We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Simpatico - CLOSED

Simpatico
CRN Given & Latrobe Terraces, Brisbane, Queensland 4064, Australia
07 3367 1117
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Tapas, Bar, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We like our food. It's interesting, moreish & perfect for sharing. Service is speedy, the wine list smart & relevant to the menu, w cocktails to boot at the bar. Prices affordable, atmosphere relaxed - what more would you want?Just hightail it to this around the corner bistro for something a little out of the ordinary!
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delicious and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Simpatico is a great tapas restaurant with attentive and friendly service. The tapas meals were reasonably priced (7-15 dollars) and had generous portions. We loved the sticky pork belly and the lamb and haloumi plate but it was all delicious! Definitely recommend!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    22
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“We will definitely go back again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Booked online which is very convenient- restaurant rang to confirm booking. On an unbearably hot day we were seated near the air con which was great.
Staff were very friendly and helpful- water appeared instantly and chilled drinks poured expertly.
The tapas style "shared" plates were explained really well as were the specials. When we ordered the rib fillet the server helpfully suggested she'd arrange for 4 portions (one each) & that the chef would cook mine to order when I said I didn't like my meat rare.
All the meals were beautiful presented and delicious! Portions were sensible too.
Not a huge menu but there is something for everyone. Gluten free and meat free options too.
We really enjoyed dining at Simpatico- we will definitely be going back Ang highly recommend.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Don't go!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Four of us lunched at Simpatico on 13 Dec 12 after booking that morning including confirming the booking with to the owner at 11:00am for a 12.00 midday lunch. We choose it as one of the dinners had been there before and enjoyed the deserts. The ambiance and the food we got were ok and the service excellent. The young person did a great job despite having to continue to apologise for the restaurant's failings (see below). When ordering we were informed there was no fish and they had sold out of the wine we tried to order and half the scallop dish couldn't be done as they had run out of ingredients. The reason given - it has been a busy week! But the best was to come. When we tried to order desert (the reason we choose this restaurant) we were told we couldn’t order desert as they had a big group booking and there was only enough for them! It was unbelievable and unacceptable. No mention was made of this when I booked at 11:00am that morning. When we tried to complain to the owner he did his best to avoid us but once he did speak to us all we got was the woes of running a restaurant.
The four of us will never return and do our best to discourage others.
Don't go, as there are plenty other better choices in Paddington!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Friday night delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Having only every enjoyed a Saturday morning breakfast at Simpatico, we made an impromptu visit last night for dinner and we were pleasantly surprised.

The menu is 'Share Plate' style but more generous and inviting than the usual tapas bites which have over-stayed their appeal in my opinion. Simpatico's portions would be enough as a meal for some and the choices offer variation.

We chose Bread with Olive Oil & Balsamic to accompany our Bubbles to begin then shared a delicious Parmeson encrusted Pumpkin salad followed by a fabulous Barramundi dish with crispy fresh green beans & garlic on the side. YUM!

Dessert? Oh yes! Frangelico Affogato went down a treat.

Service was a tad off par with a young guy lacking in experience and knowledge of the menu but it didn't let down the evening in any way.

We'll happily return to Simpatico.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good share plates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Funky bar/restaurant in a fashionable Brisbane suburb. Great food although the wine list not that impressive. Still one to recommend and definitely one to go back a second time

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simpatico also viewed

Brisbane, Queensland
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simpatico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.