We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location but..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Aurora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Aurora to your Saves list
Oaks Aurora
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   420 Queen Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 114 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Location but..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Had made it clear on my booking that i want a higher floor with a nice VIEW only to be put onto a room facing the BOEING building,i know request cant be guaranteed but what disappoints me is that i was originally at 29th floor only to find out the erasure on the registration paper with a new floor which went downgrade to 10th ( i still have the copy of it).The skinny guy asked me to signed first before going to back office with d new floor number...not a good start for sure. Dont put pics of your hotel room wit a nice view if ur not willing to give it to a guest who nicely asked for it.
If your coming from their parking space and getting in on 1st floor,make sure to be prepared going thru a stair. Its a problem if your by yourself with a heavy rolling luggage since chances are no one will be there to help u. Manila is the only front desk staff i find nice,approachable and friendly compared to whoever that Sharon or Sheree or whoever that was that i cant remember since she's in hurry, sounds robotic and seems like u have to pay her to give a smile. I myself work as a front desk receptionist at a very harsh environment and i know how a staff should be if u chose and sign to work in hospitality.

There's a list of DO's and DONT's that will be handed to guest upon arrival like no "parties on the premise" . Last night of my stay in Brisbane and there is this room fairly close to mine that has some teenagers who had organized a party wit loud music and drinks. I didnt bother calling d front desk since i have no time dealing wit another nasty approach.

But cant deny the fact that i find the location and door security pretty good. It might be just an apartment for management but im sure guest including me would like to feel like they were being look after as well.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksAurora, Manager at Oaks Aurora, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Oaks Aurora. I apologise first and foremost that you were not accommodated in a river view apartment such you requested. Like you said, we cannot always honour special requests however we do always endeavour to do so. I can see that you were originally scheduled to stay in a river view apartment. Unfortunately circumstances arose that resulted the relocation to an alternative apartment. Please rest assured we do try and accommodate special requests. For future reference, you're able to reserve guaranteed high floor river view apartment on most if not all websites. For the stairs, there a few steps from the carparking area to level 1 however from there you can use the lifts to access ground floor. Goes without saying if you ever need assistance with luggage you only need ask either via the intercom or direct at the front desk. I apologise you encountered noisy neighbours whilst staying with us. Had you reported this incident we would certainly have asked the offenders to curb their behaviour. As is evident from the literature provided at checkin that you referred to, we practise a zero tolerance policy to disruptive behaviour. I'm pleased to hear you found the buildings location convenient. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to Oaks Aurora in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    87
    78
    33
    29
See reviews for
46
63
13
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

The poor attention to detail with the cleaning is initially irritating, but after repeated request to have general areas cleaned (bins etc.) it becomes down right unhygienic. With the exception of a few, the cleaning staff is rude, often coming into the elevator without asking first, even if this isn't pragmatic and you're jammed against a bin. Most of the problems are cultural rather than structural, however, he front desk customer service can only be described as abject terrible, i've seen nothing like it before in serviced apartments. There are good staff, however the politeness of a few doesn't exceed the vitriolic rudeness of others. Some notable occasions: I've watched them laugh at an old lady who had to walk down multiple flights of stairs as a result of a false alarm, I've been scoffed at more times than I can count, and the phrase 'I don't know' or 'that's not our problem, I'll leave a not for ....' is used to often by half.


All in all I'd say the service is some of the worst I've experienced, the cleanliness isn't what you'd expect from a self proclaim 4.5 star accommodation and there's a genuine lack of accountability. In saying that, the convenience of city living, the views and the safety features are some of the best in Brisbane.

