We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need to refurb the refurb...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of West End Central Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added West End Central Apartments to your Saves list
West End Central Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   220 Melbourne Street | West End, Brisbane, Queensland QLD 4101, Australia (Formerly Central West End Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 114 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Need to refurb the refurb...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Booked a refurbished room based on advice in here. On arrival, hotel is in a good location and reception area fine and good parking. Room was a good size with balcony.

However, I didn't expect a hole in the bed linen, holes and plugs drilled in bathroom door, pencil and holes above toilet and broken cupboards. I even checked with reception who confirmed I was in the good refurbished rooms!

Will not be staying again and suggest they work on basic quality.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    50
    22
    7
    3
See reviews for
19
31
4
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Hotel does need some updating, the Showers were a little dated and actually stopped working in the morning (Luckily we had both showered and didn't need it - informed the staff and it will be fixed). I think location, location, location - perfect! we had an engagement party to attend in West End so this was perfect, saved on taxi fares as we could walk around. The Air Con was amazing in the heat and the bed was super comfortable. Everyone had said these apartments were for students so made me feel better thinking I may come back a little loud after the party, and the hotel was secure with codes. I had trouble with the Free wifi but lucky for me I never needed it.
Will stay again in August for the wedding

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two weeks whilst we visited our daughter who is living for a year in the West End..Everything was just great! Location perfect for us. Apartment had everything we needed. it was really comfortable. No problems whatsoever. Would definitely stay here again. Everything was just perfect for us!!!! Special thanks to Cameron and Aiden on reception who were excellent!!! thank you :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The hotel is three blocks from South Brisbane station and near the convention center and art museums. The kitchen and bath were in bad need updating. The walls were paper thin and you could hear conversations in the room adjacent and smell what they were cooking. When checking in, no one explained the free we-fi option or provided passwords. The password changes each day which meant another trip to the front desk for the password. You only get 200 mb free, so that didn't last very long. You also had to have a password to enter the building after 9PM, since no one is on duty. The pool and spa were outdoors. I just felt like this was more of a backpackers place and overpriced for what I paid. Also, note there is no washer and dryer in the studio units.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at these apartments. Close to everything, free secure parking, spacious and great service. Great price too! Quiet at night with lots of food choices close by. Great kitchen facilities and two bathrooms! We will be back :)

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed in a one bedroom for two nights to make the most of our stay in Brisvegas. This was our second stay. The locality of the apartments to West End restuarants, Qpac (we saw South Pacific-excellent) and south bank was very handy. West End shopping centre is across the road with Coles, chemist, bottle shop etc. It's only a five-10 minute flat and enjoyable walk to South Bank with anothjer five to the CBD. We recommend the walk along Southbank over the goodwill bridge and into the Botanic Gardens and visit to the recently refurbished Govt House. It's great that an accomodation supplier includes secure free parking with the sometimes special rates. I have been stung by the big names in the city with very expensive parking. The welcome and service by staff on the front desk is always efficient and friendly and the rooms a clean and tidy. One negative on the last visit was some of the cutlery was not clean, but that was probably the last visitors fault. Otherwise we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

3 generations stayed in 1 x 2 Br & 1 x 1 Br Apartments. The location was great, check in swift and easy. The 2 Bedroom unit had 2 toilets and a great balcony, both had every thing we required. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West End Central Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West End Central Apartments

Address: 220 Melbourne Street | West End, Brisbane, Queensland QLD 4101, Australia (Formerly Central West End Apartments)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 114 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — West End Central Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment style accommodation, offering a choice of studio rooms, 1 and 2 bedroom apartments. Close to Brisbane Convention Centre, QPAC and Brisbane CBD ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your West End Central Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West End Central Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.