We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for sports trips/budget conscious” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Q Resorts Gabba Central Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Q Resorts Gabba Central Apartments to your Saves list
Q Resorts Gabba Central Apartments
4.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   803 Stanley Street | Woolloongabba, Brisbane, Queensland 4102, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Perfect for sports trips/budget conscious”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I agree with Jayjay D - this facility is designed to service groups or individuals on football/sports trips at the GABBA stadium across the road, and would be perfect for that kind of thing- or budget conscious travelers. It's nothing flash, but adequate as a place to stop. Could summarise by saying the place has obviously seen it's fair share of people traffic.
My husband and I booked a 1 bedroom apartment and were allocated a room on the 6th floor.
The suite consisted of a open plan kitchen (oven, stove top, microwave, full size fridge/freezer (bonus!) and dishwasher) 6 seater dining table, lounge with sofa (which probably pulled out to a bed), 2 chairs, a coffee table, TV and stereo. The bedroom was off the lounge with roller doors which could be closed to separate the 2. There was a balcony with a little 2 seater table & chairs and a drying rack which came in very handy. The bathroom with vanity, shower over the bath, and then laundry with washing machine, dryer and iron behind shutter doors. Separate toilet. 2 air conditioning units - 1 in the lounge and 1 in the bedroom. So the room was well equip, which served us well as we were there on a 6 night stay. Our 1st impressions were that our room was quite dirty. The carpet in the lounge was badly marked and stained and the walls around the entire unit were filthy with marks and stains. Felt like the place needed a good wipe! Some of the drinking glasses were chipped, and the dishes needed a good clean. But we had got the room at a very reasonable rate, especially considering it was right over Christmas, so we looked past that and accepted it wasn't the Ritz or the Hilton! The apartments are located very conveniently above a complex in which you will find a coffee shop, money machine (ATM), supermarket for all your supplies, bottle shop/liquor store, bakery, Nando's, Pub, Tobacconist, gym, tanning salon etc. Also directly across the road is a bus station and it's only 3-4 stops to the central city. So you can easily access everything you may need. Downsides: The elevator for the building is painfully slow - so don't try to come or go anywhere in a hurry! The shower is awkward for normal-tall people as the shower head is mounted very low so you have to crouch or bend to get your hair wet. Also the holes for the water are very fine so the water is under extreme pressure and comes out hitting your skin like needles. Normally my husband LOVES high pressure showers but even he found this painful and we could only shower at half pressure water strength. All in all showering wasn't a comfortable or pleasant experience.
Upsides: Very reasonable rates. Accessible to everything you need including transport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    21
    22
    16
    11
See reviews for
12
24
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I Stayed here for the New Years weekend, in a 1 bedroom apartment for 4 nights and I found the apartment to be great room 178B. there is a sub kitchen with a gas stove, medium bar fridge, microwave, toaster, 2 of most kitchen utensils , plates etc.., Washing machine and dryer. The en-suite was great all new, the shower had excellent pressure just missing the soap dish in the shower, it didn't matter the was a portable soap dish. The Bed was two beds put together, it was comfy, the pillows were comfy, there were 2 windows (that could be opened) 1 facing other peoples balconies, and another facing another wing of the complex as well as a clearance of view towards the city (but you need to be higher to view the city). 2 slight issues Air conditioner a bit noisy at night its a "no named brand air conditioner" with a toy remote control and a small tiny winy LCD HD (38cm) tv that cannot be appreciated in such a room, it needed to be 66cm+ the tv had analog channels and some foxtel channels but no Digital channels as the TV was not Digital TV compatible but all was forgiven when the room came with a Micro Hifi FM stereo and DVD player. On Level 7 contains the small lap pool 1.8M deep , on pool deck it had a view towards the BCG, Mt Gravatt and the City, The swimming pool is coolish it has glass windows under the water area facing the Corner of Main road and Stanley St a very nice view under water, there is a BBQ area on the pool area and a Gym with lots of equipment on level 6 with a balcony facing the same BCG and City , with a cold fountain to drink from, sauna and there is a cinema room which could be booked for a time slot (apparently I was told a Projector and DVD player is in that room). The apartments have a very slow lift number 6 it is the slowest lift in the world, you could walk around the block and the lift would still be deciding which level it wants, once you get into the tiny winy lift no6 the lift picks up pace tip use Lift No7 instead. Gabba apartments is 3 mins on Ground level to BCG and the Gabba Translink Bus Terminal (Zone 2)., 20mins walk to Park Road station(Zone 2) if you want to go to the Gold Coast. Apartments located in a Great location Coles supermarket in the complex, there is a bakery, Nandos, Coffee shop, Commercial Gym, the Chemist is closed down, Thai Restaurant across the road, Subway, McDonalds, late night Supermarket is 5 or so mins up Main Street towards Kangaroo Point. The Newsagent is up Stanley street, The Chalk Hotel is next to the Newsagent, The Entry to the M1 is next to the Chalk, Mater Hospital and (Zone 1) Translink Bus + City Cycle Station is about 15-20 minutes walk up Stanley Street. Will definitely stay in this modern establishment next time, I did notice some riffraff hanging about wanting to have an argument with me and other clients on New years eve afternoon in the public court yard area I hope this was a once off.