Additionally, a gentleman named Tim and a girl named Carla both used to work here and in stark contrast to the current staff, were some of the best Hotel staff I've seen.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksAurora, Manager at Oaks Aurora, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thanks for your comments here Casey. I appreciate your taking the time to provide this. I'm not sure that TripAdvisor is the appropriate forum for tenants and residents otherwise to air their grievances however we’ll take your comments on board nonetheless. I understand their have been some minor altercations between yourself and the front desk staff in the past. I’m not one to cast aspersions Casey however I might suggest that you realise and appreciate the efforts of the reception staff in terms of accommodating the needs of hotels guests, tenants and residents in the building. It might also be prudent that you cease with the name calling in earshot of the aforementioned staff. Goes without saying I am available to speak in person should you wish. Alternatively my email is hmaurora@theoaksgroup.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Good in value. We liked it. has got everything you need in the room. A little pricy.
2 blocks away from Queens st mall and just off riverside. So a lot of choices for activities.
We stayed a couple of times already. Will return for sure if required.

Room Tip: Higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksAurora, Manager at Oaks Aurora, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Oaks Aurora. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your return stay. Likewise I'm glad you find the location of the building convenient. We look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks Aurora in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Found location excellent ,staff ok,
Bathroom especially shower dirty with mildew round the edges, only one bathroom in 2bedroom unit
No internet wifi available in building hotel expensive for what you get would not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksAurora, Manager at Oaks Aurora, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Oaks Aurora. I'm pleased to hear you found the location of the building convenient. We certainly are central to Brisbane CBD shopping and dining among other precincts. I apologise if there was mildew in your shower. We're working through a programme at present whereby we're replacing grout and silicone in the bathrooms so this will arrest the problem. For your information we do have two bedroom / two bathroom apartments. These are available on request at time of booking. On the internet facility, we do have WiFi available in the foyer and alternative service available in the apartments . Information for both is available from the reception desk. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to Oaks Aurora in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We've stayed at the Oaks Charlotte but decided to try this one on Holiday. Really liked the apartment. Had a full sized fridge, washer and dryer and a bath with shower over. A dishwasher which was the single tray type and gas hobs/oven.

The bed was a bit hard but I find that in Australia.

Comfortable, spacious and felt like home after a few days. The staff are exceptionally nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksAurora, Manager at Oaks Aurora, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Oaks Aurora. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found your accommodation comfortable and well appointed. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed on the 49th floor - wonderful view. Arrived very jet lagged after 22 hour flight and they managed to get me into an apartment early which I really appreciated. Apartment was very clean, spacious and freshly decorated. Well equipped - washer, dryer, hair dryer etc. balcony area clean and pretty spacious and complete with barbecue. About 3 minutes walk from the river with its restaurants and the CAT to speed you up and down. There's no advice on where to eat or shop for food in the apartment which is a shame. Pool was larger than it looks and always pretty much empty. Gym is surprisingly well equipped - not just aerobic machines but weights too. I'd stay here again

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksAurora, Manager at Oaks Aurora, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Oaks Aurora. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the facilities well appointed. Having stayed on the 49th floor you would have had a fantastic view from your apartment and balcony. Thank you once again for your feedback this is most appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks Aurora in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

When it comes to Brisbane, I think residential apartment building solve your purpose just fine, I've been traveling to Australia for about a decade now but when it comes to Brisbane I prefer the Oaks Aurora for everything it has to offer, its just worth it, starting from the convenience of the location, the price value for the rooms, the view from the balcony. Everything is in place.

BR
Harminder Sethi

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksAurora, Manager at Oaks Aurora, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent and previous stays at Oaks Aurora. Your feedback is most appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks Aurora in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Aurora

Address: 420 Queen Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 114 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Aurora 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brisbane accommodation within walking distance of all that the city has to offer, Oaks Aurora Tower is a modern 69-storey landmark building popular with business travellers. Hailed as a masterpiece of inspired design, the hotel is superbly appointed with resort-style amenities and commanding panoramic city and river views.Comprising 1 and 2 bedroom self-contained apartments, fully equipped with kitchen and laundry, reverse cycle air-conditioning and spacious balconies, Oaks Aurora Tower also offers a 25m heated lap pool, recreation deck, spa, sauna, gym and cinema. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Oaks Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Aurora Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Aurora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.