We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Casino Towers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Casino Towers to your Saves list
Oaks Casino Towers
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   151 George Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I got a great deal through webjet so I wasn't shocked when I was put on one of the lower floors. Despite this there was very little road noise, and I'm a light sleeper. The one bedroom apartment was HUGE (though I think it was a 2 bedroom + study, with one of the bedrooms locked) and had everything you could want, including a DVD player. I had a great view across the river. The hotel is close to most things Brisbane has to offer and is a painless walk to Roma street train, bus and coach station. The people on reception were lovely and I'd stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCasino, Manager at Oaks Casino Towers, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks Casino Towers. I was pleased to read you enjoyed the apartment and our fantastic location. Our aim is to make our guests feel at home and we certainly hope we will welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    101
    53
    24
    27
See reviews for
56
78
12
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay at the oaks, booked a one bedroom apartment, the room that I got was a two bedroom apartment with one of the bedrooms locked and the ensuite locked. This actually was a good thing as the apartment itself was spacious and the balcony that over looked the Brisbane river was huge. Room was clean and full of all the mod cons one would expect. Only drama was the foxtel was difficult to operate (separate controller from tv took a while to get hang of) and bathroom had conditioner, body lotion but not shampoo, good thing I brought my own.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCasino, Manager at Oaks Casino Towers, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thankyou for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks Casino Towers. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed staying with us. As we have more two bedroom apartments in our building we do upgrade some of our bookings. I was disapointed to read that housekeeping had overlooked the shampoo and passed on your comments to the department. I certainly hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back.in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

It was cheap, but not cheap enough to find a bedroom with a locked ensuite - use the laundry!! - a locked second bedroom, a crane outside the window, and a bunch of workers on the roof of the building next door.
Gives me a Bluebeard feeling, all those locked doors. Won't be back under any circumstances.

Room Tip: Don't let them put you on level 21.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

This was our first trip to brisbane so staying in this hotel made life easier with the main city one street over and the casino across the road everything was literally at our doorsteps!

The room was perfect for what we needed, a kitchen so we could make our own breakfast and store some drinks and snacks, and a tv with foxtel for the few hours we weren't off exploring.

The pool was incredible! Although there are only two sun chairs avaliable leaving me to sun bathe on the floor! But overall I would recommend staying at this hotel! It's easy access to transport as the casino is adjacent there are literally 30 or more waiting taxis!

Also if you walk across the bridge over to the south side, not only is it a lovley 15 min walk but there are so many restaurants of every cuisine! We ate Indian, Greek and modern australian all avaliable on the same street!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed at the Oaks Casino Towers for 3 nights. The staff on reception when we arrived were very slow in finding our reservation and getting all the paper work organised. Was given a room on the 20th floor great view on one side of the balcony the other side was a crane with guys working, didnt appreciate the noise at 7am. Obvioulsy this building has been goin on for some time, a little bit of warning when we booked would of been nice. The room its self was rather shabby. had 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms had a not laying on the floor when we arrived telling us not to use one of the rooms...fair enough as we only booked a 1 bedroom...but on inspection the towel rail was about to fall off the wall so we requested to use the other room..didnt really matter as that towel rail was the same. Pulled the blind down at night and it wouldnt go back up so had to get that fixed..Walls generally need a good paint all through the unit. Beds are comfy with great pillows. Checkout was pretty smooth, (different receptionist). all in all i think my next trip to Brisbane i will look for something else .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Firstly I only paid $114 for the stay(one night in a one bedroom apartment) so I guess I shouldn't be complaining.
The apartment was not a bad size. Had no view and the bathroom smelt like sewerage/mould.
Comfy bed, aircon worked great! Balcony a plus and pool area was A++
If I stayed here again I would try and request a room with a view or 2 bedroom.

Room Tip: Request a high floor/one with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is the second time we've stayed at Casino Towers over Christmas and we've definately noticed a slip in standards in the last twelve months.

Flukishly we were allocated exactly the same room as last year and this allowed us to notice an obvious decline in presentation. The room smelt musty on arrival and needed a good airing. The DVD player was faulty (lucky I brought my xbox with me!) and the entryway walls need a paint refresh with obvious luggae scuffs.

The staff seem to have encountered a decline in attitude since last year. Last year folk fell over themselves to be nice, helpful and pleasant. This year we arrived at around midday and were told politely, but matter of factly, that our room wasn't ready, but would be in 15 minutes. My wife and I did a bit of christmas shopping and came back an hour or two later. Still no room. We were told it was still being cleaned.

We ended up sitting in reception for another good 30 minutes before we got a room. When we entered the room, it smelt very musty, so we doubt very much whether it had just been cleaned.

Over Christmas, you have to request a room service on Boxing Day. This we duly did, but no service ever occurred.

On the positive side, the rooms are fully equiped (ignoring the DVD player), the bed was awesome, the location is great and the price was right. There is a nice gym, pool, spa and sauna.

So three stars is probably a little harsh, but I couldn't select three and a half and I can't in any good conscience give a four star rating. We will probably look at new accommodation options next year when we come home over Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks Casino Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Casino Towers

Address: 151 George Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Casino Towers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Casino Towers is ideally positioned to take advantage of the vibrant lifestyle Brisbane has to offer. From retail therapy in the bustling Queen Street Mall to the relaxation, art and culture of the nearby South Bank Precinct. Oaks Casino Towers is a 4.5 star apartment hotel located opposite Brisbane’s Treasury Casino, boasting impressive views over the city or river. The one and two bedroom apartments are luxuriously appointed with European-style appliances and quality finishes, ducted air-conditioning and spacious balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oaks Casino Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Casino Towers Hotel Brisbane
Oaks Hotel Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Casino Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.