We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Casino Towers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Casino Towers to your Saves list
Oaks Casino Towers
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   151 George Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Washington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Horrible.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Dirty carpet and soft furnishings, tired looking apartment, dirty non functioning oven, noisy room (too noisy to sit on the balcony), moldy ceiling and a bathroom with a badly leaking shower that hadn't ever seen bleach. Expensive non functioning internet that I got charged for even though I demonstrated to the front desk person that it was not working. And don't try to ring the desk; we tried 14 times the evening we arrived to ask for directions to the hotel parking lot - and the phone was never answered. Turned out it didnt matter - they'd lost the request for a parking spot anyway.
Utterly dreadful

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCasino, Front Office Manager at Oaks Casino Towers, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Casino Towers. We have been communicating with your travel agent in regards to your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    119
    60
    24
    27
See reviews for
64
87
12
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed for a 50th Birthday weekend and the staff could not have been more helpful. The river view was exceptional and had a big balcony. Room was a little tired but clean and well maintained. The view certainly made up for this. Nice short walking distance to all that we had to do. All in all had a great weekend.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less city noise. Booking the river view for a special occasion well worth while.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCasino, Front Office Manager at Oaks Casino Towers, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that you had such a positive experience, enjoying the views and the exceptional staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed in room 3301 which is on the 33rd level. It was a Saturday night as we had a very early morning flight out of Brisbane Sunday morning. The view of the river and Southbank were amazing. We did pay for a riverside view and we certainly got that. The room itself was fairly average which was disappointing for the price but the view made up for it. The staff were helpful. The location was great. We walked to the ferry and went across to Southbank and then went to Queen St Mall which is only about 100m away. The city is very busy on a Saturday night. Was happy we were up high as it was quiet. We did feel that the place was more suitable for young adults on a Saturday night rather than a family. I couldn't get the internet to work at all.

Room Tip: The entire place is smoke free. Even the balcony. Be aware that the balcony is not enclosed. So i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCasino, Front Office Manager at Oaks Casino Towers, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us at Oaks Casino Towers. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the amazing river views from your apartment, and the location of the hotel. In regards to the internet, we are currently reviewing our plans with the internet provider. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Nothing special but its clean and modern. Spacious kitchen. Big bed. Big balcony. No bath tub. Our room looked into offices so curtains always drawn.

Pool is impressive but no sunlight. Gym is nothing more than cardio machines. No free weights. Yay for sauna and spa though.

Air con in our room didnt work on hot and a heater was provided immediately. Great service!

Best was location. So close to everything. Queen st mall, south bank and public transport all right there!

Definitely would come back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCasino, Front Office Manager at Oaks Casino Towers, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the apartment being spacious, clean and modern and the convenient location of the hotel. For future stays, if you request a higher floor we can do our best to accommodate these, as not all of our rooms have views. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I booked a two bedroom apartment for around $220/night and was upgraded to a three bedroom apartment. It was amazing. We were on the 37th floor of a 39 storey building with 270 degree views over southbank and brisbane city. The standard of the apartment was excellent (it even had a built in miele coffee maker complete with a supply of free coffee beans in the kitchen). The location is also extremely convenient, only a short walk to the mall. Oaks also has a heated lap pool and spa which were perfect for swimming in July. I could not have been happier with this stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCasino, Front Office Manager at Oaks Casino Towers, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay. I am happy to hear all your positive reviews about the views, the standard of the apartment and the convenience of the location. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed at the Oaks Casino for 5 nights. The room is in a great central location. My room had view of office buildings - had to keep curtains closed all times for privacy. Friend's room had great views of river and city. Room was spacious but very run down and not very clean. Curtains had many holes, grout in bathroom not clean, used band-aid found in the bedroom. Hotel has potential with great views and location but room left me wanting. Internet was extraordinarily expensive. Paid 90 AUD for the 7 day internet package and then found out it only gave me a very limited amount of data usage.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCasino, Front Office Manager at Oaks Casino Towers, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at Oaks Casino Towers. I am sorry to hear that your room was run down and not very clean. We have taken this up with our housekeeping and maintenance department. Our internet is currently through an outside provider, which we are reviewing with them and management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed in executive one bedroom apartment. Staff were friendly. Rooms were tired looking. Mould in shower recess was not impressive. Views from balcony were wonderful. Value for money not there. Won't return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCasino, Front Office Manager at Oaks Casino Towers, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I apologise for the unsightly state of the shower. We are currently in the process of refurbishing our wet areas, and that room had not been completed yet. This has now been blocked off for immediate refurbishment. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the views from your balcony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks Casino Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Casino Towers

Address: 151 George Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#58 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Casino Towers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Casino Towers is ideally positioned to take advantage of the vibrant lifestyle Brisbane has to offer. From retail therapy in the bustling Queen Street Mall to the relaxation, art and culture of the nearby South Bank Precinct. Oaks Casino Towers is a 4.5 star apartment hotel located opposite Brisbane’s Treasury Casino, boasting impressive views over the city or river. The one and two bedroom apartments are luxuriously appointed with European-style appliances and quality finishes, ducted air-conditioning and spacious balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Oaks Casino Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Casino Towers Hotel Brisbane
Oaks Hotel Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Casino Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.