We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service was appalling” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Miro Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Miro Apartments to your Saves list
The Miro Apartments
41 Robertson Street | Fortitude Valley, Brisbane, Queensland 4006, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Customer service was appalling”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

There was terrible noise and a lack of promised amenities. Once asked for an explanation we were told it was not their problem and they would not offer any compensation. Staff were consistently rude and refused to help or make our stay comfortable. They did the absolute minimum and nothing more.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    22
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
5
21
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

I stayed at the Miro for about 4.5 months between May and October of 2010. I was in 2 different apartments during this time and the first apartment faced Robertson Street which was a little loud with the balcony doors open. The second faced the opposite direction onto other buildings and made using the balcony alot more enjoyable.

Both apartments had similar furnishings to the ones shown on the website. There was ample cookware for 1-2 people in each suite. The showers could use a shower curtain it made it difficult to not have water splashing everywhere but after a few days I was able to figure this out ...

The area around the Miro has alot of restaurants and bars, there are sit down and takeaway options within walking distance. This area is also the place to be for nightlife, the Miro is close to the heart of the Valley and a 15-minute walk to the CBD.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

No wonder this place is always booked out. Great location, funky decor and close to everything.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

I recently had to move out of preferred hotel due to full occupancy mid stay. I selected The Miro due to proximity & being new facility. It was bad choice. Incredibly noisy despite Hotel's "no party policy" & noise transfer between floors was insane. Having been awoken I could hear guest in floor above walking barefoot (seriously that bad) let alone objects crashing to the floor. The internal steel staircase to atrium is reminiscent of a prison & the noise from it reverberates through the apartments. It's a stinker.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

The location is handy to both city and Fortitude Valley restaurants, pubs, clubs etc. but overall we were disappointed in the accommodation. A little noisy with passing traffic but to be expected given the location.

There was a light on at night outside our bedroom window and the doors in this complex slam noisily.

There was no attention to detail - the garbage bin was broken, there were no towel racks in the bathroom, the mop and broom were stored in one of the bedroom robes, very few hangers, the light bulb above the vanity in the bathroom was out...

The design was not optimal. Really large bathroom but it was a waste of the available space. Also flimsy sliding doors on either end so that all bathroom noise can be heard either from the bedroom and living room... Not ideal to bring guests to.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

I would defiantly stay there again! Was perfect for what we needed. Very short walk to the valleys nightlife. Free undercover parking. Arrived after hours and was very easy to follow the instructions to get our keys.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2009

I checked tripadvisor.com after I had booked this hotel, the reviews were not that great. I was therefore surprised when I got there. I was upgraded to a two bedroom loft style apartment, complimentary bottle of wine. Apartment was clean, spacious, nice decor, quiet, enjoyed my two nights here. Good location to 'The Valley', only had brief contact with staff who were pleasant. Only down side was one of the blinds in the lounge area would not close and the inner balcony lock was not working.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Miro Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Miro Apartments

Address: 41 Robertson Street | Fortitude Valley, Brisbane, Queensland 4006, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Miro Apartments is situated in Brisbane’s trendy Fortitude Valley James Street precinct. Fortitude Valley, being the cultural heart of Brisbane and Queensland’s premiere niche art district, is teeming with vibrant restaurants, cafes and bars, chic clothing outlets and a multitude of entertainment options. The Miro Apartments is the ultimate in innovative inner-city living, offering modern and spacious self-contained apartments, designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. Fortitude Valley’s trendy art galleries, live arts scene, theatre and music, provide a cultural haven for holidaying guests. The Miro Apartments attracts both leisure travellers and business executives, as it is conveniently located only 1.5 kilometres from the heart of Brisbane’s Central Business District and Queen Street Mall, perfectly suiting corporate travellers. Just moments from the Fortitude Valley Mall and the glamorous James Street precinct, The Miro Apartments offers major public transport stops just a short step away. With Brisbane airport only 11.5 kilometres travel, The Miro Apartments is perfectly positioned for commuting guests both for the purpose of business and leisure. The Miro Apartments is arguably the best located property in Fortitude Valley, offering a choice of contemporary one bedroom apartments and spacious two story, two bedroom, two bathroom apartments. The Miro Apartments caters to both business executives and leisure travellers featuring a balcony/courtyard and a fully equipped kitchen, bathroom and laundry in each apartment, to ensure you feel right at home. The Miro Apartments offers wireless internet access and rollaway beds and a complimentary secure undercover car park space for our guest’s convenience. The high standard of apartment features which The Miro maintains include flat screen televisions, Foxtel, in house telephone, air-conditioning/heater and all the essentials one could need. The unique self-contained apartments at The Miro are one of Brisbane’s best four star accommodations, managed by industry experienced staff and skilled directors. Our strong commitment to providing high quality and friendly efficient service is backed by a highly professional and experienced management team whose skills ensure our guests receive the best possible service and feel at home. The Miro Apartments is underpinned by a management team skilled in tourism, property management and asset management. At The Miro Apartments your wellbeing is our priority, which is why our on-site manager offers 24/7 after hours emergency service, for your comfort. The Miro Apartments do not tolerate excessive noise, you may report this to our on site manager to ensure you enjoy your relaxing night.The Miro Apartment’s colourful facade inspired by the late famous Spanish artist Joan Miro ensures guests will not miss Fortitude Valley’s funkiest apartment block exuding niche style. Joan Miro earned international acclaim for his unique art pieces. Ideally located in quiet Robertson Street of the vibrant Fortitude Valley hub, The Miro’s self-contained apartments allow corporate travellers to create a ‘home away from home’ and holidaying guests to relax and enjoy themselves. The unique Miro experience is available to you if you choose to stay at the boutique Miro Apartments in Fortitude Valley, Brisbane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Miro Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Miro Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.