We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best restaurants in Brisbane!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Modern Thai

Modern Thai
1498 Logan Rd, Brisbane, Queensland 4122, Australia
+61733499288
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 3,101 Restaurants in Brisbane
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Brisbane
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in Brisbane!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The atmosphere, food, service and pricing is amazing. They deserve to be at Southbank but so thankful we have them here at Mt Gravatt

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    8
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise in the 'burbs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Really top quality Thai, five star service and up market venue. Very unexpected in this area. We will definitely be back. Coral trout curry was very good, and Ice creamery was a nice change to usual.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We were out and about, frantically doing chores after work before the shops closed and happened to be in this area which we were not very familiar with. We had never heard or seen the Modern Thai Restaurant before, and hadn't even looked them up on Trip Advisor before, but decided to give them a go as we were starving.
The first thing we noticed was the decor - it is modern and stylish. I enjoyed the many (real!) candles which gave the place a nice ambiance. The staff were incredibly friendly too.
We had the tom yum, fish cakes, curry puffs and a red curry. Everything was tasty.
I would come back here in the area again. It looks like a good place to hold events (eg. work dinners, birthday parties)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Thai in Brissy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Next time you are in Brisbane, Australia you MUST visit Modern Thai restaurant at Mt Gravatt. They have the best thai menu to offer. They have their own unique recipes as well as the traditional thai food. The decor is nicely done, the staff so very pleasant and professional it just makes the overall experience a great night out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Good. Good. Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stopped by for a quick bite after reading the reviews here. It's a nice restaurant. Staff are extremely friendly. Menu has some interesting variations to the normal Thai fare. Don't expect huge servings. Very tasty and well presented though. We'll be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Modern Thai also viewed

Brisbane, Queensland
Brisbane, Queensland
 
Brisbane, Queensland
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to Modern Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Modern Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.