minutes on a fun boat ride. The apartment had a full kitchen, a master bedroom with walk-in closet, and bath room ensuite. There was a washer and dryer. The only complaint we had was that the dryer was very loud to run, and it made you want to shut the door to the bathroom/utility room it was located in, but the signage said if you shut the door it would set off the fire alarm. I did actually shut the door, and luckily no alarm ever went off.

This is a great place if you want convenient access to the city, yet would like to get away from the city at night for a comfortable home away from home experience. This place is great for families, and couples. There is a tennis court, pool, and spa. The pool is not heated, and the spa was only heated to about 38.5 degrees. For winter time, it wasn't hot enough for me and the kids, but we went in it anyway, and had a nice time.

The grounds are well kept, the staff is very polite and helpful, and the grocery store is about a 15 min walk or 7 min bus ride. And it every apartment includes a free garaged car park spot in the basement. Serviced once a week. Noise from other apartments was minimal, despite our apartment feeling a bit echoing.

All around good place to stay, and was enjoyable.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room for the best views and verandas. the corner rooms are slightly smaller, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    14
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
20
5
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed at these apartments three years ago and were keen to go back. We booked a few months in advance to be sure of not missing out. (Although the apartment block is large looking, I'm not sure how many units are actually holiday apartments so booking early is advisable)

THE APARTMENT
A 2BR, 2 bathroom unit was a good size for our family of 2 adults and 3 children under 5 years of age. The apartment has a long hallway, a large, well-equipped kitchen, a decent sized living room, and a reasonable sized balcony. The sliding door to the balcony can be locked to prevent unauthorised exit by the kiddies!

Our unit was 601 - It looked as if it had been recently renovated and was a pleasure to behold when we first walked in the door. And what an outlook! You can watch the sunrise from the kitchen, lounge or balcony - windows all around (All with blinds, if the sun is to bright for you!). From both bedrooms (the main bedroom has a small balcony), you can see the Storey Bridge light up at dusk.

Just one small gripe - there didn't seem to be as many condiments in the pantry as last time. I guess it is now considered unhygienic to leave partly used jars of sauce, spices, coffee, tea etc. behind, but last time we were appreciative of these little "finds".

The apartment managers are very security conscious - which is great, but don't be in a mad rush to get back to your apartment, as you have to use your FOB (a gadget on the apartment door key) to access the carpark, the lift, and the floor of your apartment.

THE LOCATION
Did I mention the word "ideal"?
Ideal for young families:

1. There's a small playground just out the back - more-or-less on the riverbank

2. The absolutely sensational New Farm Park is a long walk (15 minutes,) or short drive, up the road (free parking).

3. The "Sydney St" ferry terminal is a short walk down the pathway at the back of the apartments. The kids love taking a citycat ride (or two.. or twenty!)

Ideal for anyone!
1. The Brisbane river is real treat to look at these days - the citycats glide along regularly, ferries, rowers all add to the view.

2. There's a new, popular looking coffee shop just across from the front of Kirribilli Apartments but also many other choices of coffee shops and eateries in New Farm.

3. And what we Singaporeans found really helpful - the small shopping centre at Merthyr Rd (3 mins drive away) is open for extended hours 7 days a week)!

OVERALL
K. Apartments is a gem of a place to stay and enjoy some sightseeing in Brisbane, but don't tell too many people or we'll have to book many, many months in advance for our next trip!

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment on a high floor for better views. Ask for a corner apartment if you want the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I'm really torn in writing this review...Annette and her husband are lovely, very helpful and the perfect 'hosts'. We had room 806 which has the most amazing views. You can lie in the main bedroom and look at the Story Bridge lit up at night. The view from that bedroom is also really nice during the day. The balcony overlooking the Brisbane river is also very nice and quite relaxing. We didnt have enough time to use the pool or tennis court but it looked great. The big let down for us was the general state of the apartment. It is in need of a makeover. The paint work, carpet etc needs replacing. The 'shampoo holder' is rusty. If this was fixed you would have a truely amazing unit. As I said , the location is fantastic, Annette is wonderful......it could easily become a true 5 star unit.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view, its amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We like to stay in New Farm when we visit Brisbane and Kirribilli is now our "go to" place. Could only get in for one of two weeks this trip. It's true you get 2 beds and 2 baths for the price of a single. The "public areas" are therefore bigger than most 1 bedroom units which is a big plus! We did not use the 2nd room's beds and thus were not charged extra (see other review). The washer is in the 2nd bathroom so there was no problem using both bathrooms. (We were only given towels for we 2 people). Parking is good, the view is really great, along with the river walk and the River Cat nearby. Best of all is the funky Merthyr Steet Bowls Club a short walk away for a casual river front meal (and a beer). Across the street is a terffic coffee bar/small cafe.

Book early!

Room Tip: Great for mature couples and families. Further from nightlife for the younger traveller. 5th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed for two nights before heading further north. Annette was very helpful with information about the apartment and nearby services. Great river outlook and close to CityCat ferry service. The apartment decor was older, but the apartment was clean and fully self-contained. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor for the view. If you have booked a 1 bedroom apartment don't use the seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Be aware that the whole building houses only 2 bedroom apartments so if you book a 1 bedroom you still get a 2 and will be hit with an extra cleaning charge if you use the second bedroom.
We spent over $3,000 here on a recent stay and were hit with this extra fee for cleaning upon check out because we had used the bed in the apartment that THEY chose to put us in............................!!
This charge is not written or noted anywhere, it is not on their website and they don't tell you this when you check in so be careful!!

Because of this 'extra' charge we won't stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annette M, Manager at Kirribilli Apartments, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
We only have 2 bedroom apartments and not all have locked doors to the second bedroom as they are all privately owned. We expect guests to use only the one bedroom if they have only booked a one bedroom. At no time do we tell the guest that the second bedroom can be used if a one bedroom booking has been made.. If it is used at all, we charge for only the nights that it is used. Owners have a higher cleaning charge if the second bedroom is used.
I might add that this has occurred only twice in the 14 months that I have been the onsite manager at this complex.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Have stayed at here previously but some years ago. Very large apartments big rooms & well appointed kitchen. Great riverside location with uniterrupted views and convenient access to Rivercat transport for 5 minute trip to closest city wharf. 10 minutes by taxi to the city. Home delivery service available from nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kirribilli Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirribilli Apartments

Address: 150 Oxlade Drive, Brisbane, Queensland 4005, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Kirribilli Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kirribilli Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.