We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your ear plugs!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of West End Central Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added West End Central Apartments to your Saves list
West End Central Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   220 Melbourne Street | West End, Brisbane, Queensland QLD 4101, Australia (Formerly Central West End Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 114 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Bring your ear plugs!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Location wise this property is great for anyone attending anything near Southbank, the staff I encountered were very pleasant and you can tell the management are making an effort when it's the only apartment I've ever stayed in where they offer a small "mini bar" selection in the fridge (a novel idea, not that I made use of it).

BUT...when there's a major construction side right next door (an apartment building or some other kind of high rise), one would think that some mention would be made on the website you're booking with about the possibility of noise.

Thank the lord I had to be up early anyway because god knows I'd never have slept pass 6am otherwise because the noise was almost unbearable and I'd have got more sleep lying next to a set of train tracks in peak hour.

Being in the travel industry I'm well versed with wholesalers and hotels advising of renovations or any other issue which may impede a guests ability to have a relaxing stay and the management in my opinion really fell short by not advising at any stage (even at checkin) of the possibility that I might be woken from a dead sleep the next morning by the noise.

Given that I don't honestly think I'd stay again which is a shame as location wise and cleanliness couldn't be faulted.

If you are staying there, avoid the chinese/vietnamese restaurant downstairs, the food is disgusting and a complete rip-off, you'd find more palatable food in a dumpster behind McDonalds.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WECWendy, General Manager at West End Central Apartments, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
Only some of our apartments are affected by the current work and where possible our staff will facilitate a room move either at check-in or where this has become an issue during the stay.
We sincerely apologise that on this occasion you were not offered the option of an apartment away from that side of the building when you checked in. We have also raised your comment about work starting at 6am which is before their allowable starting time with the site manager. Having recently taken over the property we are still in the process of updating and correcting content on all the booking sites to accurately reflect the status and facilities the property has to offer - we will make this a priority. We agree the location is fantastic, and would like the opportunity to welcome you back to the property once the work has been completed late October.
Kind regards, Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    50
    22
    7
    3
See reviews for
19
31
4
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I needed a place to stay in West End that was near to the finish of the City2South fun run that was held on the weekend. West End Central Apartments was very convenient, just 100 meters from the finish at Musgrave Park.

The room was clean and spacious with a balcony that faced towards the city. The in-room spa bath came in very handy after the run. But it is the location that is the real strong point of the apartments. Located above some very good restaurants (Japanese and Vietnamese were superb) and a short walk to the West End Markets and also the Gallery of Modern Art, Performing Arts Centre and the wonders of Southbank.

I'm already planning a return for next years City 2 South fun run and any other runs around the CBD or West End.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WECWendy, General Manager at West End Central Apartments, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
We agree, we have great restaurants virtually on the doorstep and location is perfect for exploring the city. Not all our apartments face towards the city, so please make sure you request a room with a city view when you book and we will do all we can to accommodate your request.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards, Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The hotel is only a short walk from the train station and there are supermarkets and plenty of restaurants nearby. If you don't mind walking it is also only a short walk from the city centre. I stayed in a studio room, and it was very comfortable. It is relatively affordable considering the location and amenities.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WECWendy, General Manager at West End Central Apartments, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay appreciate your feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Brisbane.
Kind regards, Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Lovely clean and well presented apartment. Friendly reception staff welcomed us upon arrival. Room clean, tidy and well set out. Surrounded by so many restaurants ... Within 5 mins walk. Just perfect.... Planning to come back with my family.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WECWendy, General Manager at West End Central Apartments, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back when you next visit Brisbane.
Kind regards, Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel 4 times in the last year, two of the times with the new management. The night time manager has absolutely no customer service skills and is incredibly rude. I was some information when I booked my room regarding sofa beds which was wrong and I got the blame for it. The manager would not accept that the person who took the booking made a mistake and I was called a liar. I have recommended this hotel to so many people but now I feel very different. The door handle to our bedroom door fell off in the middle of the night. We were given 2 towels for 3 adults, 1 child and a baby. The aircon remote did not work so we could only turn it on and off by the wall switch. I will never again stay at this hotel. I really hope the night manager sorts his stuff out.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WECWendy, Manager at West End Central Apartments, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I have checked your booking and confirm the room and rate you booked was based on three people using existing bedding. Whilst the booking made via another booking site indicates that the number of guests staying would be 3, it appears from the notes on the booking that you made contact directly to amend the booking to include 1 additional child however as there would be extra cost had advised the sofabed would not be required and the booking was allocated accordingly. Our staff are guided by the requirements specified in the booking and on the basis of the notes would have presumed the child was young enough to share existing bedding and it was unfortunate that the situation was not able to be clarified earlier as you arrived outside our normal reception hours. The points you raise have been discussed with the night manager who acknowledges that the situation could have been better handled and I understand that you were provided with a rollaway, which on this occasion was at no additional charge. We were not aware that there were any issues with the door handle or the air-con remote and these have now been addressed and we have reminded housekeeping staff about ensuring each apartment has sufficient supplies for the number of guests occupying a room. Thank you again for making us aware of these problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanthorpe, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The one bedroom apartment is ideally located in the happening westend area with lots of food and bar options available. Easy walking distance to Suncorp stadium and convention centre.
The rooms are in are clean and in good condition with a very comfortable beds and great pressure in the shower. Every room as a balcony, which is great to sit on and watch the night life. But once you close the door you can't hear anything.
Free parking and a friendly helpful staff. I have stayed in these apartment on 4 occasions and every occasion has been great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WECWendy, Manager at West End Central Apartments, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We agree, the location is fantastic and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again when you are next in Brisbane.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

My daughter and I had tickets to the ballet on Saturday night. We booked into West End at 2pm and found the staff extremely pleasant. The room was spotless, the bed comfortable and pillows delightful. Everything was so clean and the location was excellent.
Less than 10 mins walk to Qpac & Southbank, meant we could go out for an explore and an early meal and walk back to change for the ballet.
Well Done to all staff.
Highly recommend this apartment if you are looking for somewhere convenient and reasonably priced in the Brisbane.

Room Tip: Room on 3rd level - overlooked construction of new building so it may not be good during the week...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WECWendy, Manager at West End Central Apartments, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Being located in a go-ahead area, the noise of progress is inevitable, however we are definitely looking forward to a return to more peaceful surroundings once the construction next door is completed later in the year. Where possible we do try to accommodate requests to be placed in one of the many apartments located on the opposite side.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West End Central Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West End Central Apartments

Address: 220 Melbourne Street | West End, Brisbane, Queensland QLD 4101, Australia (Formerly Central West End Apartments)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 114 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — West End Central Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment style accommodation, offering a choice of studio rooms, 1 and 2 bedroom apartments. Close to Brisbane Convention Centre, QPAC and Brisbane CBD ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your West End Central Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West End Central Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.