We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a short stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West End Central Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added West End Central Apartments to your Saves list
West End Central Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   220 Melbourne Street | West End, Brisbane, Queensland QLD 4101, Australia (Formerly Central West End Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 114 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Inverell, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great for a short stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed on a Sunday night with husband and son on a visit to Brisbane for a uni open day. Very handy to West End eateries, walking distance to Southbank and across to the city - a decent walk but enjoyable.
Reception was efficient but not warm. Two bedroom apartment No 222 was on the second floor and not yet refurbished but the carpet was reasonably new as was the paint job. Our credit card was charged $179.66 which was an odd amount considering we were quoted $177 for a Saturday night initially then changed our booking and expected a cheaper rate for the Sunday.
Nevertheless it was a very comfortable stay. Kitchen had everything you needed for a quick trip to the city. Main bedroom had a door to the bathroom as well as a little walk in robe. Some features: balcony had outdoor setting with two chairs, second bedroom had a single bed and a good sized desk with a door opening on to the balcony. Washer, dryer and laundry sink in one end of the bathroom. Older style shower over bath that looked a little tired but the shower was fabulous with stacks of pressure and hot water. Must state the shower was fabulous for me - at not much over 5 feet tall. My 'over six foot' son had to hunch.
Full sized fridge, mini bar bits and pieces - no free bikkies though to have with a cuppa. There was a lovely Kez's cookie for sale however. Air con and wall mount TV with Foxtel, free wifi internet, crisp sheets. Only one mirror - in the bathroom. Lounge was very comfortable and dining setting was good as well. The undercover security parking was no good to us as the height limit was 1.9m so we parked in the street. Car was fine though and we had it moved before charges started on Monday morning. All in all a good stay and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask which rooms have already had the refurb
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    50
    22
    7
    3
See reviews for
19
31
4
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Nice apartments located in the centre of West End, surrounded by shops and restaurants and an easy walk into Brisbane city and the Performing Arts Centre. Our apartment was recently refurbished and very clean. Prices were much cheaper for weekends than weekdays. Our room had a Queen in one room, single in a second room and a sofa bed in the Lounge room, so very good value if you want to share!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

A combined hotel/ apartment complex. Rooms were a bit dated but clean and cosy and all have a private balcony which was nice. Breakfast is in a cafe across the road and charged back to the room, good food but missed having room service. Staff were efficient and friendly but room cleaning was unusual eg. Cups will not be washed or changed daily. My room at front of building was a bit noisy but not unbearable. The hotel is in a great neighbourhood filled wit resteraunts and interesting shops, easy access to city centre and public transport and 20mins from the airport. I enjoyed the stay and would stay again but would recommend this hotel as a base to explore from not a place to spend a lot of time in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

the rooms are a little dated but the position is great for foodies. There are two vietnamese restaurants within spitting distance (one on each corner) then thai, indian, turkish, peruvian, korean etc really close by. Two blocks from a well stocked IGA, which is good because you have a convection/microwave, full oven, hotplates etc in your 1 bedroom unit.
Not sure about summer, as the airconditioning is in the lounge area, and there is no outlet or fan in the bedroom. The staff are really helpful, not that I needed much. Short walk to the convention centre, railway and cultural facilities. Excellent value

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This place is a hybrid hotel and apartment complex located very nicely very near high quality, diverse and affordable dining as well as easy walking distance to many excellent attractions such as the river, the performing arts center and Conservatorium. The rooms are adequate but seem very high priced for what you get. The front desk is only staffed from the AM until about 9 PM so you better not need anything after that. And the most inconvenient part is the wireless internet service. The free allocation is 200 MB per day and you get a new password slip from the front desk every 24 hours. And don't forget to log off your computer when you're not working, because if you happen to leave a web page up that has animation or something like that, you will use up ALL your time quickly. And forget about streaming video or music (no big deal to me). But the deal is - if you use up your time at night, you're out of luck for internet in the hotel until the next morning. No room service but with all the great dining (and a Cole's Market) nearby, that's shouldn't be an issue. The "kitchen" in my room didn't have a stove, but only a microwave, fridge and very minimal allocation of utensils etc. I heard other rooms have a real stove.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I booked a 1 brm deluxe 6 months early, and specifically rang to make sure bedding configurations were definitely available. When my company released corporate rates, I rang again to discuss and Ricky argued it wouldn't have been offered, he had no record of my company existing. When we arrived, staff were not friendly or welcoming to anyone checking in while we were in foyer. When we got to our room, bedding was not available, room was clearly run down - holes in couch, burns in carpet, bits of paper shoved under furniture to stop rocking, door kept falling off dryer, lampshades filthy, and the heater, which we had to have on all night due to lack of warm bedding, was extremely loud and annoying. i would not recommend this unit until it has had an upgrade!! and I took photos for proof. When I went back to desk to see about more bedding, I was told I was in an upgraded suite, which was clearly untrue. Ricky arranged for housekeeping to make up sofa bed and bring in promised single, we had to ask repeatedly for pillows and blankets as only linen was supplied for sofa and rollaway. Our room overlooked all the bins and skips and garbage collection happened every morning at 6am - just what you want on holiday - can't imagine an upgraded suite would have this view?
When we checked out, we arranged to have our luggage held which was very handy. Older lady who allowed us to collect later was lovely. All in all, a very average stay.

Room Tip: I would not recommend this facility if there is anywhere else to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Great hotel, Close to southbank,food and bars. Rooms are clean breakfast in nearby cafes
Easy access Stay here a few times. great place no complaints. Room fill fast, so book early
To grab a deal or better offers, so dont hesitate to contact them.




.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West End Central Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West End Central Apartments

Address: 220 Melbourne Street | West End, Brisbane, Queensland QLD 4101, Australia (Formerly Central West End Apartments)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 114 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — West End Central Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment style accommodation, offering a choice of studio rooms, 1 and 2 bedroom apartments. Close to Brisbane Convention Centre, QPAC and Brisbane CBD ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your West End Central Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West End Central Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.