Room Tip: Bring a DVD or go to JB and buy a DVD movie to watch at the cinema, I wish i was told this before
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Booked an apartment at the last minute as I needed a medium priced room near Southbank. Friendly staff, good location and very handy to have a Coles nearby. Room was reasonably clean (a/c vents really need cleaning though) and had basic kitchen stuff. I was surprised to find that there were no bed-side lamps or anything other than the main room light. No pictures on the wall. Nowhere to put clothes. Basically I think it's designed to be football-trip proof. Nothing to break or take!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces away from the main road running past the GABBA.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I checked in after hours to the Gabba Apartments, and was amazed by how easy it was to do and get all our hotel information. We parked the car and went up to our apartment. We had booked a 1 bedroom apartment and that is what we got. Had alot of room, great sized bed and lounge room with all the comforts you would expect to have at home. The next few days of our stay we always received lovely smiles from the staff behind the desk and always felt welcome. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for one on the inside of the complex... just a little quieter :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I wish to express my gratitude for such excellent service during my 4-night stay at Gabba
Central Apartments whilst celebrating a 30 year reunion for the Royal Australian Navy's Ramsay 81st Division.. From the moment we arrived, we were in good hands and were given every assistance. The negotiated room tarriff represented outstanding value for money given the high quality of the room, service and the convenient central location to the City of Brisbane. The complimentary room upgrade was a welcome and unexpected delight! All this made my stay both enjoyable and memorable. The service provided is a credit to you and your team. Please also thank Julie for extending our checkout to 11am. This afforded me sufficient time to bid my Navy mates a final farewell prior to going our separate ways. I wish you and the Gabba Central Apartments staff every continued success. God bless you.
Steve Sims, Nowra, NSW. (Ramsay 81st Division, Royal Australian Navy)

Room Tip: Ring the hotel direct and negotiate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My partner and I required a comfortable, clean, quiet room for our 2 days in Brisbane City, Gabba Central Definately Delivered! Our 1 Bedroom Apartment had lovely, clean, modern furnishings and Staff were always polite and accommodating. The Apartments have a Coles Supermarket in the complex which was extremely handy as we were visiting the Mater Hospital and simply wanted to Relax and not be disturbed. We will no doubt choose this Hotel for our next visit. Keep up the great work. Marian R.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Queensland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We recently stayed at Gabba Central for our first time and loved the Hotel! We booked a 1 bedroom apartment and weren't too sure what too expect. The room was absolutely fantastic, huge open living areas, very large! Full kitchen facilities with all cooking utensils e.t.c, all washing facilities, lots of storage space and sofa bed. Our room was serviced during the middle of our stay which was great. There was a Coles supermarket downstairs which made it so cheap for our holiday as we cooked nearly all our meals. The complex had everything to offer, so many takeaway food options, a bar and restuarant, tanning salon, nail place, coffee shop, bakery, Coles and the major bus stop was literally across the street. We walked into South Bank and up to the Kangaoo Point cliffs nearly everyday as it was so close.When we checked in we were greeted by a man called George/Geoff, he was absolutely wonderful - he was so friendly and each and every day said hello and made sure we were okay and asked if we needed anything each time we passed through the foyer. The complex itself was very secure requiring swipe or key access for entry into every part of the building which put our mind at ease as we are not from the city. We will definitely stay again at Gabba Central- highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Q Resorts Gabba Central Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q Resorts Gabba Central Apartments

Address: 803 Stanley Street | Woolloongabba, Brisbane, Queensland 4102, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Q Resorts Gabba Central Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Q Resorts Gabba Central Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
q Resorts Gabba Central Apartments Hotel Queensland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Q Resorts Gabba Central Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.