We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Naracoopa Bed & Breakfast & Pavilion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Naracoopa Bed & Breakfast & Pavilion to your Saves list
Naracoopa Bed & Breakfast & Pavilion
99 Yundah Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4017, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 63 Brisbane B&B and Inns
Rutland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A fantastic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Naracoopa. The Pavilion was all we wanted: a peaceful oasis. Clean, stylish and modern and very well equipped with a comfortable bed. Having had several encounters with mosquitos at other places it was great to be able to close the flyscreen and to be in an insect-free zone! We would recommend some protection when sitting on the deck though! Grace and David were lovely - a pleasure to talk to. The location was perfect. Lot's of fine Queenslanders all around. A choice of spots to be by the water - turn right and you are at Shorncliffe near the yacht club, there's a rocky path hat you can follow takes you round to Shorncliffe pier if you don't want to walk on the road, or turn left out of Naracoopa and you are in Sandgate: more beach and shops. Then of course you can catch a train into the city which we did a couple of times. Definitely recommend it and hope to go back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    1
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
30
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We booked at Naracoopa for the historic architecture and the signature breakfast. What we got was a plywood shack down the back yard with eggs and bread… and let’s not forget the wack in the head. At the risk of sounding negative, the place was clean and well equipped.
We arrived to find the place closed, so we rang and needed to return 20 minutes later. We went to the local pub and had a drink which was OK… a social experiment at least.
On meeting our host, we were ushered under the house down through a less than legal height area. If you are over 5’ 7” you need a room upstairs in the house. I wacked my head…silly me for not reading the signs in the dark (unfortunately the night was not working).
We expressed a desire to see the house inside, but that didn’t happen. That’s what you get being the peasants down the back of the yard.
We did have a relaxing stay, which was one of our goals. I do not want to discourage anyone from visiting Naracoopa, my only suggestion is that you make it very clear what you are looking for.
Some of you might enjoy a wack in the head.

Room Tip: if your priority is privacy go for the shack down the back yard. if you want to experience Naracoopa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
narabnb, Owner at Naracoopa Bed & Breakfast & Pavilion, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
We are so sorry that our beuatiful Garden Pavilion was not what you were expecting. Unfortunately, while we were away on an extended overseas holiday, our manager was at Naracoopa. I'm sure she did, to the best of her ability, ensure your stay was a comfortable one, but unfortunately sometimes miscommunication causes issues, and in your case the room you requested was not available. We will take on board your comments about the ligthing for entry to the Pavilion as well as issues about the hot water ASAP so that others are not inconvenienced. In the meantime, we would like to offer you and your partner a free night at Naracoopa in our traditonal B&B room with our gourmet breakfast in the dining room, as we want to ensure you are able to experience the evening you were looking for. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you two experieinced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

I stayed in this B&B just for 1 night in October as a base for a whalewatching trip in Redcliffe. What a gem! A historic house, beautifully restored, 2 rooms only (there is a separate pavillion in the garden). I wished I stayed longer. My room and the shared space (living room) are simply perfect, with lots of attention to detail. Situated in a tranquil area, short walk from the beach.
Breakfast was abundant and beautifully presented.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Marys, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We stayed at the Naracoopa Bed and Breakfast during the beginning of September. I would have to say we really made a great choice. I first thought about staying in Brisbane but glad I changed my mind and found this little gem.
The bed and breakfast is so easy to get to. We arrived by plane and then took the train right from the airport to the Naracoopa. The walk is super short from the train station so there really never was a need to ever want a car.
What I also loved about this place is the location. The ocean is from many directions, the restaurants are abundant, walking paths along the ocean for miles; it was everything we could ask for in a bed a breakfast.
The Naracoopa Bed and Breakfast is a heritage house and done very tastefully. We even had our own entrance to come in and out of. There was also a heater in our room for those cooler nights in Australia.
I really have no complaints about our stay. I have travelled to many places and I would have to say this is one bed and breakfast I really enjoyed because of all of it's amenties. I really would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone. It has a lot to offer.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Victoria
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We travelled to Brisbane for a mini-family reunion, but wanted some place we could retreat to and we couldn't have found a better place. It is beautifully appointed in an older relatively untouched area of Brisbane that is quiet and classy. Beautifully appointed, Naracoopa was a welcome respite. The acting manager, Karla, was a jewel - friendly, helpful and vailable, but never intrusive.

Room Tip: All the rooms are worthy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kangaroo Valley, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Thanks to Grace & David for their hospitality.We really needed some R&R,we were very spoilt in the Pavilion with wonderful fresh fruit platters daily.Naracoopa is close to the great boardwalk along the beach,& many local eateries.We have stayed in a lot of 5star hotels around the world,they don't compare to the privacy,comfort or service we received whilst staying at Naracoopa.
Our stay was 6 days....& we weren't in a hurray to go home.Again thank you ...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011 via mobile

We stayed in the Pavillion, a self contained unit out the back. It was lovely. Comfy bed. Full kitchen. Hosts were lovely. Being self contained they left us to ourselves which is what we wanted. Recommend highly.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Naracoopa Bed & Breakfast & Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naracoopa Bed & Breakfast & Pavilion

Address: 99 Yundah Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4017, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naracoopa is all about Location, Luxury and Tranquillity. This perfect, serene getaway in Shorncliffe, a Northern suburb of Brisbane, is bordered by the natural beauty of Moreton Bay, Sandgate Foreshores and Boondall Wetlands. Naracoopa Bed & Breakfast & Pavilion offers luxury, gracious hospitality and charm in 4 star accommodation. Enjoy the breezes of beautiful Shorncliffe, your seaside destination where comfort is our priority.Luxury accommodation provides 2 tastefully appointed B&B bedrooms, or 1 B&B room and 1 Two bedroom B&B suite, individually designer decorated with antiques, fine linens, private ensuites, queen size bed, refrigerator, HD LCD TV, free wireless broadband, reverse cycle air, tea & coffee making facilities and a private outdoor verandah. Take pleasure in sumptuous breakfasts, sunlight through the Victorian bay windows, gourmet specials, homemade bread and jams….…An invitation to unwind in style!The Pavilion is the new contemporary addition for the modern traveller who needs more space and comfort for an extended stay. It includes all the guest amenities that the B&B offer, but in the Pavilion, luxury is in the details! Provided for your comfort is a fully equipped stainless steel kitchenette, superbly appointed lounge and bedroom with quality furnishings throughout, wireless broadband for the in touch traveller, Foxtel digital, DVD/CD surround sound and a private outdoor deck just steps away from the luxurious hot outdoor spa. Breakfast baskets can be requested....Indulge yourself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Naracoopa Bed & Breakfast & Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naracoopa Bed & Breakfast & Pavilion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.